$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Defenders of the Realm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question regarding Suffering Wounds at the "end of a turn" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Chiu
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi! I did some searches but couldn't track down this clarification.
I would like to find out *when* a Hero "ends his/her turn".

Does this occur after all actions are played/passed during Step 1 - Daytime
OR
Is does the Hero's turn officially end after Step 3 - Night

The reason I ask is I've run into a situation where Darkness Spreads cards have caused overrun, which ended up placing minions in a space with the current Hero (where there weren't any).

I presume then that the end of turn takes place after Step 3 - Night, and all wounds from minions takes place then? But that doesn't seem right, since damage from the General occurs immediately after failing to defeat him (which transports Heroes to Monarch City and would negate possible minion wounds after Step 3)...

In any case, I'm guessing we're either supposed to take damage from Minions after Step 1 and ignore minions placed after Step 3, or only sort out Minion damage after Step 3.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Knepper
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I'm guessing we're either supposed to take damage from Minions after Step 1 and ignore minions placed after Step 3


That would be my guess also.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Bridge
United States
Roanoke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, wounds are assessed at the end of Daytime (phase 1), not after Night.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Quinn
United States
Bradley
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that, or a very similar question was asked earlier. You've got the gist of it.

By the way, that is also what the rules suggest, but perhaps in a slightly obscured way.

On page 5 you have "Playing the Game" and under that "Step 1- Daytime" followed by several pages of rules concerning the daytime portion of your turn.

On page 10 you have "Step 2 - Evening" followed by "Step 3 - Night".

The rules about suffering wounds from minions is located on page 7, right in the middle of "Step 1 - Daytime" rules. Its just easy to forget you are still under that main heading because it is several pages long.

So, the wounds are taken at the end of the daytime portion of your turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Defenders of the Realm » Forums » Rules
Re: Question regarding Suffering Wounds at the "end of a turn"
Yes - Wounds are suffered at the end of your actions - the end of the Daytime Phase of play and prior to drawing Darkness Spreads cards. If Minions appear on your location by a Darkness Spreads card, you do not suffer wounds to them.

Thanks for playing.

Richard
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Chiu
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everybody for the quick replies.

It's intuitive really (like many of your suggested as Suffering Wounds is listed under the Day step), but just wanted to make sure (it makes things really scary if undead overrun into your space at Night)

Loving this game,

Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.