$10.00
Recommend
49 
 Thumb up
 Hide
65 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Forbidden Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Diver questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anson Bischoff
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It says that the diver may move THROUGH one OR MORE adjacent missing and/or flooded tiles for one action. Does this mean it takes one action to, for example, swim through a flooded tile followed by a sunken tile to land on a tile 3 tiles away from the first? In other words, does each sunken/ flooded tile take an action to pass through, or can you swim through multiple and land on another tile for a single action?

Also, can the navigator move the diver through sunken tiles?

Another question: If you draw a sandbag, can you use it before you draw from the flood deck?

Thanks.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Leacock
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Forbidden Island » Forums » Rules
Re: Diver questions
biscuits409 wrote:
It says that the diver may move THROUGH one OR MORE adjacent missing and/or flooded tiles for one action. Does this mean it takes one action to, for example, swim through a flooded tile followed by a sunken tile to land on a tile 3 tiles away from the first?

In other words, does each sunken/ flooded tile take an action to pass through, or can you swim through multiple and land on another tile for a single action?


Yes, the diver can swim through multiple missing (and/or) flooded tiles for 1 action.

biscuits409 wrote:
Also, can the navigator move the diver through sunken tiles?


The Navigator can move the Diver up to 2 adjacent tiles. The first tile may be missing. The second tile may not be missing because the Diver must end her turn on a tile.

When the Navigator moves the Explorer to adjacent spaces, he may move him diagonally.

The Navigator moves the Pilot to adjacent spaces like any other adventurer. (The Pilot can't take advantage of his special ability when the Navigator moves him.)

biscuits409 wrote:
Another question: If you draw a sandbag, can you use it before you draw from the flood deck?


Yes. You may play Sandbags and Helicopters at any time. Note, however, that you cannot play a Sandbag to flip over a flooded tile after you've *already* drawn a Flood card that would have you remove the tile.
79 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anson Bischoff
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Matt! It's awesome that you pay attention to the forums on your own game! I love all your games. (well actually all I have are forbidden island, pandemic + on the brink, and roll through the ages) But I love em all. Thanks for the info.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Leacock
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
designer
mb
You're welcome. Good questions.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Yozie
United States
Mill Valley
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a follow on question - can the diver "turn" through one or more flooded/sunken tiles that are adjacent, or does she have to go in a straight line? I was assuming the movement would have to be a straight line, but my wife pointed out that the wording on the card didn't prohibit turning onto other sunken/flooded spaces.

Thanks!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Bussick
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
You want to know something? I don't think Mozart's going to help at all.
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question. While we're at it, Matt, how about going outside of the board "boundaries" with the Diver? (It is an island, after all, right?) It can get hard to tell where the board boundaries are when the island is sinking. In this way, the Diver power seems to increase as the game goes on.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Leacock
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Ajax wrote:
Good question. While we're at it, Matt, how about going outside of the board "boundaries" with the Diver? (It is an island, after all, right?) It can get hard to tell where the board boundaries are when the island is sinking. In this way, the Diver power seems to increase as the game goes on.


Sorry, you can't go outside the board's boundaries -- the water's too deep!
22 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Yozie
United States
Mill Valley
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mleacock wrote:
Ajax wrote:
Good question. While we're at it, Matt, how about going outside of the board "boundaries" with the Diver? (It is an island, after all, right?) It can get hard to tell where the board boundaries are when the island is sinking. In this way, the Diver power seems to increase as the game goes on.


Sorry, you can't go outside the board's boundaries -- the water's too deep!


That's also good to know. But what about "turning" on flooded/sunken tiles within the board's boundaries? In other words, with the board setup:

xx
xxxx
xxxxxx
AFFSCx
xFSx
BB


where F are flooded tiles and S are Sunken tiles, could the diver go from A to either of the B tiles for one action, or is it only possible to go from A to C?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deb Wentworth
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I had exactly the same question after playing last night - so I hope we see the answer. To make it even simpler (our situation during play), can the diver go from A to B below (i.e., swim to a diagonal tile) or only from A to C?


X X X
A C X
B X X

Fun game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deb Wentworth
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
whoops, the blanks don't show up - duh. Try again, S=sunk

SSXX
ASCX
SBXX
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Leacock
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Yes, the Diver can change direction while moving through missing and flooded tiles.
33 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deb Wentworth
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Matt! Great to be able to appeal to the source.

(But I lost the bet.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deb Wentworth
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
New day, new question -

Mulling it over more (and without the rules in front of me) do I have this right:

If on a tile that sinks, the diver can swim through water to the *nearest* land, even if it means a diagonal move

however, for one action on his/her turn, the diver can swim through multiple sunken (or flooded?) tiles but only in the standard up/down/sideways directions (i.e. not diagonal).

From memory, the rules use the word "adjacent" in describing the diver's special action on his/her turn, and adjacent elsewhere in the rules means "next to", so would not include diagonal.

Do I have it right?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Leacock
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
designer
mb
debwentworth wrote:
New day, new question -
If on a tile that sinks, the diver can swim through water to the *nearest* land, even if it means a diagonal move


*Nearest* means the nearest tile -- it could be a few spaces away, in fact, if several tiles around his current tile have been removed.

debwentworth wrote:

however, for one action on his/her turn, the diver can swim through multiple sunken (or flooded?) tiles but only in the standard up/down/sideways directions (i.e. not diagonal).

Correct.

debwentworth wrote:

From memory, the rules use the word "adjacent" in describing the diver's special action on his/her turn, and adjacent elsewhere in the rules means "next to", so would not include diagonal.


I think the thing to remember is that the Diver makes orthogonal moves. On dry land, he moves up/down/left/right to an adjacent tile. On flooded tiles and missing spaces, he does the same, but can make a series of such moves.

(One edit for spelling.)
23 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Yozie
United States
Mill Valley
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clarifying this. It's great being able to get a definitive answer from the source!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Taylor
United States
Redondo Beach
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another quick diver question i was waiting to see if it was asked/answered here. Can the diver only land on dry land or dry/flooded land, so long as there is a tile?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sanders
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Braffe wrote:
Another quick diver question i was waiting to see if it was asked/answered here. Can the diver only land on dry land or dry/flooded land, so long as there is a tile?


I am pretty sure that as long as there is a tile to stand on (dry or flooded) ANY of the adventurers can end their turn on them.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Taylor
United States
Redondo Beach
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I assumed that, but the wording of the diver to move through flooded/sunk parts of the island led me to believe he could only move through and not stop at a flooded area,...at least with his ability.

I did not know he could change directions which is really neat to know.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Binning
United States
Rollinsville
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I am pretty sure that as long as there is a tile to stand on (dry or flooded) ANY of the adventurers can end their turn on them.



Quote:
Thanks, I assumed that, but the wording of the diver to move through flooded/sunk parts of the island led me to believe he could only move through and not stop at a flooded area,...at least with his ability.


I think this is covered on page 7, under "Pawns on Flooded Tiles":

"If a pawn is on a tile that must be removed, it must immediately "swim" to an adjacent tile (up, down, left, or right) that is still part of the island (even flooded)."

I'm thinking this allowance for landing on flooded tiles would also extend to normal movement not involving a removed tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Glassco
United States
Charlottesville
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
OK, here's a more existential question about the Diver.

I can just barely conceive of a time when he might use his ability twice in the same turn (go across a gap, grab a treasure, and go back). That doesn't seem very likely, though -- only one game in a dozen, maybe. In every other situation, isn't the Pilot just all around better?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Krajewski
United States
Fitchburg
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BruceGee wrote:
OK, here's a more existential question about the Diver.

I can just barely conceive of a time when he might use his ability twice in the same turn (go across a gap, grab a treasure, and go back). That doesn't seem very likely, though -- only one game in a dozen, maybe. In every other situation, isn't the Pilot just all around better?

The diver doesn't die if he's on a tile that sinks and isn't adjacent to another tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Peters
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
It's time to go Full Chort.
badge
‎"NO FATE BUT THE NARRATIVES WE IMPOSE ON LIFE'S RANDOM CHAOS TO DISTRACT OURSELVES FROM OUR EXISTENTIAL PLIGHT"
mbmbmbmbmb
mkrajew wrote:
BruceGee wrote:
In every other situation, isn't the Pilot just all around better?

The diver doesn't die if he's on a tile that sinks and isn't adjacent to another tile.
Neither does the pilot. On page 7 of the rules, under exceptions at the very bottom of the page, when talking about what happens to a pawn on a tile that needs to be removed, it says "The Pilot may fly to any tile."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Galaxy is Just Packed!
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
BruceGee wrote:
OK, here's a more existential question about the Diver.

I can just barely conceive of a time when he might use his ability twice in the same turn (go across a gap, grab a treasure, and go back). That doesn't seem very likely, though -- only one game in a dozen, maybe. In every other situation, isn't the Pilot just all around better?


But the Diver can use his ability more than one time per turn (three times in fact) while the Pilot can only use his ability once per turn.

The Diver becomes much more valuable later in the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Jamer
Canada
Fredericton
NB
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Even though the diver can use his ability multiple times in one turn, the only case where that is useful would be if he wants to to swim, do an action (shore up, claim treasure, trade card), and then swim again to a different location. There are times when that could be really useful, but over the course of the game I suspect that the Pilot is simply a better option - especially since you don't need to wait for adjacent tiles to sink or flood before his ability comes into effect.


I don't really believe that special powers in this game are evenly balanced. However, because they are all interesting and useful in some situations, a slight imbalance doesn't hurt the game at all.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Kane
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
They'll tell you black is really white The moon is just the sun at night.
badge
And when you walk in golden halls You get to keep the gold that falls It's Heaven and Hell
mbmbmbmbmb
I recently acquired this game and played it three times last weekend, all were three player games. We had the diver in one game and the pilot in another game. I was very eager to play the pilot since I assumed he would be very good but it turned out they were quite balanced. The diver was able to make use of the swim-action-swim combo several times. More often than not I didn't really have a great use for flying across the board with the pilot. He was useful to reach a remote treasure piece but no better than the diver would have been.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.