Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
26 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BANG! Wild West Show» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some answers to rules questions from the publisher rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I posted some questions and possible corrections about BANG! Wild West Show to the publisher, dV Giochi, and they emailed back with the answers a few days later. I like that responsiveness! Here are the questions and answers:


Q: Rules and Notes. You refer to the "Diligence" card, but the "Diligenza" card is called "Stagecoach" in English.
A: This is an oversight. You can download the corrected rules in our website: http://www.dvgiochi.com/download.cfm


Q: Gregory Deck. Can Vera Custer copy him? During Sbornia/Hangover, must he discard his drawn characters, or just ignore them?
A: Yes, Vera Custer can copy Gregory Deck. During Hangover the characters just lose their special abilities, so you don't have to discard them.


Q: Bavaglio/Gag. Is sign language forbidden?
A: As the card says players may not talk but they can gesture, moan... So sign language is not forbidden.


Q: Regolamento di Conti/Showdown. "como se fossero" should be translated "as if they were". The "if" was omitted both times.
A: Our mother-tongue translator asserts that "if" in this case can be omitted. Anyway we will take your suggestion in account for the reprint.


Q: Sacagaway / Sacagaway. The English form of her name is "Sacagawea".
A: We know the English form of her name but, as you can see from the other cards, we never used the characters real names.


Q: Dorothy Rage. This card is ambiguous, and the Notes don't answer all questions. Are we supposed to name a specific card the other player must play? Without looking at their hand first? If they don't have the card, then what? This can only be done once per turn, right?
A: With Dorothy Rage each player can name a specific card the other player as to play, without looking at their hand. If the forced player does not have the called card, he must show his hand. Yes, this can be done once per turn.
I hope I've been of some help. For any further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact us.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kalapis Gábor
Hungary
flag msg tools
Hello !
We have played bang since 2 years.
I just bought wild west show and sometimes we got John Pain.
We usually play with 4-5 people. And he is so strong someone doest get a chance to get more cards. This is no fair . Maybe we just misunderstand the ability of the character. So can you explain a little bit more please ? I'd be honored by your answer.
If the following player draws its obvious that he has to give hi cards to jon pain. So is he that strong ? or our english/italian is that bad ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cylonbasestar88 wrote:
Hello !
We have played bang since 2 years.
I just bought wild west show and sometimes we got John Pain.
We usually play with 4-5 people. And he is so strong someone doest get a chance to get more cards. This is no fair . Maybe we just misunderstand the ability of the character. So can you explain a little bit more please ? I'd be honored by your answer.
If the following player draws its obvious that he has to give hi cards to jon pain. So is he that strong ? or our english/italian is that bad ?

I think you are being confused about the word "Draw". It is used two ways in the Bang rules:

1. The act of taking new cards from the deck to add to your hand at the start of your turn. In these cases, "Draw" is a translation of the word "Pescare" in Italian.

2. The act of flipping the top card of the deck to look at its poker symbol to see if another card -- e.g. Barrel, Dynamite, Jail -- takes effect; the card is normally discarded. In these cases, "Draw!" is a translation of the Italian word "Estrarre!"

Two things can help you tell the difference: whether it has an exclamation point (!), and comparing it to the Italian.

The John Pain card says:
Quote:
Se ha meno di 6 carte in mano, quando un giocatore "estrae!", John aggiunge all mano la carta appena estratta.

If he has less than 6 cards in hand, each time any player "draws!", John adds the card just drawn to his hand.

By both clues, we see that John only gets the cards flipped to check on Jail, Barrel, and other such cards -- not every card that everyone else draws to put in their hands.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kalapis Gábor
Hungary
flag msg tools
Thank you so much for your help. we played bang today too and someone got that character that draws 2 another character and gets their ability. and of them was john again. Now we can play with john at least. Thank yout really. By the way we love this GAME !!!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cylonbasestar88 wrote:
Thank you so much for your help. we played bang today too and someone got that character that draws 2 another character and gets their ability. and of them was john again. Now we can play with john at least. Thank yout really. By the way we love this GAME !!!!!


Uh, then you did that incorrectly. Read the rules on those 2 card inserts again. For Gregory Deck, it says he can ONLY choose from the original "BANG" characters. So, he shouldn't have been able to use John Pain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dimitri Tiago
Canada
Dorval
Quebec
flag msg tools
Hi, I played this expansion last weekend and noticed an issue that seems like a design flaw. The Wild West Show cards are only activated when a Stagecoach or Wells Fargo is used. However, there are not enough of these cards to ever get to the Wild West Show card. Is this really the case? Or am I doing something wrong? (I own Bang! The Bullet and played with the Dodge City expansion).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cor22bas wrote:
Hi, I played this expansion last weekend and noticed an issue that seems like a design flaw. The Wild West Show cards are only activated when a Stagecoach or Wells Fargo is used. However, there are not enough of these cards to ever get to the Wild West Show card. Is this really the case? Or am I doing something wrong? (I own Bang! The Bullet and played with the Dodge City expansion).

I haven't had the chance to play with it yet, but I do not regard this as a design flaw. The opposite situation would be a flaw, IMO -- you keep getting to the WWS card before the game runs out.

If you would want to see the WWS card in most games, tweak the number of cards you have before it. Instead of 15 cards, use 10, or 8, or whatever.

This is similar to the previous expansions, High Noon and A Fistful of Cards. They're just like Wild West Show, except that the card changes at the start of the Sheriff's turn. The rules for those expansions said you could combine them, and adjust the number of cards, for a long or shorter game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dimitri Tiago
Canada
Dorval
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am not sure I agree. The reason is the following, you would need to always adjust the number of cards in the Wild West Show expansion to ever reach the Wild West Show card. This seems a little like a patch in order to reach the Wild West Show card. In the other expansions, there was always a chance of reaching the last card. The only way I see this expansion working is if you use a house rule to draw a Wild West Show card. If you get a chance to try the expansion I would be interested in hearing your thoughts.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BANG! Wild West Show » Forums » Rules
Re: Some answers to rules questions from the publisher
I've sent several other sets of questions to the publisher (daVinci Games), some of them based on issues raised in other threads here. Here is a compilation of the answers:

Q: Pat Brennan. Right now it says, "He may draw only one card in play in front of any one player." I think it would be better to say,
"Instead of drawing, he may take one card in play in front of any one player." This is a much better translation from the Italian: "Invece di pescare, puo prendere una carta in gioco di fronte a un giocatore". And it is much easier to understand. The current English version left me with several questions.
A: Thanks again for your suggestions.
[Edit: Oops! This is a card from BANG! Dodge City. But I'll leave it here anyway.]

Q: Flint Westwood. Does he use his ability once per turn, once per opponent per turn, or something else? (It says "Nel suo turno", not "Una volta per turno", so I am not sure.)
A: Once per turn.

Q: Dorothy Rage. Can a player use this ability once per turn, once per opponent per turn, or something else?
A: Once per turn.

Q: Lady Rose of Texas. Can a player use this ability just once per turn, or more often?
A: Once per turn.

Q: Lady Rose of Texas (and Dorothy Rage). Can this card be used at any point in the turn? For example, can Willy the Kid Bang! the player on his left, switch seats to the right, and then Bang! the player on his right?
A: Yes, Lady Rose of Texas (and Dorothy Rage) can be used at any point in the turn.

Q: Lady Rose of Texas. Is there a limit to the number of times this can be used in a row? For example, if the game is down to two players, one of them could keep swapping places and the other would never get a turn. Even with the Sheriff and 2 or 3 Outlaws, the Outlaws could keep swapping with the Sheriff and never let him get a turn.
A: The card was intended to be played a maximum of N times where N is the number of players currently in the game.

Q: Shootout. There are questions about how this interacts with player abilities:
- Calamity Janet. Shootout gives everyone the same ability as her, but even better.
- Willy the Kid. If he goes into a Shootout with a lot of cards, he can get an enormous advantage; the same is true if a person has a Volcanic (though its range is only 1).
- Suzy Lafayette. If she has a Volcanic card during a Shootout, she can keep drawing new cards and using them as Bang!s until she kills all the other players, if she wants.
Should there be some way to limit these situations??
A: About your questions: please consider that unpredictability is a BANG! feature and it is part of his style. We want BANG! to be characterized by two sides: strategy (bluff) and luck. Characters in Wild West Show are powerful, and sometimes the interactions between two of them can be "lethal" for the opponents, but we think this "chance component" is what makes this expansion so crazy and exhilarating!
Have fun with BANG!


I must say I am still impressed with daVinci's responsiveness. Some of these answers came back a week or more after I posted them, but they were all answered fairly quickly.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kalapis Gábor
Hungary
flag msg tools
Can Chuck Wengam lose more than 1 life to use his ability ?
Because this would mean that for a whisky and a beer he can draw 6 cards ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure in the rules it specifies that he can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Thatcher
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cor22bas wrote:
Hi, I played this expansion last weekend and noticed an issue that seems like a design flaw. The Wild West Show cards are only activated when a Stagecoach or Wells Fargo is used. However, there are not enough of these cards to ever get to the Wild West Show card. Is this really the case? Or am I doing something wrong? (I own Bang! The Bullet and played with the Dodge City expansion).


There may not be enough of those cards to go through the entire set of Wild West Show cards in a single run through the deck, but you shuffle the discard pile and use it as the draw pile when you run out of the draw pile. There will always be a chance to go through the entire set of Wild West Show cards as long as no one wins the game before that happens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P C
msg tools
When you swap with Lady of Texas... do you swap with the dead? Or just the living?

And does activating a green card (eg. Knife) counts as one of the three cards when Ms. S is in play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
heruka16 wrote:
When you swap with Lady of Texas... do you swap with the dead? Or just the living?

Interesting question: If we have players A B C D E, and C is dead, would B swap with C or D? I'm sure the intent is to swap with the living, otherwise it has no effect. So, the result would be A C D B E.

Quote:
And does activating a green card (eg. Knife) counts as one of the three cards when Ms. S is in play?

Activating a green card doesn't count as a play normally, so not with Miss Susanna, either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Posted elsewhere by Barliman, but it answers questions in this thread:

http://www.emilianosciarra.net/ENG/wild_west_show-2.html
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a question about interaction between a number of different cards.

Let's say you're Gregory Deck ("At the start of his turn, he may draw 2 characters at random. He has all of their abilities"), and one of your characters has been Suzy Lafayette ("As soon as she has no cards in hand, she draws a card").

If Deck has dynamite and/or jail in front of him, do you check both of those first before seeing if he can switch his character cards?

What if WWS Darling Valentine ("At the start of his turn, each player discards his hand and draws the same number of cards from the deck") is in play? Does Deck do his ability before of after Darling Val? Does Suzy's ability trigger when you discard your hand for Darling Val?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmb
Sappington wrote:
What if WWS Darling Valentine ("At the start of his turn, each player discards his hand and draws the same number of cards from the deck") is in play?... Does Suzy's ability trigger when you discard your hand for Darling Val?


I'd say Suzy does NOT get the extra card, the reason being there is no 'pause' between discarding and drawing.
Compare with Suzy having one card in hand, and that card is a Stagecoach (or Wells Fargo, or Panic, or...). Suzy plays the Stagecoach, and draws 2 cards, ending with 2 cards in hand. There is no pause between playing the Stagecoach and getting the effect for her to draw for being empty handed.
Playing and using the Stagecoach is all one 'action', WWS Darline Valentine is also one 'action', so she would not get an extra card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Me
United States
Bowling Green
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I look at Dynamite and Jail as just BEFORE your turn. Deck's ability is right after that at the start of the turn.

If two things happen simultaneously, I'd let the player whose turn it is decide the order, so Deck can change characters & do the Darling Val in either order he wishes.

Suzy never sees anyone with no cards in hand. There are no "state effects" or "trigger abilities" that get responded to in this game, except perhaps losing your last life and drinking a beer in response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Me
United States
Bowling Green
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I sent a question in myself:

In "regolamento di Conti" aka "Showdown", can the cards be used ONLY as BANG! and Missed! cards or can they also be used as their original ability?

In "regolamento di conti" the cards can also be used as their original ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kalapis Gábor
Hungary
flag msg tools
Hi all again !
I have a quetion about Dorothy rage and Darling Valentine
What happens when Valentine is in play ? Do i draw 2 cards normally ?
And if i dont draw and i dont have cards how can i discard ?
How does Dorothy works ? Like : Jack play a bang against Mary , what happens if Jack doesnt have a bang ? Can i order someone else ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cylonbasestar88 wrote:
Hi all again !
I have a quetion about Dorothy rage and Darling Valentine
What happens when Valentine is in play ? Do i draw 2 cards normally ?
And if i dont draw and i dont have cards how can i discard ?
How does Dorothy works ? Like : Jack play a bang against Mary , what happens if Jack doesnt have a bang ? Can i order someone else ?


You discard/redraw your hand, THEN draw 2 cards to continue your turn.

If your command for Dorothy Rage isn't valid, then you've wasted your chance and don't get another one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You know, that WWS FAQ on Sciarra's website says this:

Quote:
D32. What happens if Flint Westwood uses his ability with the last card of Suzy Lafayette (or the last two cards)?

R. Simply, Suzy gives all the card in his hand to Flint Westwood (either one or two), then he draws another card since she remained with no cards in her hand.


But that doesn't sound right. Once Flint's ability resolved, Suzy would have the card in hand received from Flint, so she shouldn't be drawing. Just like she doesn't draw in the middle of a Stagecoach or Duel.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Me
United States
Bowling Green
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They have other inconsistencies, but this seems like a big one. Maybe it's lost in translation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Tychy
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Turn order:
-WWS/Fistful/Hign Noon card is always first!
-Dynamite
-Jail
-Character ability ("at the begining of your turn...")
-Drawing 2 cards (or character ability "instead of drawing 2 cards...")
Sappington wrote:
You know, that WWS FAQ on Sciarra's website says this:

Quote:
D32. What happens if Flint Westwood uses his ability with the last card of Suzy Lafayette (or the last two cards)?

R. Simply, Suzy gives all the card in his hand to Flint Westwood (either one or two), then he draws another card since she remained with no cards in her hand.


But that doesn't sound right. Once Flint's ability resolved, Suzy would have the card in hand received from Flint, so she shouldn't be drawing. Just like she doesn't draw in the middle of a Stagecoach or Duel.

You don't understand the ability of Flint! He doesn't give this cards to another player. "Trade" means "discard one card and steal 2 from any player".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zach Gassman
United States
flag msg tools
Does talking in gibberish count as talking when there is a bavaglio in play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.