Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Guardians of Graxia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Guardians of Graxia Q&A Update rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
Guardians of Graxia Q&A Update

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/557285/more-questions-about-guardia...

Q1: How many cards can be played on a given turn?

A: Unless the rules for a scenario state otherwise, there isn't a specific limit beyond the limit of ones hand count, mana costs, etc.

Q2: Is the Guardian's ability to summon "behind" them only directly behind them or on any row behind them?

A: The Guardian can summon units on any adjacent tile to themselves or on your home row. You must pay the entire cost of the unit. You also may Summon a unit for a cost of 7 less mana, once per your phasing round, directly behind the tile(s) of the Guardian. This is called Guardian Summoning. Terrain restrictions apply. For example you can not summon an Elf unit on a Mountain tile.

Q3: Will a non-player unit with a ranged attack who is adjacent to a player unit prioritize melee attacking or ranged damage?

A: Non-Player ranged units will use their range ability unless there is an enemy unit adjacent to them. If there is an enemy unit adjacent to their tile they will attack with melee.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/561694/a-question

Q4: What are the round "Battle" tokens for?

The battle tokens are used to track when either player uses a Battle Ability during the Battle Phase. It eliminates the confusion that may come about when calculating the Battle Values from spell cards for each players turn.

Q5: Do Guardians start in play, or are they shuffled in, drawn, and summoned normally? If they start in play, where do they start, in your home row?

A: The Guardians are selected by each player before the start of the game. The youngest player chooses first. Scenarios will sometimes specify a Guardian(s). After the Guardians are selected the remaining 4 Guardians are put aside separate from any spell or unit cards and cannot be brought into the game at any time. Each player will then place their Guardian on their home row face up. The player also places his or her Guardian miniature on their card.

Q6: Except for starting units, does each player start with a Mana total of 0, or a Mana Total based on their controlled tiles?

After placing the Guardians, each player will draw 10 cards from the top of either their unit deck or the community unit deck. Each player is awarded 30 mana to spend on summoning their starting units and then places these selected units face down either on their home row or an adjacent tile to their Guardian.

Units cannot be placed on tiles they are restricted from entering. (Mountain Tiles have movement restrictions). The remaining unit cards are reshuffled into the appropriate unit decks and all the unit cards placed on the board are flipped face up. Any mana remaining is lost.

Each player then selects 4 unit cards and 4 spell cards from the top of either their specific decks or the community deck. This is their stating hand. The youngest player decides who will go 1st. The player going 1st will receive 10 starting mana the player going 2nd will receive 20 starting mana. Unless otherwise determined by the scenario rules.

Q7: Flist Rhiannon Mivior has Spell Mastery. During her turn her Hand Limit increases by 2. Does this mean she always has a hand size of 15, or that at the beginning of the turn her hand size is 13 and at the end of the turn (after this passive command ability activates) that she has a hand size of 15?

A: When using the Guardian Flist the player will increase their hand limit 2 cards for the length of either the game or until the guardian is removed from the board. For example, if the hand limit determined is 13 then the total hand limit for the Player using Flist is 15 but is Flist is eliminated from the board then the players hand limit will go down to 13. If the player is at a hand limit of 15 cards they must discard 2 cards, of their choice, from their hand.

Q8: During the Mana Collection phase a player removes "all markers on the map, as appropriate". Does this means all markers of all kinds are removed from all units and tiles controlled by all players?

The phase player will remove all marks associated with their unit’s actions during that round. Shields, Control Markers, Stuns and Wounds all stay in place. The markers are used to keep track of your actions during your Round.

Q9: The rules says that Shields are "always removed if the enemy moves for any reason or cause". I have a unit on the far left side of the map which is Shielded. The enemy moves an unrelated unit on the far right of the map. Does this remove all my Shields all over the board?

Shields work as a defensive mechanic in the game. A unit can move and then apply a shield but take no further actions. If that unit moves the next round the shield is removed because of the movement action. Now that the unit has only moved they can either re-apply their shield or attack an enemy unit. The shield is only removed if that specific unit is either moved on its own, is moved by the enemy, if they use a Command ability, or if the unit takes 3 or more wounds from Command ability like a ranged attack or spell card.

Q10: When a thrown unit lands do units adjacent to the landing unit take damage or units adjacent to the throwing unit?

All the units adjacent to the landing unit’s tile location take damage, including the thrown unit. Also, if the thrown unit has not preformed any of its actions it still may do so. If the thrown unit was shielded the shield is removed.

Q11: Flist Rhiannon Mivior has an ability ("Elf Essence") that works during the "Defensive Card Buying Phase". Is there a "Defensive Card Buying" phase, and if so, when is it?

A: The defensive card buying phase is at the end of your offensive command phase. You will end your turn, count up the mana acquired from your controlled tiles, the other player will draw their free card(s), then both players have the opportunity to buy additional cards for 5 mana each. This will be the process for every round after the 1st.

Q12: Guardians avoid all damage during the Command Phase. Attacks, by default, occur during the Command Phase as part of a Command Phase Attack Action. Logically then, Guardians are immune to attack Damage. Is it that Units that are immune to damage in the Command Phase still can take Attack damage?

A: When you choose to Attack any unit with another unit you enter into the Battle Phase where Guardians can be wounded.

The Guardians themselves cannot be wounded during the command phase by any command phase abilities or spell cards such as Ranged Attacks, Hell Storm, Wild Fire or even Rumble Tumble. However the Guardians can be targeted so Command Phase attacks that have an Area of Affect damage (splash damage) associated with them can damage units adjacent to the Guardian but the Guardian takes no wounds. We created this game mechanic so players wouldn’t lose their Guardian from a mass amount of ranged attacks.

The Guardian can only be eliminated during the Battle Phase. This includes taking damage from the spell card Chain Lightning when supporting a Battle. The eliminated Guardian goes directly back into the players hand and can be summoned on the home row only, unless otherwise determined by the use of spell cards or the scenario rules.

Q13: Is there a "Defensive Card Buying" phase, and if so, when is it?

A: The defensive card buying phase is at the end of your offensive command phase. You will end your turn, count up the mana acquired from your controlled tiles, the other player will draw their free card(s), then both players have the opportunity to buy additional cards for 5 mana each. This will be the process for every round after the 1st.

Q14: In Solo Scenario #1 the left column says that Talon and Ebon are placed on turn 2. In the right column it says they are placed during the third turn. Which is it?

A: It is during the 3rd turn.

Q15: Is the Guardian's ability to summon "behind" them only directly behind them or on any row behind them?

A: The Guardian can summon units on any adjacent tile to themselves or on your home row. You must pay the entire cost of the unit. You also may Summon a unit for a cost of 7 less mana, once per your phasing round, directly behind the tile(s) of the Guardian. This is called Guardian Summoning. Terrain restrictions apply. For example you can not summon an Elf unit on a Mountain tile.

Q16: If a unit cannot make any more unit actions (because of a game effect), can they still receive movement and attack actions from a spell or other game effect (provided that they don't get more than one extra move action per turn)?

A: Yes, a unit is able to perform whatever action the spell card represents even if they are stunned or have used up all their actions for the round. You can not however use the same spell card on a unit twice in the same round.

Example: If you use a units Command Ability to range attack your enemy you can use the Scout card to move that unit 2 tiles still. Same rule applies if you get into a battle and after the sacrifice phase both units are still alive. You may play Frenzy on your unit to give them another attack action.

Q17: What happens if I exceed 13 cards in play?

A: You have to discard by choice down to 13, though you cannot discard your Bluff card.

Q18: According to pg. 15 - Move Unit Cards and Battle, it implies that the player has to move his units in a certain order. Is this correct?

A: This is only for the Non-Player Units. The player can move and or attack with his or her units freely as they wish.

Q19: Can I have more than one move or attack through abilities/spells, outside a standard move/attack action?

A: Each unit has a default 1 movement and/or attack action. If the unit uses a Command ability to move, gain mana, stealth, heal, ETC (see page 4 Command Abilities) they relinquish this movement action because they used their special ability. Whenever a spell card is used the information on the card is played out regardless of the actions that the unit has preformed. Also, if the card is played before the unit moves they still can use their default actions.

You can also use a movement spell card and an attack spell card on the same unit.

Q20: What is the difference between Range and Siege attacks? Can Ulmar's Iron Dragons use their siege ability only on cities, villages and Castles, or may they attack any unit within reach?

A: The Siege attack is the only Command Phase Special attack that can fire into Castle Tiles. Missile attacks can not. Also there are spell cards that can not be used on Siege units. (Tower of Lost Legion)

-Page 11, Step 3: Sacrifice a Spell Card...

"The attacking player decides to sacrifice the Spell card “Scout” for a Battle Value Modifier of 3. They decide to use the Battle Modifier in defense thereby decreasing their opponent’s BV. The defending player places the “Scout” Spell card in front of the Bluff card."

Q21: Page 14, Two Player Scenario #5, should this be changed to "attacker"?

A: Yes, you're correct

Q22: There is a contradiction between the second and third paragraphs. Both refer to Flist and list the same tiles, but with a different Mana amount. Should one of them should refer to Shadd?

A: That's correct, there's a bit of a copy-over of the paragraphs.

Q23: Can a unit can re-attack if the battle was canceled by Quick Strike?

A: A unit cannot re-attack on the same turn if the battle was canceled. They had their attack move already.

Q24: Can we shield an unit before it take wounds? Or Heal before fatal damage?

A: Units can be shielded before combat, though they may be able to take out of damage combat before you get you turn to apply a shield. The enemy may be able to destroy a unit as well before you get to shield. Take care!!

Q25: Wild swing: The damage is done at the end of battle like acid claws?

A: The attacker's damage is calculated at the end of your phase of combat. After you deal damage, the enemy gets a chance to retaliate and deal damage to you.

Q26: When do you receive Mana?

A: You receive Mana at the end of your turn.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony DuLac
United States
Blaine
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Guardians of Graxia » Forums » Rules
Re: Guardians of Graxia Q&A Update - Part 1
This doesn't directly answer the question about how many cards players can play in battle. (Not trying to nitpick, just pointing that out.)

Thank you, Mathew, for posting this!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
Re: Guardians of Graxia Q&A Update - Part 1
wytefang wrote:
This doesn't directly answer the question about how many cards players can play in battle. (Not trying to nitpick, just pointing that out.)

Thank you, Mathew, for posting this!


Np, with so many questions we might have overlooked that part. As for a limit during battle, there really isn't any except for your available deck count, mana costs, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen N.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the faq.
You might want to clean it up a bit though, as some questions appear twice in the document!

The ruling below runs contrary to the written rules. Could you please confirm whether we are supposed to follow the rule book or this answer?
Berek Halfhand wrote:

Q: Guardians avoid all damage during the Command Phase. Attacks, by default, occur during the Command Phase as part of a Command Phase Attack Action. Logically then, Guardians are immune to attack Damage. Is it that Units that are immune to damage in the Command Phase still can take Attack damage?

A: When you choose to Attack any unit with another unit you enter into the Battle Phase where Guardians can be wounded.

The Guardians themselves cannot be wounded during the command phase by any command phase abilities or spell cards such as Ranged Attacks, Hell Storm, Wild Fire or even Rumble Tumble. However the Guardians can be targeted so Command Phase attacks that have an Area of Affect damage (splash damage) associated with them can damage units adjacent to the Guardian but the Guardian takes no wounds. We created this game mechanic so players wouldn’t lose their Guardian from a mass amount of ranged attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
Sorry about that, I got a bit carried away when I used BBCode for the editing, it ended up doubling up some. Should be clear now, though let me know if there's any other inconsistencies please.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Signore
Italy
Napoli
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello there,
I just bought the game, I found a copule of threads about manual and errata, and so I still have some questions.

First: question 22 has no answer (if you read it, you'll find that there is no answer to which paragraph refers to Flist and which actually refers to Shadd.

Second: I'm a bit confused about which manual I should refer to. The one from my box is from April 2010, and the upload on BGG is dated june 2010. Now, in the pdf manual there are some typos which are not in my printed copy; there is one Unit Ability missing (Arcane Knowledge), and there is some more confusion in the two player scenario 5.

So, which manual is correct??? Please help!

thanks

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
Hi Marco!

Great to see that you are trying out one of our games. Happy to help answer your questions here.

Can you copy here what Question 22 is? I'm afraid I don't quite understand the question on this one.

The uploaded one did have some tweaks we were able to make that print would naturally be out of date on. Please reference the downloadable one. Apologies about the typos . If you want to send us a list of these, I'd be happy to pass it on to the designers to add into a future revision!

Hope this helps!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Signore
Italy
Napoli
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,
thanks for the quick reply-
This is question 22:

Q22: There is a contradiction between the second and third paragraphs. Both refer to Flist and list the same tiles, but with a different Mana amount. Should one of them should refer to Shadd?

A: That's correct, there's a bit of a copy-over of the paragraphs.

so, which paragraph refers to Flist and which to Shadd?

OK for the manual, I'll follow the pdf one!

mk
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.