$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crescentus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicholas Leeman
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
How are people interpreting Crescentus?

I played with a friend last night, and we couldn't come to a solid understanding of it. Example: I break Hadrian's Wall, using stimhack (or whatever). Three turns later, I install Crescentus. Can I use it right then to derez Hadrian? Do I have to use it in the same run as I broke the Ice?

Side note: I don't think Crescentus works with Femme, correct? Femme specifically states "bypass" and Crescentus says "break."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Val Faith
msg tools
Break all subroutines on said ICE, then de rez it and trash Crescentus. All the subroutines have to be broken on a single encounter. As in, you cant break half on one run, then break the other half and use Crescentus on another run. Does that help?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Bazynski
Poland
Warsaw
Mazowieckie
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
The word "after" should be interpreted as "right after". And no, for the reason you stated, it does not work with FF.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Leeman
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
The question is timing-related. When is "after" to be interpreted? It wouldn't have been hard to add an "immediately" in there if that's what they meant... So can it be several runs later?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anon Y. Mous
msg tools
mbmb
TheMadjai wrote:
The question is timing-related. When is "after" to be interpreted? It wouldn't have been hard to add an "immediately" in there if that's what they meant... So can it be several runs later?


Stimhack wrote:

Make a run, and gain 9 [Credits], which you may use only during this run. After the run is completed, suffer 1 brain damage (cannot be prevented) and return to the bank any of the 9 [Credits] not spent.


Can you take the brain damage several turns after the Stimhack run?
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Leeman
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Good point, but that's a mandatory effect of Stimhack. Crescentus isn't mandatory. I tend to agree with the immediate effect, but I just wanted to be sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a rule of thumb the game has no long-term memory. "After" means "immediately after".
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Breuch
Germany
Kettig
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And if the runner is no longer encountering an ice, all subroutines of that currently encountered ice are unbroken.
So another point for the "immediately after".

Quote:
[Trash]: Derez a piece of ice. Use this ability only after breaking all subroutines of that ice during a single encounter.
Try to read it like this
Quote:
[Trash]: Derez a piece of ice. Use this ability only after breaking all subroutines of that ice during a single encounter.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro Galaviz
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After you're done playing the game, then you can turn his Hadrian's Wall over and derez it...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
This came up in a tournament today. A not inexperienced player ran and broke both subroutines on Uroboros. On his next click he wanted to install and trash Crescentus to de-rez Uroboros. Like everyone else in this thread I'm thinking this is wrong, but I just e-mailed FFG to confirm.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
stevepop wrote:
This came up in a tournament today. A not inexperienced player ran and broke both subroutines on Uroboros. On his next click he wanted to install and trash Crescentus to de-rez Uroboros. Like everyone else in this thread I'm thinking this is wrong, but I just e-mailed FFG to confirm.

Please update the thread when you get an official answer
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd be shocked if it would work after the fact, but then again I don't know how to prove my interpretation is correct since the card isn't actually specific :-/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
IirionClaus wrote:
stevepop wrote:
This came up in a tournament today. A not inexperienced player ran and broke both subroutines on Uroboros. On his next click he wanted to install and trash Crescentus to de-rez Uroboros. Like everyone else in this thread I'm thinking this is wrong, but I just e-mailed FFG to confirm.

Please update the thread when you get an official answer


Crickets so far. Maybe Lukas thinks only a crazy person would ask such a question.

I was just looking at the Star Wars LCG rules. Under Advanced Concepts the word "after" gets its own section:

Star Wars LCG wrote:
AFTER

The word "after" refers to a game occurrence that has just been concluded...


I'm sure it's the same thing in Netrunner, but I've been wrong before.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Android: Netrunner » Forums » Rules
Re: Crescentus
Heard back from Lukas today:

Lukas wrote:
Thanks for the question. Yes, it must be done immediately after breaking all the subroutines on that ice; once anything else happens the ability cannot be triggered.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony M
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was playing in a home game today where I was playing runner, piloting "Dirty Hands", the Exile deck that was posted on here.

I am guessing per Lukas's comment, I cannot do this but I just wanted to ask.

My board was as follows:

Installed Programs
Faerie
Cyber Cypher (Installed against R&D).
Magnum Opus

Installed Hardware
3 Clone Chips

I go to run on R&D, 2 ICE protecting. Outermost ICE is unrezzed, but I am pretty sure it is Grim. Inner ICE is NEXT Bronze, so I need the Cyber Cypher. I have a Crescentus in my heap.

My plan was after the corp rezzed Grim, I wanted to break it with Faerie, use a clone chip, then install Crescentus over Faerie and use it to unrez the Grim. (Something had to be uninstalled, and I didn't want to lose the Magnum, and I needed the Cyber).

Is using a paid ability to bring back Crescentus allowed, or no, because the Crescentus must be installed at the instant I break...IE, no opportunity for a paid ability to bring it into play ?

We ended up playing that I had to use Clone Chip to overwrite Cyber Cypher or Magnum prior to the break with Faerie. We assumed Lukas's ruling of "immediately after" meant "no opportunity for other paid abilities between the break and trashing Crescentus"

Did we get this right ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Jones
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
xpiredsodapop wrote:
After you're done playing the game, then you can turn his Hadrian's Wall over and derez it...
Well, you absolutely can, and at the same time you can rez Midseason Replacements.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Jones
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
tmarozas wrote:
I was playing in a home game today where I was playing runner, piloting "Dirty Hands", the Exile deck that was posted on here.

I am guessing per Lukas's comment, I cannot do this but I just wanted to ask.

My board was as follows:

Installed Programs
Faerie
Cyber Cypher (Installed against R&D).
Magnum Opus

Installed Hardware
3 Clone Chips

I go to run on R&D, 2 ICE protecting. Outermost ICE is unrezzed, but I am pretty sure it is Grim. Inner ICE is NEXT Bronze, so I need the Cyber Cypher. I have a Crescentus in my heap.

My plan was after the corp rezzed Grim, I wanted to break it with Faerie, use a clone chip, then install Crescentus over Faerie and use it to unrez the Grim. (Something had to be uninstalled, and I didn't want to lose the Magnum, and I needed the Cyber).

Is using a paid ability to bring back Crescentus allowed, or no, because the Crescentus must be installed at the instant I break...IE, no opportunity for a paid ability to bring it into play ?

We ended up playing that I had to use Clone Chip to overwrite Cyber Cypher or Magnum prior to the break with Faerie. We assumed Lukas's ruling of "immediately after" meant "no opportunity for other paid abilities between the break and trashing Crescentus"

Did we get this right ?

Just to verify, are there no other installed cards, or just no others relevant? I doubt it'll change anything, though.

Now, I admit it does become a little murky in the situation you described. Let me think: Clone Chip is a paid ability, as is boosting and breaking subroutines with Faerie. Cresentus does not have a paid ability, but it does have a trigger of passing the ICE and breaking all subroutines. So, I'd say that yes, you have to have the Cresentus installed as you are breaking the subs on an ice to use it on said ice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony M
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing else relevant. The only 2 other cards on my board were R&D interface and a dinosaurus with nothing on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lynk Fox
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Rognik wrote:
tmarozas wrote:
I was playing in a home game today where I was playing runner, piloting "Dirty Hands", the Exile deck that was posted on here.

I am guessing per Lukas's comment, I cannot do this but I just wanted to ask.

My board was as follows:

Installed Programs
Faerie
Cyber Cypher (Installed against R&D).
Magnum Opus

Installed Hardware
3 Clone Chips

I go to run on R&D, 2 ICE protecting. Outermost ICE is unrezzed, but I am pretty sure it is Grim. Inner ICE is NEXT Bronze, so I need the Cyber Cypher. I have a Crescentus in my heap.

My plan was after the corp rezzed Grim, I wanted to break it with Faerie, use a clone chip, then install Crescentus over Faerie and use it to unrez the Grim. (Something had to be uninstalled, and I didn't want to lose the Magnum, and I needed the Cyber).

Is using a paid ability to bring back Crescentus allowed, or no, because the Crescentus must be installed at the instant I break...IE, no opportunity for a paid ability to bring it into play ?

We ended up playing that I had to use Clone Chip to overwrite Cyber Cypher or Magnum prior to the break with Faerie. We assumed Lukas's ruling of "immediately after" meant "no opportunity for other paid abilities between the break and trashing Crescentus"

Did we get this right ?

Just to verify, are there no other installed cards, or just no others relevant? I doubt it'll change anything, though.

Now, I admit it does become a little murky in the situation you described. Let me think: Clone Chip is a paid ability, as is boosting and breaking subroutines with Faerie. Cresentus does not have a paid ability, but it does have a trigger of passing the ICE and breaking all subroutines. So, I'd say that yes, you have to have the Cresentus installed as you are breaking the subs on an ice to use it on said ice.




As I understand the Timing of a run, this all happens during the same step of the run, therefor it would in deed be possible to use Faerie to break all the subroutines, then use a clone chip to install Crescentus (paid ability during step 3.1) in which you will have to trash a program to free the MU (you would choose faerie, of course, as it will be trashing itself at the start of step 4, the encounter with the ice over) - you are still in step 3.1, which is the first part of the encounter. All the subroutines have been broken, and crescentus can be triggered


Step 3 - Encounter the Rezzed ice.

Step 3.1 - icebreakers can interact (Paid abilities can be triggered)
- Faerie Interacts
- Trigger Clone Chip Paid Ability, installing Crescentus
- All subroutines have been broken during a single encounter, used the Paid ability (Trash is a pay cost, by the way, Crescentus is a paid ability) to derez the ice - Crescentus does not say it has to be in play, it merely says that you can only trigger it after all subroutines have been broken in a single encounter - as you are still in step 3.1, you are still during a single encounter, and all sub routines have been broken.

Step 3.2 - The ice is derezzed, no subroutines to resolve, resolve to step 2 if there is more ice or step 4 if reaching the server.


That is a little murky, but I believe, given the 'Instant Parasite death' that works in a similar manner, it should be correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Keys
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Interrupt.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tmarozas wrote:
I was playing in a home game today where I was playing runner, piloting "Dirty Hands", the Exile deck that was posted on here.

I am guessing per Lukas's comment, I cannot do this but I just wanted to ask.

My board was as follows:

Installed Programs
Faerie
Cyber Cypher (Installed against R&D).
Magnum Opus

Installed Hardware
3 Clone Chips

I go to run on R&D, 2 ICE protecting. Outermost ICE is unrezzed, but I am pretty sure it is Grim. Inner ICE is NEXT Bronze, so I need the Cyber Cypher. I have a Crescentus in my heap.

My plan was after the corp rezzed Grim, I wanted to break it with Faerie, use a clone chip, then install Crescentus over Faerie and use it to unrez the Grim. (Something had to be uninstalled, and I didn't want to lose the Magnum, and I needed the Cyber).

Is using a paid ability to bring back Crescentus allowed, or no, because the Crescentus must be installed at the instant I break...IE, no opportunity for a paid ability to bring it into play ?

We ended up playing that I had to use Clone Chip to overwrite Cyber Cypher or Magnum prior to the break with Faerie. We assumed Lukas's ruling of "immediately after" meant "no opportunity for other paid abilities between the break and trashing Crescentus"

Did we get this right ?



This all happens at step 3.1 in the run, in this order:

1) Use Faerie to break the subroutines.
2) Use Clone Chip to bring out Crescentus, trashing Faerie. This is necessary, since Faerie has finished breaking subroutines but the encounter has not ended yet, so Faerie has not yet trashed itself.
3) Since all subroutines were broken in a single encounter, trash Crescentus to derez Grim.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.