Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: Investor Card/No Investor Card Summary rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Laerik Funkinstein
msg tools
I have searched far and wide in the rules, faq's and forums, and here is what I understand to be the main "no investor card" variant people use. Please confirm and/or deny and/or comment on the following statements:

- After each country's turn, players may buy bonds in that country. The first person who may purchase these bonds sits to the left of the country's controller, and proceeds clockwise around the table. The controller of the country is the last to buy bonds in the country.

- I have seen mention of a variant of this variant where the order of bond purchase is reversed every other turn (see http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/502873/a-simple-variant-...-)

- I have also read of a version where this type of bond purchase is only allowed when a country passes or lands on "invest" on the rondel.

Are there other similar variants people play? What is your opinion on the best "no investor card" strategy to play? What are the similarities and differences between the versions? Did I get the rules entirely wrong?

Opinions welcome.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
laerik wrote:
- After each country's turn, players may buy bonds in that country. The first person who may purchase these bonds sits to the left of the country's controller, and proceeds clockwise around the table. The controller of the country is the last to buy bonds in the country.


No, first.

Quote:
- I have seen mention of a variant of this variant where the order of bond purchase is reversed every other turn (see http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/502873/a-simple-variant-...-)


A poor choice.

Quote:
- I have also read of a version where this type of bond purchase is only allowed when a country passes or lands on "invest" on the rondel.


An even worse choice.

Quote:
Are there other similar variants people play? What is your opinion on the best "no investor card" strategy to play? What are the similarities and differences between the versions?


I've written considerably on this area. A forum search on my posts to the Imperial fora should find most of the posts.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Barrett

Oregon
msg tools
From the rule book.

"This variation results in fewer changes in the ownership of governments.

Remove investor card from game. Instead of using the investor card, each player can invest in a nation immediately after that nation takes its turn.

For example:

After Italy takes its turn, its owner can invest in Italy. Then all the other players can invest in Italy, starting with the player to the left of the owner of Italy and going clockwise around the table. After that France takes its turn.

In addition to this procedure, players not owning governments can invest in any nation they wish,at any time. On the rondel playing field 'Investor,' only the interests are paid. Passing through that field no longer has any special consequence.

If in the beginning no bond has been given yet by a nation, bonds can be granted to this nation directly after the previous nation‘s turn. The
government of the previous nation is the first to invest."


Can someone clarify the no flag, invest at any time line? For example, if someone lands on taxation and is about to grab a bonus. Can you steal that bonus by investing in the middle of their turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
Pokey007 wrote:
Can someone clarify the no flag, invest at any time line? For example, if someone lands on taxation and is about to grab a bonus. Can you steal that bonus by investing in the middle of their turn?


The investment action occurs in rotational turn order at the end of the active players turn, starting with the active player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Barrett

Oregon
msg tools
Thanks. Do you think that the no-investor variant makes the game more balanced? Especially with five or six players?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
Pokey007 wrote:
Thanks. Do you think that the no-investor variant makes the game more balanced? Especially with five or six players?


No.

I find the game sufficiently more interesting without the investor card that I have no interest in playing with the investor card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Berry
United States
Unspecified
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Imperial » Forums » Rules
Re: Investor Card/No Investor Card Summary
Pokey007 wrote:
Thanks. Do you think that the no-investor variant makes the game more balanced? Especially with five or six players?


The game is perfectly balanced with the investor card with five or six players. Playing with/without it is a matter of choice. Despite what clearclaw says the game is equally good with/without the investor card, just different.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håkan Jonsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
How should the phrase "In addition" be interpreted? May a player not holding a flag buy bonds twice as follows: Once during the normal "procedure" (and in the country of the turn, like players with flags) and then, "in addition", once in a country of his/her choice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Loehn
Germany
Dietzenbach
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jhjonsson wrote:
How should the phrase "In addition" be interpreted? May a player not holding a flag buy bonds twice as follows: Once during the normal "procedure" (and in the country of the turn, like players with flags) and then, "in addition", once in a country of his/her choice?


No, he can´t. During an investor step only one bond can be purchased by a player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håkan Jonsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
Thanks for the clarification. I also think that this makes perfect sense.

Another thing: What does "at any time" then mean? Could it be that a player without a flag may break the rotational order specified in the basic procedure outlined in the first paragraph? That such a player gets to invest in any country and do so at any time during the rotation when the player likes, not just at the time (based on the seating order around the table) specified by the first paragraph?

(This would obviously strengthen the player even further, and that is perhaps the idea?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Babis Tsimoris
Greece
Salonica
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you please paste exactly the phrase in the rulebook? In this manner you are asking we can't understand what you mean.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håkan Jonsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
Certainly. I am referring to the post by Michael Barrett above where he wrote:

'From the rule book.

"This variation results in fewer changes in the ownership of governments.

Remove investor card from game. Instead of using the investor card, each player can invest in a nation immediately after that nation takes its turn.

For example:

After Italy takes its turn, its owner can invest in Italy. Then all the other players can invest in Italy, starting with the player to the left of the owner of Italy and going clockwise around the table. After that France takes its turn.

In addition to this procedure, players not owning governments can invest in any nation they wish,at any time. On the rondel playing field 'Investor,' only the interests are paid. Passing through that field no longer has any special consequence.

If in the beginning no bond has been given yet by a nation, bonds can be granted to this nation directly after the previous nation‘s turn. The
government of the previous nation is the first to invest."'
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Babis Tsimoris
Greece
Salonica
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ok well, "at any time" maybe is a bit badly written, it means that after the country takes its turn all players are allowed to invest in that country. The player not owning any government may invest in any nation he wants purchasing always only one bond like the wise Carsten said.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håkan Jonsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
Thanks for your answer. I have not played Imperial more than a handful number of times, and have not studied the rules in scrutinizing detail, but from what I have seen so far the rules seem very well-written. However, if your interpretation is shared by other experienced players (is it?), I can live with that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Loehn
Germany
Dietzenbach
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I never played without the investor card, but from reading the German rules of that variant it looks like that anytime means anytime. It is explicitly written that a player could invest in a country before that country would move. If that is true the player could buy as many bonds as he likes unless he gets government. That seems to be extremely strong.

Maybe one of the "never play with investor card"-gurus should answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walther Gerdts
Germany
Hamburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Carsten, I have to admit that the wording could have been clearer, but please consider that "anytime" was not meant as "any amount"...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Loehn
Germany
Dietzenbach
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MacGerdts wrote:
Carsten, I have to admit that the wording could have been clearer, but please consider that "anytime" was not meant as "any amount"...


So, how is it meant, Mac? Anytime in a country move but only one bond per country move?

The "Anytime" is really confusing. If Italy moves and player 1 buys an Italian bond, is the countryless player 4 able to buy a bond before player 2 ( I doubt that)? Has the controller of a country ask the countryless player if he wants to buy a bond and maybe take over?

Or is it just the same like playing with the investor card: In the buying phase players buy in turn order and the countryless player is free to buy a bond from another country? In that case it would have been better to leave the "anytime" and the example away. :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Babis Tsimoris
Greece
Salonica
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Carsten, I think is the last sentence you said. In your example, everyone will buy in order, when the countryless player's turn cames, he is allowed to buy a bond to any nation he wants.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håkan Jonsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
This is how I now interpret the rules in the variant without the investor card:

"Without the investor card, a turn gets broken up into two phases. The first phase, the action phase, serves the same purpose as the turn when the investor card is used: The player controlling the country of the turn gets to choose an action for the country. The second phase is a pure investment phase that takes place after the first phase has been completed.

Bonds may only be bought during investment phases. During an investment phase, a player may buy at most one bond. While players controlling countries may only invest in the country of the turn, players not controlling countries may invest in any country. Players invest in clock-wise rotational order, as seated around the table, starting with the player controlling the country of the turn and ending after each player has had an opportunity to invest.

A special case occurs for countries in which no one has yet invested. A turn for such a country consists of the investment phase only. The first to invest is the player who were the first to invest in the turn of the previous country."

Ok, or?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.