Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: Pegasus Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sabotage during movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wim D
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

Here the situation as it occured at our table:

Helo wants to move from the press room on colonial one to the FTL location on galactica. Therefor he needs to discard a card and chooses a treachery card. Cylon player cavil plays the sabotage card on that discard, and the damage token for the FTL gets picked.
Does helo move to the damaged FTL or did he move before it got damaged and is he sent to sickbay?

I can see this be ruled either way:
- the discard is a cost of the move, since you cannot move between ships if you don't have any cards. This would imply that you have to pay first (and that the location gets damaged first) and only then you move.

- the discard is a consequence of the movement between ships, and therefore only once you moved you have to discard.


Actually, it comes down to the simple question: when you want to move between ships, do you move first and then discard or do you discard first and then move?

Thanks in advance for you opinion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toni
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rule book, page 10 its states:

"When players choose Skill Cards to discard, they may select
Treachery Cards, but should be careful. A Cylon player may
play 'Sabotage', a Treachery Card that will damage Galactica
when played immediately after a human player discards a
Treachery Card."

I have done following:
1. Helo discard treachery card
2. Calvin plays 'Sabotage'
3. Damage token for the FTL gets picked
4. Helo remains in press room at Colonial One.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mb
Battlestar Galactica: Pegasus Expansion » Forums » Rules
Re: Sabotage during movement
We spoke of this in antoeer thread recently - maybe it was your question.

The game does not distinguish between mvoing and then discarding or discarding and then moving. If anything,iay it is moving then discarding as the rules state "If he moves to a different ship, he must discard one Skill Card from his hand." That implies move first, discard second.

So the oprder should be
1. Move
2. Discard Treachery card to "pay" for the move
3. Sabatoge Played
4. Token drawn - Location Damaged
5. Move to Sickbay.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
Since a player cannot move between ships without discarding a Skill Card, even if that player has an empty hand, it seems to make the most sense to have the discard occur before the move; otherwise, a player with an empty hand could move to the other ship despite not having a Skill Card to discard when the time to discard comes around.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
not exactly - it has been clarified in the FAQ that if you can't pay the cost of an action, you can't preform it.
This would apply regardless of whether the payment is made before, after, or simultaneously with the action itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I e-mailed Corey (the designer) last week about this and will update the UFAQ when I have an answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Chav
United States
Murray
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
InfoCynic wrote:
I e-mailed Corey (the designer) last week about this and will update the UFAQ when I have an answer.


Woah! We have a UFAQ on here? Linkey???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anna B
Sweden
Ängelholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/441632/unofficial-faq

pegasus forums -> rules -> ...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The UFAQ has been updated :

Discard with intent to move -> Sabotage -> Damage Galactica -> move character.

Thus it is clear that if the location you are moving TO is damaged, you are fine (if perhaps screwed out of a useful action) but less clear (I have a clarification question already out to Corey) what happens if the location you are in is damaged before you move.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steph Mabie
United States
Oxford
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's do a quick hypothesis of the other route, then...

Discard w/intent to move -> Sabotage -> Damage Galactica -> go to sickbay -> Move character

The only penalty for "going to sickbay" is if you start your turn there. Since that's not the case, then making a sidetrip to sickbay long enough for Cottle to signoff on you shouldn't change anything; you've already paid for your shuttle off Galactica. The only time there's a possible paradox is if you are on Pegasus going to Galactica when the above happens; and then it's pretty much the same thing, you aren't getting your card back.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No refunds on shuttle tickets once purchased, eh?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.