Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
31 Posts
Prev «  1 , 2  | 

7 Wonders: Leaders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Olympia (B) stage 3 copying Courtesan's Guild? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ilya Vytenov
Russia
Novosibirsk
Novosibirskaya Oblast
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Has anyone contacted Repos or Bauza? I think it needs clarification, because it is written "as if they had built that Guild" in Olympia clarification. So the Guild is not actually being built when the player is using Olympia's effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
zuzubun wrote:
Has anyone contacted Repos or Bauza? I think it needs clarification, because it is written "as if they had built that Guild" in Olympia clarification. So the Guild is not actually being built when the player is using Olympia's effect.


That's the same wording as for all the copying elements of the game. You play as if you had the copied element in your space. Thus, your copy scores different points than the original in your neigbour's area, because your copy is looking at neighbour A and C, whereas your neighbour's original is looking at B and D, and so on.

It uses this wording to make it clear that you don't actually have the copied item there, thus other items that for example might count up green symbols don't include the copy, since your copied cog isn't really there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan W.
msg tools
mbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
Those same little left/right arrows, telling us to use a leader to our left or right. Which you just said we should listen to.

The token is a convenience for memory, nothing more. They probably didn't even have one in the game until some beta tester said "Hey, I forgot which leader I've been copying, maybe you should do something about that."

I tend to agree with you, but the fact that there is a token at all makes that thing a bit less clear.

I do think there is an actual reason for the token, which makes the card slightly different from other copy effects (like the third wonder state of Olympia B or mask symbols from Cities) or also the "pick a science symbol" ability of Babylon. These have all in common that you make your choice at the end of the game, Which is different from the Courtesan's Guild, where you pick a leader during the third age by placing the token.

Often it wouldn't make a difference, but sometimes it actually would, since things might change during Age III, or someone could even build another leader using Rome B.

So the real question is, was the token added to the box on purpose or was it just something because there was space left or whatever? And how does this influence the rules? I mean, when playing stage 3 of Olympia B, you could even make an argument for replacing the token at the end of the game to one of your neighbors' leaders, which the original Guild player now has to copy, because you virtually replay the Courtesan's Guild and thus follow its instructions.

And as for the symbols on the card and Olympia B... well, even if they look the same, there could still be a slight difference (I mean, there actually is a difference, which is the token - there is no Olympia B token for picking a guild...). You can only do so much with symbols.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacek Deimer
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
7 Wonders: Leaders » Forums » Rules
Re: Olympia (B) stage 3 copying Courtesan's Guild?
Here are clarifications I've got from Antoine:
Quote:

1.What Curteasan Guild exacly does? Does it copy all effects of copied leader as if the second copy of leader was just played? For example will it give 6 gold when it copies CROESUS?


2.Olympia copying Courtesan Guild.
Can I chose new leader for the copy or am I forced to copy leader that already has Courteasan Token on it?
For example: I copy CG that copies PLATO, will I have to copy PLATO again or can I copy different leader?


1. Yes, that's correct.
2. You can copy any Leader from your two neibhourgs


So, token is only a reminder. It's handy when you copy leader with special ability that affects gameplay (Vitruvius) or if you play fifth or tenth game in a row when you are tired.

Olympia B and mask symbols don't need a token as you make choice at the and of game and there is only one right choice.

But I'd like to get tokens to mark other things:
1.Manneken Pis 3 stage -> to mark copied wonder stage
2.Olympia B, Diocletan and new Esteban promo -> to mark that ability was already used up.
3.Some extra tokens to use when there is a copy of card that uses token, like in case of Olympia/Courtesan.

Maybe they could be included in future expansion as extra bits.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Albano
United States
Bloomfield
NJ
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So. Just to make a final clarification:

Courtesans Guild basically is: When you build this, recruit a leader in a neighboring city.

Olympia is: When you build this stage of the wonder, at the end of the game chose a neighboring guild and build a copy of it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordy Crozier
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In Steve Duff we trust!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prev «  1 , 2  | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.