$10.00
Seren of Moon
United States
Highlands Ranch
Colorado
flag msg tools
With Shards now having non-HS planets with yellow specialties, are the yellows legal game (like you can have yellow, red, blue or any combo of 3)?

Or, is it still red, blue, and green required?

thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Madsen
United States
Bountiful
Utah
flag msg tools
D'Anna's Favorite Human!
badge
D'Anna's Favorite Human!
mbmbmbmbmb
SWC_Seren wrote:
With Shards now having non-HS planets with yellow specialties, are the yellows legal game (like you can have yellow, red, blue or any combo of 3)?

Or, is it still red, blue, and green required?

thanks!

This is addressed in the FAQ. Yellows do not count unless the objective specifies for yellow.

Edit: I lied, it's in the rules on page nine.

Quote:
The Yellow Technology Specialty
The yellow (general) Technology specialty works exactly like the red, green, and blue Technology specialties except that the yellow Technology specialty does not count for the purpose of fulfilling objectives.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seren of Moon
United States
Highlands Ranch
Colorado
flag msg tools
Right, saw that in the SE rules.

This made sense when Winnu HS was the only planet with a yellow specialty.

Given the Shards planets with yellow tech specialties, I always get confused and think these are now valid.

But yes, the ruling you cite is correct. Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Williams
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
BITS FOR THE BITS GOD!
badge
Staring in dumbfounded terror at Frans Raynor's neckbeard.
mbmbmbmbmb
In my games I rule that it counts, and simply that the Winnu home system discount does not. One of the few areas I blatantly disagree with the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shards of the Throne » Forums » Rules
Re: I control the planets needed to have at least one of each of the 3 tech specialties PO
IncrediSteve wrote:
In my games I rule that it counts, and simply that the Winnu home system discount does not. One of the few areas I blatantly disagree with the FAQ.

It's not a ruling from the FAQ - it comes directly from the rules-as-written.

In the Shattered Empire rules it was there specifically for the Winnu (and probably to prevent the Winnu from getting an edge on that one). The Shards of the Throne rules was probably to simply make it consistent.

I personally think the Yellow tech specialty is the best one anyway, since yellow techs usually relate to resource management in a way the other colors don't; IE, they tend to directly affect your economy, and thus kind of pay for themselves to some degree in the end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Slev Sleddeddan
United Kingdom
Victoria Park
Manchester
flag msg tools
What part of "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn" don't you understand?
badge
Don't you open that trapdoor!
mbmbmbmbmb
It is for this reason that I printed errata'ed cards for POs and SOs, so as to make the ruling(s) clear for newbies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K S
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmb
But Arborec has a green tech on their home planet and thereby an edge on the PO....think I'll just let them all count in our next game
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Kristobal wrote:
But Arborec has a green tech on their home planet and thereby an edge on the PO....think I'll just let them all count in our next game

The Arborec also have some pretty severe disadvantages early on, too
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.