Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Le Havre: The Inland Port» Forums » Rules

Subject: Selling buildings clarification request rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack Stalica
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can buildings be sold if they have just being bought or just after being used?

The rules state that any building in sector '0' can not be used under any condition - but also state that a player may sell his own building at any time during his turn. They also state that the number of buildings in the '0' sector indicates the number of actions used - which would be impossible if one could sell buildings in the '0' sector. So I think it is not possible. Just need some official clarity.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathalie
Canada
Calgary, AB /
Dieppe, NB
flag msg tools
“A ship is safe in harbor, but that's not what ships are for.” ― William G.T. Shedd
mbmbmbmbmb
jstalica wrote:
Can buildings be sold if they have just being bought or just after being used?

The rules state that any building in sector '0' can not be used under any condition - but also state that a player may sell his own building at any time during his turn. They also state that the number of buildings in the '0' sector indicates the number of actions used - which would be impossible if one could sell buildings in the '0' sector. So I think it is not possible. Just need some official clarity.


we played for our first time yesterday and we played that a building in the zero sector could not be sold (although we didn't actually sell any builings)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Franklin
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Counting buildings in the zero sector also does not work once you get scoring buildings, as they don't even go on your wheel.

Based on the rules, I don't think there is any reason you could not sell a building for 1/2 value, even if it is in the zero sector.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathalie
Canada
Calgary, AB /
Dieppe, NB
flag msg tools
“A ship is safe in harbor, but that's not what ships are for.” ― William G.T. Shedd
mbmbmbmbmb
grandslam wrote:
Counting buildings in the zero sector also does not work once you get scoring buildings, as they don't even go on your wheel.


The way we got around this (to keep track for turn counts) was that if you bought a scoring building, place it in 0 right after buying it, then when you move the dial, take it off and place it aside so as not to (over) clutter the board.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Stalica
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
grandslam wrote:
Counting buildings in the zero sector also does not work once you get scoring buildings, as they don't even go on your wheel.

Based on the rules, I don't think there is any reason you could not sell a building for 1/2 value, even if it is in the zero sector.


Yes, the scoring buildings point merely adds to the confusion.

There has not been a definitive answer to my question posted yet.

Can someone from Lookout please issue an official clarification?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Earles
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jstalica wrote:
Can buildings be sold if they have just being bought or just after being used?

The rules state that any building in sector '0' can not be used under any condition - but also state that a player may sell his own building at any time during his turn. They also state that the number of buildings in the '0' sector indicates the number of actions used - which would be impossible if one could sell buildings in the '0' sector. So I think it is not possible. Just need some official clarity.


My rules state, on Page 3, under "Main phase: Build":

The player takes one of the buildings that are in play, but not yet built, pays its building costs, and puts it on his game board to the RIGHT of the pointer (i.e. in sector 0). Then his turn is over.

--

Note the bolded and underlined rule. If, immediately after building, your turn is over it wouldn't seem possible to sell a new building. There is a similar clause in the "Use" section.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Costas
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Le Havre: The Inland Port » Forums » Rules
Re: Selling buildings clarification request
jearles wrote:
My rules state, on Page 3, under "Main phase: Build":

The player takes one of the buildings that are in play, but not yet built, pays its building costs, and puts it on his game board to the RIGHT of the pointer (i.e. in sector 0). Then his turn is over.

--

Note the bolded and underlined rule. Immediately after building your turn is over, so you cannot sell a new building.

I think what's confusing is that on Page 4, under "Sell:"
Anytime during his turn, a player may sell his own buildings in addition to his action.

As stated, the rules under Build and Use, after describing the action contain the phrase, Then his turn is over. If it is forbidden to build then sell, or use then sell, shouldn't the rules on Page 4 under "Sell:" say:
Prior to building or using a building, a player may sell his own buildings in addition to his action.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Stalica
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
50% say to-ma-to and 50% say tom-may-to. Let's get some clarity!

I've sent a geekmail to Uwe for official clarification as everyone at Lookout seems to have taken an extended Xmas holiday.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herbert Maderbacher
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
According to Hanno, it is possible to sell from field 0.
See Lookout's German forum: http://forum.lookout-spiele.de/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1613
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This doesn't completely answer the question of whether you can sell a building in the same turn in which you buy it.

If you can't, you could still sell a building in the "zero" sector on a later turn of the same round.

Perhaps it doesn't really matter whether you sell it at the end of one turn or at the beginning of the next. Can anyone think of a way in which it would?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
gillum wrote:
This doesn't completely answer the question of whether you can sell a building in the same turn in which you buy it.

If you can't, you could still sell a building in the "zero" sector on a later turn of the same round.

Perhaps it doesn't really matter whether you sell it at the end of one turn or at the beginning of the next. Can anyone think of a way in which it would?

Here's a reason that you might want to sell a building immediately after buying it - without waiting till the beginning of your next turn.

Suppose you buy a building in the very last turn of a round. When your turn ends, the pointers will be rotated, your new building will be in sector 2, and it will be your opponent's turn.

If you're planning to sell the building anyway, you might prefer to do so before your opponent has a chance pay you 1 Franc to use its main effect twice.

If you are allowed to sell in the same turn you buy, you can prevent his use of the building. If you can sell a building in sector 0 - but not in the turn you buy it - then you can't block him from using your building in this situation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I wrote to Hanno Girke about this question. He responded "Selling is an additional action. You can do this after you buy. If you really want."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.