Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Thurn and Taxis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Errors in English rulebook rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Synge
United Kingdom
Westbury-on-Trym
BRISTOL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We finally pulled this one from the "unplayed" pile today. thumbsup

The Rio Grande rules don't seem to be quite all there. thumbsdown

Firstly, there's a diagram in the yellow box at the end of page 2 showing routes between Stuttgart, Nürnberg, Ingolstadt and Regensburg. It's not at all clear what this diagram is there for.

Secondly, there are three examples at the top of the next page. The first, involving the placing of an Innsbruck card, has been dealt with already - here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/116663.

The second example, involving the placing of a Würzburg card, suggests that the card in question can be added to either end of a route whose present endpoints are Carlsruhe and Regensburg ("only added to on the ends"). We have made the assumption that this example is also incorrect, or at the very least misleading!

I know this will be old ground for many, but I'd appreciate any reassurance that we haven't misunderstood anything here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thurn and Taxis » Forums » Rules
Re: Errors in English rulebook
Tim Synge wrote:
Firstly, there's a diagram in the yellow box at the end of page 2 showing routes between Stuttgart, Nürnberg, Ingolstadt and Regensburg. It's not at all clear what this diagram is there for.

The diagram is there to show an example of HOW cities are connected directly with one another.

Quote:
The second example, involving the placing of a Würzburg card, suggests that the card in question can be added to either end of a route whose present endpoints are Carlsruhe and Regensburg ("only added to on the ends"). We have made the assumption that this example is also incorrect, or at the very least misleading!


All 3 examples show cases (as indicated by the red 'X's' which are NOT allowed. And that is what the example text says: "Würzburg may not be placed between Stuttgart and Nürnberg, as the current route may not be rearranged,

It is true that the English rules add a 'clarification': "but only added to on the ends." which is misleading. Which is probably why this isn't present in the original German example.
shake


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.