Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification of share buying when no invester card is used rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rahn
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played a game without the investor card and I wanted to make sure we played right. Here is how we played:

1. After a nation finishes its turn every player has the chance to buy or upgrade only one share in that country. The player who controls this country has the first opportunity to purchase a share and then it rotates clockwise.

2. Additionally if a player controls no country, then on their turn to purchase they may instead purchase a share from any other country. A hard limit of one share purchased per opportunity was still enforced. So if they purchased a share from the active country they were not able to buy a second share in a non-active country.

Number 2) was where most of the confusion rested and where most of ambiguities were in the rules. We decided to adopt a hard one share limit but we were unsure if this person would actually be able to purchase one share from the country that just finished its turn and then buy up to one share another country. Or even one share from every other country. Or even multiple shares in a single non-active country. We assumed that these all seemed a bit too extreme and not in line with the very small portion of the rules that actually was written clearly.

Thanks in advance for your help in clearing this up!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Romain Jacques
Canada
Gatineau
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A player can buy or upgrade only one share per turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benoît Delcorps
Belgium
Bruxelles
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Imperial » Forums » Rules
Re: Clarification of share buying when no invester card is used
You played it well, IMHO.

The rules are missleading about the player controlling no country in the variant without the investor card.

Here is how the rule should have been written :

curtc wrote:
After any nation takes its turn, all players may invest in that nation. Furthermore, players without any flags may invest in ANY nation (not just the nation that concluded its turn).


This problem has allready been tackled in another thread : here
(still waiting for the author confirmation)



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.