$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: ceding tax control of a region rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Billy Testoseroni
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Not sure if this is addressed specifically in the rules, but what about this scenario: Germany's (my) single fleet controls the Baltic. Two Russian fleets Maneuver into that territory. I negotiate with them and we agree that although the tax status will flip from German to Russian control immediately, the German fleet will be left intact. Is this allowed by the rules? For a tax chip to flip on sea or land, does there necessarily need to be combat? Do the previous occupants necessarily need to be destroyed?
Thanks!
Bill
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
For control to change there must be only one colour of military unit in the region. Control does not change if e are multiple colours, no matter how many (more) units are there of a colour.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blorb Plorbst
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
I think we're all bozos on this bus.
mbmbmb
Imperial » Forums » Rules
Re: ceding tax control of a region
The only time a tax chip is changed is when a region is solely controlled by a single nation. (and only during that nation's move action, I believe)

By the rules, you played incorrectly.

I like the idea of adding that negotiation and don't know why the game couldn't be played just as effectively that way -- it would add a great deal more diplomacy to the game and possibly lengthen the game. I can also see it being abused by a player who controls 2 nations: They would have more flexibility to use each others regions for both profit and mobility.

Personally, I'd avoid it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bohnenberger
United States
Swarthmore
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, you cannot negotiate tax chips. The chip color will change as soon as units of a different color SOLELY occupy the region. Note that even if there is not a free tax chip to place, the old chip will still be removed.

Of course, there does not need to be a battle. The other armies/fleets could simply leave the area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benoît Delcorps
Belgium
Bruxelles
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As the others said, the way you played it violates the rules.


CrankyPants wrote:
The only time a tax chip is changed is when a region is solely controlled by a single nation. (and only during that nation's move action, I believe)


Tax chip replacement doesn't necessarily happen during the nation's active turn (or manoeuvre action).

An illustrative example :
- If a sea region contains two fleets (one Red/England and one Blue/France) + 1 Blue/France Tax Chip
- Imagine a Black/German fleet invades this sea region and destroys the Blue/France fleet.
- The Red/England fleet remains alone in that region --->
-The Blue Tax Chip is immediately replaced by a Red Tax chip, even if it isn't England turn.

Should England not have any Tax Chip available, then the sea region remains free of any Tax Chip until England gets back an available Tax Chip. When this Tax Chip becomes available, it is immediately placed in the sea region, even if it isn't England turn.

A quote from the rules
Quote:
A tax chip remains in a region until the region is occupied exclusively by another nation. As a result of the battle, it may happen that an inactive nation winds up occupying the region exclusively;
in this case the previous tax chip is removed and replaced by a tax chip of the present nation.
If a nation has put all ten tax chips on the board, it cannot acquire any more tax regions. If a nation has occupied a region exclusively, tax chips of other nations are removed without being replaced. As soon as one of its ten tax chips is available again, the nation may place it in this empty region.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.