$10.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Roll Through the Ages: The Late Bronze Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is Intentional Starvation Legal? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
BT Carpenter
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Now that we have discovered the secrets of Preservation, is it legal to intentionally starve your cities this turn, so that NEXT turn you can double your food (before the roll)?

Example:

I'm at 6 cities and have 6 food AFTER I finish rolling.

If I feed all my cities, I'm down to no food and have to roll food again next turn.

If I intentionally starve, I am down six points but with one of my pots, I can double to 12 food before the rolls next turn. This frees me up to NOT roll food and concentrate on other things (men/coins/goods)

That will feed 6 cities and leave 6, which I double again to 12 in perpetuity, or at least as long as I have pots to preserve in.

So am I allowed to intentionally starve that first turn, or can preservation only be used on LEFT OVER food after I've properly sated my workforce?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikki Ebright
United States
Centennial
Colorado (CO)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Preservation says food x2 BEFORE roll, and in the rules it says before rolling the dice. Since rolling the dice happens at the beginning of your turn, Preservation would only apply to food you had at the beginning of the turn, or the 'left over' food.

So you can starve your people, but you're taking disasters every turn for it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BT Carpenter
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Lil Red Head wrote:
Preservation says food x2 BEFORE roll, and in the rules it says before rolling the dice. Since rolling the dice happens at the beginning of your turn, Preservation would only apply to food you had at the beginning of the turn, or the 'left over' food.

So you can starve your people, but you're taking disasters every turn for it.


Let me try an example. Assume I have 6 cities for these.

FEED CITIES
Turn n: I have 6 food.
If I spend it on 6 cities, I have zero food and cannot preserve anything in turn (n+1), as I will have zero. I must roll 2 food dice to keep my cities fed in turn (n+1)

STARVE CITIES
Turn n: I have rolled 6 food. f I intentionally starve (for -6 points, then I have 6 food left on the pegboard. On turn (n+1) I can use a pot to double 6 to 12. I now do not need to roll any food. If I can generate a (or have another in reserve) then on turn (n+2) I can again preserve 6 into 12. Indeed, I can keep this going in perpetuity, as long as I have pots to support it.

So...
If I FEED CITIES I have to generate food via rolling every turn, which will tie up 2 dice.
If I STARVE CITIES I have to generate 3 goods via rolling every turn, which ties up 2 dice but gives me the benefits of stone and wood accumulation I do this at an initial cost of -6 points by starving my cities, but then can easily provide for my cities afterwards, especially if I have shipping, which means I only need to generate a single good which I then trade for a pot in the appropriate phase.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BT Carpenter
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Matt replied over in the main game forums:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3829244#3829244

The answer is 'YES, you may intentionally starve cities.'
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BT Carpenter
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Roll Through the Ages: The Late Bronze Age » Forums » Rules
Re: Is Intentional Starvation Legal?
And here's a more illustrative example.

Assume you have 6 cities.

You have finished rolling and have, among other things:

Preservation
Pots: 1
Grain: 8

Choice one: Feed all cities. Grain will drop to 2. You will need to roll at least 4 food next turn to feed your cities. Failure to roll food will result in -4 disasters due to non-intentional starvation.

Choice two: Feed exactly 5 cities, and take one 'starvation' disaster. You will have 3 food left. At beginning of next turn, use the pot to double your food supply to 6. You are now guarenteed to feed your people regardless of the roll, and can instead concentrate on whatever other project you had in mind.

Summary: Purposefully lose 1 point this turn to potentially avoid losing 4 points next turn.

There are other scenarios, I"ve illustrated 2 so far. I'm sure if one were to hard-crunch the numbers that there would be optimum times to starve or not starve cities. I can't go that far yet.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.