$10.00
Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
52 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Heroes of Graxia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Heroes of Graxia Q&A Update rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
UPDATE: We've updated the Q&A with the second part! Please see below:

PART 2

Q1: The damage reduced in combat is 5. And it said that I can use in up to 3 units. May I distribute 5 in 3 units or heal 3 units with 5??

A: When the end of combat occurs, you add up all of your attack and defense. You would then also take into account the reduction in damage and subtract that from the damage total.

Q2: Suppose I am attacked and I use 4 of the 5 cards in my hand to defend myself. When it comes around to my next turn, am I just stuck with the one card and two actions, or do I get to pick up other cards?

A: The official rules are you draw cards at the end of the turn and replenish cards as necessary at the beginning of combat as the defender.

You can optionally draw cards at the beginning of your turn if agreed upon at the start of the game.

Q3: With the above rule, couldn't the use of mulligans be abused?

A: Using mulligans with this alternate rule can be an exploit, which players can disallow if they wish. A way to contain this would be to stipulate that once you mulligan it is as if you had five cards and would be unable to draw more at the beginning of your nextturn.

Q4: Scratch gives you a reward that allows a purchase that is "up to" an amount of Gold. Grax allowa a purchase "for a total cost of". Is this the same, or am I forced to purchase that exact amount of gold in cards?

A: The two phrases essentially mean the same thing, "up to"... the latter cards you suggested do state this, but give a card count component to it.

http://geekdo.com/thread/561235/lots-of-questions-about-card...

Q5: Do cards like Innervate and Fervent target a specific Unit when they are played or do they add to the overall attack/defense of the Legion?

A: They do not add to a target unit's attack or defense.

Q6: Can I pick up a unit without equipment, but with wounds for 1 action? If so, are the wounds discarded? Does this allow you to pick up a wounded unit, and place it back into your legion for 2 actions and eliminate its wounds?

A: Yes, removing a unit will remove its Wounds. It may also be done in a single turn for two actions.

Q7: If a unit is removed from combat (say by "Flee") and an "area of effect" spell like "Hell Storm" is played on that Unit's Legion in combat, does the unit that was removed from Combat still take damage from "Hell Storm" (since the damage is applied to all the opposing Legion's units)?

A: Yes, units that are targeted by a spell suffer the effect regardless if they are in combat or not.

Q8: When there is a choice about which unit is affected by a Spell (like "Trap of Misery"), does the player controlling the spell choose the targets?

A: Yes, the player that casts a spell will choose the targeted unit unless the rules there say otherwise.

Q9: I'm player #1. I have three units in my legion. I play a spell in combat. My opponent plays flee on one of my units. How many spells can I play now, one more or two more?

A: One more spell may be cast unless the player plays a Mercenary.

Q10: If Flee causes an opponent's Army to be discarded outside of combat does it score prestige for the Spellcaster? Does this count as "killing" the Unit in question?

A: No, it does not count as a "kill".

Q11: Can Magic Shield really cancel ANY card that has just been played. Last turn my Hero was killed. On my next turn I play my hero. Can my opponent actually cancel my Hero? Does this count as my hero being destroyed? Does it award Prestige?

A: Heroes may not be canceled. This is the ONLY exception.

Q12: I have a wounded Henchman. I swap in another Henchman. Do the wounds go away or does the new Henchman inherit them?

A: Wounds will away go away when a unit leaves play.

Q14: When you swap a Henchman from hand with one on the table, does the previously tabled Henchman go into your hand and is not discarded immediately?

A: The Henchmen goes into the player's hand and may be used for Gold.

Q15: What's the difference between healing allowed in combat vs. healing only outside of combat?

A: Healing "In Combat" allows units to be saved from direct damage spells.

Q16: Does a player with no units on the board still technically have a "Legion" for the purposes of attacking that player?

A: No, players with no units, or Heroes, may not be attacked.

Q17: I have three units in my legion and I enter combat. My opponent first plays Volos Flamebringer and then later plays Flee on one of my units removing it from combat. Does Volos reduce my attack by 3 (the total number of units actually in my Legion) or by 2 (the total number of units actually attacking in my Legion)?

A: Volos will subtract attack power for each unit in the player's Legion, unless Volo's card says that it only applies for every unit "In Combat".

Q18: What is the timing on Lord Vezin's heal effect? Does he heal all at once at a specific time or does he heal in response to each individual burst of damage (i.e., per spell AND per attack exchange)?

A: (Updated on 11/30/2010) Vezin can heal at any time during the battle sequence and also just before a fatal wound is delivered.

http://geekdo.com/thread/558651/swapping-henchmen

Q19: If I am going to use the swapping henchmen action, and the henchman on the table has equipment on it, do I need to take the equipment back before the swap?

A: No, Equipment stays.

http://geekdo.com/thread/557306/victory-vs-prestige-points

Q20: Broxin gets +1 VP when he kills an opposing legion's unit - how is this recorded? Do I need to keep a running total of VPs during the game alongside the prestige points in each player's loot stacks, or is this bonus VP taken as an additional prestige point?

A: No. Give the awarded player +1 Prestige per kill.

PART 1:

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/561550/number-of-spells-during-comb...

Q21: According to the rules, "Each player may only play as many Spell cards as the number of Units in his Legion." At what point does one determine how many spells a player may cast?

A: A player can only cast as many spells as they have units in their Legion in-combat. Once a unit is eliminated you can no longer associate a spell with them. You can however play a spell on a mercenary.

Q22: Can the elimination of a unit result in a decrease in the number of available spells?

A: Yes, since a player can only cast as many spells as they have units in their Legion when casting in-combat. If they lose one, they lose a spell slot.

Q23: Does each spell that is cast have to be attributed to a specific unit in order to determine whether the elimination of a unit reduces the number of available spells?

A: The casting of a spell can usually be targeted to a specific unit, though many spells will damage multiple units, or all of the units of an enemies legion. The spell card should identify this.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/560437/some-questions-on-rules-and-...

Q24: Can Nightfall Cloak card be stacked?

A: No

Q25: When playing Mercenary cards during combat, do they count toward Alesana's special +1 Attack for every Army and Mercenary cards?

A: With Alesana, yes, it works for Mercenaries played from your hand (it'd have to since you can't put Mercs in your Legion area)

Q26: Are you allowed to play more than one Mercenary card during combat?

A: Yes, and you can buy as many cards as you have Gold available for their purchase.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/560745/questions-about-specials

Q27: Are the special abilities available only when the card is on the table or can you play the cards for an effect a la dominion? I am pretty sure that it is only when the card is equipped but I want to be sure.

A: Yes, though they have to be attached to a legion card for their effect to be used.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/557993/gold-expenditures-question

Q28: Does gold generated during a turn continue to be available until the end of the turn or until it's used whichever comes first? Or does the total amount of gold you have available zero out after each expenditure.

A: The gold sticks around until used entirely up or your turn ends.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/557441/direct-damage-in-combat

Q29: If, in combat, I play burn or chain lightning do the wounds apply to units immediately and, if so, is it possible to kill a unit mid combat (prior to calculating attack and defense values)?

A: Spells pierce through defense. Defense only subtracts Attack power.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/556577/couple-of-questions

Q30: Do you replace a card that was just bought immediately?

A: Yes, always, even after you have bought something from a monster reward.

Q31: After using both actions or after finishing an attack and no actions remain, can the Player still use cards in your hand/use abilities that units in your legion have or equipped Equipment?

A: A player’s turn does not end until that player decides to end it. There is no set order to a turn. During the course of a player’s turn, a player may buy, attack, heal, use card abilities, draw a card, etc in any order they choose until they end their turn.

Q32: Can cards that say they can not be targeted by opposing spells be affected by the spell card “Hellfire” or any other damage dealing spells?

A: No. The key word here is “opposing,” any opposing spell, meaning any spell that is cast from another player.

Q33: If a unit is targeted by a spell that removes it from combat and the hero and the rest of the legion dies, will it remain? Or will it be removed along with everything else?

A: Yes, the unit will remain.

Q34: Can the spell card “Trap” remove Hero cards from the combat?

A: Yes

Q35: Can the spell card “Flee” remove Hero cards from the combat?

A: No, it can only remove Henchman or Armies.

Q36: With Aura swapping can you benefit from it twice by using the aura and then swapping it back into your hand, then equipping it again the same turn and using its ability again?

A: Yes, this may happen. However, this process will cost the player 2 actions to pull off 2 equips.

Q37: When are the gold values on units on board is used? Do those units stay on board or are discarded as cards used for paying from hand?

A: When a card is played from your hand you get the benefits of the card immediately. You don't have to discard it.

Q38: The rules state that an end condition for the game is that the Monster deck is exhausted. Does this refer to the Monster draw deck being out of cards, or the draw deck + card row out of cards.

A: It was in reference to when the deck has been exhausted and the four monsters showing are defeated.

Q39: Can you use a in combat heal to save a unit that already has damage just before they take damage from a spell.

A: No, the unit will die. When a card is played it's entire ability and it's effects are finished before the next card is played. In this scenario your unit would be lost. If, however, you had an ability that reduced wounds, as opposed to healing, that would save them.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/553608/question-about-healing-throu...

Q40: Does it take an action to activate the healing power of the Dark Staff of Mending?

A: It doesn't take an Action per se, but you can only use it once per turn in itself.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/553225/shifting-winds-question

Q41: Can Shifting Winds be played since it say targeting a unit, and Hell Storm targets all opposing units?

A: Shifting winds was made to redirect a whole spell affect, whether it is targeting one unit in a legion or all units in a legion.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/553079/combat-step-7

Q42: When a Unit (Army, Henchman or Hero) is eliminated you lose Prestige points. For each Unit lost you lose 3, 4 or 5 points respectively. If you don't have Prestige you lose ONE monster of your choice. Is this one monster per Unit lost that you can't pay for? Or is this just one monster to cover all the rest you can't pay for?

A: Only one monster to cover all of the Prestige you are missing. Also, remember that you only lose Prestige in step 7 of fighting a monster, not every time you lose a Unit.

Following from: http://geekdo.com/thread/551227/health-on-items

Q43: Does the health value on an item add to the character's total? Do the items stick around until the character dies, or until the character has wounds that exceed the value of the item?

A: Yes, the health value on an item is added to that of the character to which it is attached.

Q44: Can you take two Mulligans EVERY turn?

A: Yes

Q45: Are Heroes considered units?

A: Yes

Q46: How does Trophy Value equal a game end? The rules say that it does but then go on to say that Prestige points are the factor for game end. Trophy Value is turned into victory points but not Prestige points. Is the manual wrong to state "Trophy Value: Used to determine when the game ends and counts as Victory Points"?

A: There are two types of victory points. "Trophy points" and "Prestige points."

Trophy points: are gained from buying cards from the Spell, Unit and Equipment deck and/or killing monsters. The Trophy cup icon on the bottom of Monster cards and some purchasable cards determines how much that particular card is worth.

Prestige points: are gained only from initiating attacks vs legions and killing legion units. 1 for initiating combat, 5 for killing a Hero, 4 for killing a Henchman, and 3 for killing an army.

Trophy points do not end the game, but Prestige points do. Both Prestige and Trophy points = Victory points and the total of both of these points added together determine a win. Whichever player has the most of both points added together wins.
5 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Briel
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
Hey! Look over there! --------->
mbmbmbmbmb
Q4 and/or Q5 seem to be "wrong" in that they're the same question but have 2 different answers and some terrible grammar in the Q5.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
dbriel wrote:
Q4 and/or Q5 seem to be "wrong" in that they're the same question but have 2 different answers and some terrible grammar in the Q5.


I added numbers to each of the questions to better mark them when additional questions come up. Hopefully this helps clear up some of the similarities as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Briel
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
Hey! Look over there! --------->
mbmbmbmbmb
Berek Halfhand wrote:
I added numbers to each of the questions to better mark them when additional questions come up. Hopefully this helps clear up some of the similarities as well.


Good stuff, thanks. I guess I'm misreading Q4 then as it asks about playing Mercs and then answers about buying stuff.

Edit - And Q10, "Hellfire" actually = "Hell Storm"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Valentine
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Q1 and A1 actually fails to answer some of the more nuances questions that were asked about this subject. It's possible to cast some spells and then lose a unit, etc. This raises a variety of questions as to whether you say "Spell X is cast by Unit Y". I invite you to go back to the original questions several of us asked and try not to simplify them, as the answer here was not particularly useful. It merely reiterates the rulebook which didn't answer the questions asked about this subject to begin with. If, for example, you associate spells as they are cast with a specific unit, then if the unit is KO'd it wouldn't reduce the number of remaining spells that you can cast. I think you should draw the example from the questions asked for clarity.

Re: Q2, according to the plain language of the card it stacks because it is an armor card that allows you to play an additional armor card to the character (allowing multiple copies of the card to stack). This needs an erratum in my opinion, ideally one which is pretty specific in language, because there is also, I believe, the Hero Draknal that can stack multiple armors and this answer begs how the Cloak interacts with him.

Answer 7 doesn't answer Question 7, particularly the part about killing the unit instantly mid-combat.

Answer 15 fails to answer Question 15. This is referring to a couple of lines in the rulebook stating that when you use a card for gold that you discard it, and secondly, that cards in play can be used to produce gold. The appropriate answer was given in another thread, but here A15 fails to grasp the question asked in Q15. The real answer is that the rulebook needs to be changed to say that units in play DO NOT produce gold with their gold values and cannot be discarded to produce gold with their gold values, but may have some special abilities (or special abilities on attached cards) that may produce gold.

Lee
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Briel
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
Hey! Look over there! --------->
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for bringing those things up, Lee. Having read it all closer now (and after waiting for what seems like forever for it) this "FAQ" raises several questions of its own. It seems to be a copy/paste of sometimes out-of-context forum answers. shake

I'm losing faith in support for this game. cry What really needs to be done is a nearly complete rules and card overhaul / errata with lots of card-to-card interaction examples.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Valentine
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
David, it's not a copy paste of the forum questions and answers. I actually created a list of almost all the forum questions in chronological order and sent them to Petroglyph. They rewrote them, often losing the original intent of the question, and posted answers sometimes to questions which lost the entire intent of the original questions. Ugh.

One answer, in particular, regarding the Nightfall Cloak seems to be one of those "because we said so" answers. No errata, and yet the logical reading of these cards is that multiples stack. Play one one a unit with nothing. It says you can play another "Armor" card. Yup. Nightfall Cloak is another armor card, so you play it, and lo and behold it says you can play another and so on. If they want to change the functionality of this card it needs a form and function errata. Maybe I need to re-read that card to see if I'm missing something.

I too have no idea as to why it takes so long to answer questions about a game. With Guardians of Graxia I can almost see it, because you might want to check the code in the computer version of the game to make sure that the answer given matches the coding. Here, however, there's no complex process -- give the actual answer or make up one.

As to the rules overhaul, I agree.

Lee

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Groff-Folsom
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe its just me, but I don't understand where all these rules questions are coming from... I've played three games just fine, with a fairly intuitive judgment of the cards, and I had no problems whatsoever.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Briel
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
Hey! Look over there! --------->
mbmbmbmbmb
Really? The overall gameplay and core of the rules seem to be alright. Not the best ever written, but functional. Most things make fairly good sense in the spirit of a confrontational PVP game. I agree a few of the questions are somewhat silly or straightforward or inconsequential. But the use/expenditure of gold, for example, makes sense to you? I mean, I have the main idea but I didn't playtest the game so I don't know the "best case" they had in mind when the game was designed. The interactions of Spells and certain units / times of play don't necessarily make sense either.

The game isn't broken or unplayable, there's just a several "I don't know" moments when we play and we have to make things up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
Hi everyone,

What we did is we took all the questions currently asked (which is why you see the links associated back to some of the original threads) and answered them in a consolidated document. This gives you one area to reference, and to discuss .

There are still some questions needing answered I know, and those have been sent to the designers. Keep asking and I'll keep digging up the answers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Valentine
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Berek Halfhand wrote:
What we did is we took all the questions currently asked (which is why you see the links associated back to some of the original threads) and answered them in a consolidated document. This gives you one area to reference, and to discuss .


The problem is, that if you look even at the first question, the original question is pretty nuanced and has some examples that the author of the question wanted discussed. You took one sentence out of context, and answered that straight from the rulebook, missing the entire point of the question to begin with. It would have been better to at least answer all of the original question even if you want to trim the question itself.

Lee
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
hudarklord wrote:
Berek Halfhand wrote:
What we did is we took all the questions currently asked (which is why you see the links associated back to some of the original threads) and answered them in a consolidated document. This gives you one area to reference, and to discuss .


The problem is, that if you look even at the first question, the original question is pretty nuanced and has some examples that the author of the question wanted discussed. You took one sentence out of context, and answered that straight from the rulebook, missing the entire point of the question to begin with. It would have been better to at least answer all of the original question even if you want to trim the question itself.

Lee


What we did with a few of the inquiries was focus on the specific question itself, so the entire Q&A is more direct and easier for the community to understand when reading over a lengthy list of Q&A. If we answered one out of context, please let me know!

If the question is asked here with more in-depth details, we're trying to link back to those so you can read the rest of the statement to gain a better understanding of why the question was asked in the first place. Most often the simplified Q&A seems to be enough though.

If someone wants to pose a question for us, separating out the question with the statement explaining the reason for the question, will help us out. Also, often times a question is actually two or three in one, so splitting those up will help as well. Thanks for linking that reference question, I pulled out a couple more answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
Hi everyone,

We've just updated the original post with a Part 2 of the Q&A! Please let us know if you have any questions about the update.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mont A.
United States
Carbondale
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Berek Halfhand wrote:
Q1: According to the rules, "Each player may only play as many Spell cards as the number of Units in his Legion." At what point does one determine how many spells a player may cast?

A: A player can only cast as many spells as they have units in their Legion in-combat. Once a unit is eliminated you can no longer associate a spell with them. You can however play a spell on a mercenary.



Thanks for the update Mathew!

Just to confirm the above (from the first part of the FAQ): can a unit which has fled (because a "Flee" spell was played against it) still cast a spell? It is considered "removed from combat", but it hasn't been "eliminated", and it is still "in his Legion".... So I would expect it should still be able to cast a spell.

Forgive the questions. I'm not trying to be an annoying rules-lawyer, arguing for the sake of it. I'm just trying to understand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mont A.
United States
Carbondale
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Berek Halfhand wrote:

Q: I'm player #1. I have three units in my legion. I play a spell in combat. My opponent plays flee on one of my units. How many spells can I play now, one more or two more?

A: One more spell may be cast unless the player plays a Mercenary.


Quote:
Q1: According to the rules, "Each player may only play as many Spell cards as the number of Units in his Legion." At what point does one determine how many spells a player may cast?

A: A player can only cast as many spells as they have units in their Legion in-combat. Once a unit is eliminated you can no longer associate a spell with them. You can however play a spell on a mercenary.

Q: Can the elimination of a unit result in a decrease in the number of available spells?

A: Yes, since a player can only cast as many spells as they have units in their Legion when casting in-combat. If they lose one, they lose a spell slot.




Oh man, I'm confused. The above seems to contradict the conclusions of this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/561550/number-of-spells-...
Here Kurt Zdanio and Anthony Mullins talk of associating every spell cast with a particular unit (as "caster"). Kurt says, as a result, this can "sometimes cause your opponent to target different units based on whether they cast a spell yet", and Anthony (one of the game's playtesters) endorses this at the end of the thread. If true, then the answer to the first question above would have to be

"One or two more spell(s) may be cast, depending on whether the removed/eliminated unit had already cast a spell or not."


It seems to me there is still uncertainty about the number of spells that may be cast in combat as combat progresess, and (relatedly) how spells cast are "associated" with particular units.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Valentine
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Heroes of Graxia » Forums » Rules
Re: Heroes of Graxia Q&A Update
1) If Magic Shield is that powerful, how does it interact with an exchange of one Henchman for another?

A) It has no effect because an exchange doesn't count as playing a card.
B) The original Henchman remains on the table and the replacement Henchman is discarded.
C) The original Henchman goes to your hand and all of his previously attached equipment and the replacement Henchman are discarded (the equipment being discarded because it's now attached to no Henchman at all).
D) Some other answer.

Again, if this works on every card played except a Hero then this has ridiculous interactions like this timing question that need to be dealt with.


2) I'd also like to hear the answer about attributing spells being cast to specific Units.

3) I think in another thread it said that a Hero counts as a Unit. If he does, why doesn't he have a Unit designator like all other units? I'm asking this one from memory, so I could be wrong. Maybe Heroes do have a unit designator printed on them.

Lee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mont A.
United States
Carbondale
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hudarklord wrote:
3) I think in another thread it said that a Hero counts as a Unit. If he does, why doesn't he have a Unit designator like all other units? I'm asking this one from memory, so I could be wrong. Maybe Heroes do have a unit designator printed on them.


Actually, they DO have unit designators printed on them. laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Zdanio
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Typhon wrote:
Oh man, I'm confused. The above seems to contradict the conclusions of this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/561550/number-of-spells-...
Here Kurt Zdanio and Anthony Mullins talk of associating every spell cast with a particular unit (as "caster"). Kurt says, as a result, this can "sometimes cause your opponent to target different units based on whether they cast a spell yet", and Anthony (one of the game's playtesters) endorses this at the end of the thread. If true, then the answer to the first question above would have to be

"One or two more spell(s) may be cast, depending on whether the removed/eliminated unit had already cast a spell or not."


It seems to me there is still uncertainty about the number of spells that may be cast in combat as combat progresses, and (relatedly) how spells cast are "associated" with particular units.

It looks like we were playing it wrong. Based on the new ruling you do not associate the spells with the units casting them but as a whole with your units in combat. So each time you want to cast a spell you need to look at the total number of units you have in combat, and so long as that number is greater than the number of spells you have cast that turn you can cast another.

Seems pretty strait forward now. We were tracking which unit cast the spell but I guess we don't need to do that anymore.

BTW. Thanks for the update Berek. I think this answers all of my outstanding questions and solves a couple that hadn't come up yet.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Anderson
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
Rorik36 wrote:
[q="Typhon"]Oh man, I'm confused. The above seems to contradict the conclusions of this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/561550/number-of-spells-...
Here Kurt Zdanio and Anthony...
BTW. Thanks for the update Berek. I think this answers all of my outstanding questions and solves a couple that hadn't come up yet.


No problem! I understand that the rules are complicated and can be interpreted in a variety of ways sometimes. If we word answers in a way that causes a conflict, our apologies. Anytime this does occur though, I always forward your concerns to the designers, who promptly correct me .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Zdanio
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks like I spoke too soon. There is still one outstanding issue from my group:
Rorik36 wrote:
Scratch and Griney give you a reward that allows a purchase that is "...up to..." an amount of Gold. Grax, Grog, Reliz the Claw,Tivix and Zookie allow a purchase "...for a total cost of...". We just wanted to make sure these were worded correctly. It can be real evil when you get one of the latter monsters, can not find a correct combination of cards and you are forced to take none as your Reward.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/5401163#5401163
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Valentine
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Typhon wrote:
hudarklord wrote:
3) I think in another thread it said that a Hero counts as a Unit. If he does, why doesn't he have a Unit designator like all other units? I'm asking this one from memory, so I could be wrong. Maybe Heroes do have a unit designator printed on them.


Actually, they DO have unit designators printed on them. laugh



I just checked Broxin and the other heroes. They do NOT have the unit designator as a keyword. The Heroes saying things like "Hero * Dwarf" instead of "Unit * Mercenary". Maybe yours are different than mine or maybe I'm missing something obvious. But Broxin, for example, doesn't say he's a unit anywhere on his card. It says only that he's a Hero.

Lee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mont A.
United States
Carbondale
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hudarklord wrote:
Typhon wrote:
hudarklord wrote:
3) I think in another thread it said that a Hero counts as a Unit. If he does, why doesn't he have a Unit designator like all other units? I'm asking this one from memory, so I could be wrong. Maybe Heroes do have a unit designator printed on them.


Actually, they DO have unit designators printed on them. laugh



I just checked Broxin and the other heroes. They do NOT have the unit designator as a keyword. The Heroes saying things like "Hero * Dwarf" instead of "Unit * Mercenary". Maybe yours are different than mine or maybe I'm missing something obvious. But Broxin, for example, doesn't say he's a unit anywhere on his card. It says only that he's a Hero.

Lee


Ah, but all six heroes DO display the unit ICON on their cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Jefferies
United States
Oconomowoc
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
My name is Oobydoob Scooby-dooby Banooby. I have the silliest name in the galaxy
mbmbmbmbmb
I have another question. Suppose I am attacked and I use 4 of the 5 cards in my hand to defend myself. When it comes around to my next turn am I just stuck with the one card and two actions...which is how we've been playing...or do I get to pick up other cards somehow? Because having so few cards to do anything makes me a prime target for the next player again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
quohog the great
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
a question i've had is playing spells when you are not directly involved in the combat? are you able. there are times when you may want to beef up a monster so a player can't defeat it or redirect the flee or chain lightning of the current leader in order to bump him down a few pegs.

can you do this if so who would get the prestige if there is a kill?

also is there prestige involved in when playing a flee?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Zdanio
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you start your turn with one card you have one card for your turn. We have learned to hold back a bit sometimes unless we know we can come out on top.

If the card says "play at any time" then you can do it on another player's turn.

They ruled that you get a prestige when ever a card you use kills someone, even if it is not your turn. A flee does not eliminate a hero, so no prestige.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.