$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple bonds? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Stinchfield
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you own multiple bonds in one country? I am seeing some session reports that indicate that you can, but it does not seem right to have more than one if you look at the values and costs of each bond.

MS
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Pasquinelli
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yes you can buy a new bond paying the entire sum or excange your bond with a new one paying the difference (see rules on page 9-10 Activating the investor).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
pasquy wrote:
yes you can buy a new bond paying the entire sum or excange your bond with a new one paying the difference (see rules on page 9-10 Activating the investor).


That doesn't seem well worded. Does say "exchange your bond" instead of "exchange as many bonds of yours as you wish" implying somewhat that you can only have one bond per great power. And certainly implying that even if you have several, you can only upgrade one of them rather than combining several and paying more cash to buy a single big one. Both of these implications incorrect from what I understand of the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Stinchfield
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dkeisen wrote:
pasquy wrote:
yes you can buy a new bond paying the entire sum or excange your bond with a new one paying the difference (see rules on page 9-10 Activating the investor).


That doesn't seem well worded. Does say "exchange your bond" instead of "exchange as many bonds of yours as you wish" implying somewhat that you can only have one bond per great power. And certainly implying that even if you have several, you can only upgrade one of them rather than combining several and paying more cash to buy a single big one. Both of these implications incorrect from what I understand of the rules.


Yes, it is poorly worded and could be interepreted both ways. Here is the issue for example:

You have the #4 bond which "cost" 9 million. You gain 4 million interest from this bond and that affects scoring at the end as well (4 x n). If you can hold multiple bonds in one nation, then why would you ever upgrade to #8 for 16 million more in this situation? Instead, you would buy the #5 bond for 12 million giving you an effective total interest of 9 million versus the 8 million granted by #8 (as well as a higher factor for scoring). And here you save 4 million.

This is what I meant in my first post about cost/value does not support owning multiple cards of one nation.

Thoughts?

MS
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Heaney
United States
Quincy
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You may always own as many bonds of the same country as you can afford. During the investor phase you may purchase bonds if either you do not control a country or if you hold the investor card. At that time you may purchase whatever you can afford from whatever bonds are available for purchase. You may buy bonds outright for the price listed, or you can turn in one of your own bonds for a higher-priced bond, the advantage here is that your existing bond serves as a "down payment."

Granted, there is the law of diminishing returns; that is, the dividend return on the bond as a percentage of the price decreases the higher you go. But of course, going higher could get you control of a country.

Note that the manner in which bonds are bought and sold is pretty ingenious. If you have a "2" bond, and the cheapest bond available is a "5," you might upgrade by paying the difference, but now your old "2" bond is available for purchase, making bonds in that country in a sense "cheaper." It is that combination of buying as many bonds and upgrading that makes control of a country rather tenuous (and helps make the game exciting).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Norman
United Kingdom
Trowbridge
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Imperial » Forums » Rules
Re: Multiple bonds?
theaney wrote:
You may always own as many bonds of the same country as you can afford. During the investor phase you may purchase bonds if either you do not control a country or if you hold the investor card. At that time you may purchase whatever you can afford from whatever bonds are available for purchase. You may buy bonds outright for the price listed, or you can turn in one of your own bonds for a higher-priced bond, the advantage here is that your existing bond serves as a "down payment."

Granted, there is the law of diminishing returns; that is, the dividend return on the bond as a percentage of the price decreases the higher you go. But of course, going higher could get you control of a country.

Note that the manner in which bonds are bought and sold is pretty ingenious. If you have a "2" bond, and the cheapest bond available is a "5," you might upgrade by paying the difference, but now your old "2" bond is available for purchase, making bonds in that country in a sense "cheaper." It is that combination of buying as many bonds and upgrading that makes control of a country rather tenuous (and helps make the game exciting).


This is correct, except that you should have said "During the investor phase you may purchase a bond if either you do not control a country or if you hold the investor card."

See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/131984, and note that Walther Gerdts (who writes some of the replies) is the author of the game.

David.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.