Human Flie
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
As a crude example, let's say you activate a system three hexes away. On your next turn you activate a system 2 hexes away (this one contains enemy ships). Move in. Declare a withdrawal. Weather the storm, then withdrawal into the activated system that was outside of the movement range of the unit.
Is this legal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W S
Belgium
flag msg tools
Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Randolph
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
human_flie wrote:
As a crude example, let's say you activate a system three hexes away. On your next turn you activate a system 2 hexes away (this one contains enemy ships). Move in. Declare a withdrawal. Weather the storm, then withdrawal into the activated system that was outside of the movement range of the unit.
Is this legal?


Legal...and clever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
This is why it's always a good idea to leave at least one ship in a system, even behind your front lines

Although if you did this, you could be setting yourself up for getting smashed as well. And you can't do any landings when you withdraw, so I'm not sure how much this will accomplish in most cases.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Human Flie
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
I think it would be very useful in a certain few situations. Like when you need to boost defense in a specific system with ships from far away just to hold it til the end of a round. Say to hold Mecatol Rex to gain a point(s). Or to blockade a home system. I think it could also be unexpected and could thwart the plans of someone who didn't see it coming.
Man I love this game. Wish I could play more.
HF
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Epp
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a situational but great tactic. I have used it before to reinforce Rex or an Artifact system.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Norton
United States
Seymour
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have seen this used on a home system.

Player retreated right into it.

Bill

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henry Coleman
United Kingdom
Hampton
Middlesex
flag msg tools
I have never seen this used. I will definitely be looking to use it in future games though!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Pethybridge
Australia
flag msg tools
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Using withdrawal to gain extra movement...
This would work well with the warfare SC. With a Cruiser fleet you could move two systems, tactical withdraw a third and using warfare remove counter and move an addition 2 for a total of 5 systems. If your cruisers move 3 spaces then its a total of 7.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.