$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

7 Wonders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Olympia rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Retired Hurt

Brussels
Unspecified
msg tools
I have a problem with Olympia's side A 2nd-stage ability : build the remaining card of each epoch for free. (sorry if the wording is imperfect, I'm re-translating from French)

Am I allowed to use it :
a) to build the 3rd stage ?
b) to get money ?

if a) it's too powerful (7 VP + cards from other epochs)

if not b) then you could be stranded if you're handed two cards which you already played : one can be exchanged for money, but you can't do anything with the other

if b) but not a), this would be an uncommon distinction between uses.

Your opinion (or official ruling) would be welcome.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't have to pay the construction cost shown in the card's top left corner.

However, just because you are able to build a card for free, it doesn't become free to use it as part of building the wonder.
For this you need to pay the cost printed on the board, not on the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis de Vries
Netherlands
Deventer
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
7 Wonders » Forums » Rules
Re: Olympia
I read the rule as follows: you can build any one card you want, once per age you have finished that stage of the wonder, for free. Not necessarily the 'remaining' card of each age (that's Babylon B-side and then that last card isn't for free). (I read 'remaining card' as the card everybody normally discards)

You can only 'build' that one card: so you can't use it for money or for building your wonder. (Then again: with B-side Babylon you can use that last 'remaining card' for money or building your wonder.)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Menghini wrote:
I read the rule as follows: you can build any one card you want, once per age you have finished that stage of the wonder, for free. Not necessarily the 'remaining' card of each age (that's Babylon B-side and then that last card isn't for free). (I read 'remaining card' as the card everybody normally discards)

You can only 'build' that one card: so you can't use it for money or for building your wonder. (Then again: with B-side Babylon you can use that last 'remaining card' for money or building your wonder.)


This is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Miller
United States
Stigler
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Similarly, Halikarnassos only alows you to play a card face-up in your tableau. Babylon B on the other hand allows you to use the card for anything.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tables
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think this is mostly covered, but it sounds like a poor translation. Olympia's A's 2nd ability is - once per age, you can play a card without paying any resources. This only applies to playing the card into your tableau - you can't build a wonder stage for free (although I seem to recall Olympia's 3rd wonder stage is still pretty cheap!).

You might be confusing the ability with Babylon B's 2nd ability, which lets you play both cards at the end of the age. This ability doesn't make the cards free - essentially, after fully resolving one of the card builds (which could have been a discard for 3 coin, building it into your city, or constructing your wonder) you then resolve the other (which could again be a discard for 3 coin, constructing your wonder, or building it in your city) and as it's a separate build, you can re-use resources for both builds.

In terms of power, the Olympia power is pretty alright, especially since it's so cheap resource wise to get. It's mostly effective in age III, letting you hopefully build a 7 or 8 point blue or guild card in one of the first few hands. The Babylon ability is slightly less powerful - unless you get lucky/other players play poorly, you'll rarely get much more than discarding for money, but you might still manage to rack up about 3-5 VPs out of it (fairly standard for a 2nd wonder stage).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jensen

Smyrna
Georgia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I Eat Tables wrote:
Babylon B's 2nd ability, which lets you play both cards at the end of the age. This ability doesn't make the cards free - essentially, after fully resolving one of the card builds (which could have been a discard for 3 coin, building it into your city, or constructing your wonder) you then resolve the other (which could again be a discard for 3 coin, constructing your wonder, or building it in your city) and as it's a separate build, you can re-use resources for both builds.


I have never considered that you get Babylons B side and get to reset the resources. I'm not sure that was intended. If you are going to play two cards at once, you must be able to pay for both. That's the way I've played and it still seems like a powerful card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Miller
United States
Stigler
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The game's designer has confirmed elsewhere on these forums that the second Babylon B card is a separate turn and therefore is not affected by the resources used on the first. IMO it's the worst base-game wonder even with that ruling.

Source: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/580321/hanging-gardens-b
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
notyetsuperman wrote:
I have never considered that you get Babylons B side and get to reset the resources. I'm not sure that was intended. If you are going to play two cards at once, you must be able to pay for both. That's the way I've played and it still seems like a powerful card.


You are incorrect.

If it helps, think of resources as prerequisites, not things that you spend.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.