$10.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

Forbidden Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Helicopter Lift and Sandbag Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sanders
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have some questions, for those that don't mind answering them:

Helicopter Lift question:

During our first couple of games I was playing the Helicopter Lift card like Pandemic’s Airlift card, in that I could move any single pawn wherever I wanted. However, looking at the text - the wording seems to indicate for you to move a pawn off a tile with Helicopter Lift there must be at least 2 or more pawns on that tile. For those without the card in front of them it reads: "Move one or more pawns on the same tile to any other tile." So my questions are:

a. Does there have to be more than one pawn on a tile for you to use Helicopter Lift?

b.Does the player who played the Helicopter Lift card have to be on the tile with pawns being moved?

c. Do all moved pawns have to be moved to the same new location or can I place them on different ones?



Sandbag Question:

I have to flood 4 islands - and I have completely resolved two so far. Can I now use a sandbag BEFORE I flip over 3rd card from the flood deck? I believe so since I haven’t flipped the card yet, but thought I ask anyways.



Thanks for any help.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chef D
United States
Newtonville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sanders wrote:
I have some questions, for those that don't mind answering them:

Helicopter Lift question:

During our first couple of games I was playing the Helicopter Lift card like Pandemic’s Airlift card, in that I could move any single pawn wherever I wanted. However, looking at the text - the wording seems to indicate for you to move a pawn off a tile with Helicopter Lift there must be at least 2 or more pawns on that tile. For those without the card in front of them it reads: "Move one or more pawns on the same tile to any other tile." So my questions are:

a. Does there have to be more than one pawn on a tile for you to use Helicopter Lift?

b.Does the player who played the Helicopter Lift card have to be on the tile with pawns being moved?

c. Do all moved pawns have to be moved to the same new location or can I place them on different ones?



Sandbag Question:

I have to flood 4 islands - and I have completely resolved two so far. Can I now use a sandbag BEFORE I flip over 3rd card from the flood deck? I believe so since I haven’t flipped the card yet, but thought I ask anyways.



Thanks for any help.



a. I think you are misreading the card. The helicopter cards says you can move 1 or 2 pawns from the same tile to another tile. This means if 2 people are grouped together you can move them let's say to Fool's Landing with he use of the card. The second part: the person playing the card does not have to be on the same tile. I think that is pretty clear from the text on the card. Third part: I think that is also answered right by the text on the card. You can move 1 or 2 pawns from the same tile to another tile (that meaning the same tile).

b. My understanding of the sandbag and helicopter card is that they can be used at any time. It says so on the card. So yes, you can play it before a 3rd card (or any card for that matter) is flipped over from the Flood Deck.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Quinn
United States
Bradley
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would answer your questions this way:
a. no - "one or more" means 1, 2, 3 or 4.
b. no - neither the card nor the rules say so
c. yes - to the same tile

I believe you can sandbag as long as you do so before drawing the tile to be flooded. Once you flip it, that tile is flooded.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sanders
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Funguy wrote:
a. I think you are misreading the card. The helicopter cards says you can move 1 or 2 pawns from the same tile to another tile. This means if 2 people are grouped together you can move them let's say to Fool's Landing with he use of the card.


Say a tile has just 1 pawn on it - could I use the Helicopter lift to move that person - even though they are by themselves?

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
mbmbmbmbmb
Sanders wrote:
Funguy wrote:
a. I think you are misreading the card. The helicopter cards says you can move 1 or 2 pawns from the same tile to another tile. This means if 2 people are grouped together you can move them let's say to Fool's Landing with he use of the card.


Say a tile has just 1 pawn on it - could I use the Helicopter lift to move that person - even though they are by themselves?

Thanks.


Yep. See bolded text above.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sanders
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Apparently, we were playing the right way our first two plays - then played wrong in later plays. So, play it like Pandemic’s airlift card - but with the added bonus that if you have more than 1 person on the tile -you can take them move them too if you want. Got it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Welborn
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Clemson 40 Oklahoma 6
mbmbmbmbmb
Funguy wrote:
Sanders wrote:
I have some questions, for those that don't mind answering them:

Helicopter Lift question:

During our first couple of games I was playing the Helicopter Lift card like Pandemic’s Airlift card, in that I could move any single pawn wherever I wanted. However, looking at the text - the wording seems to indicate for you to move a pawn off a tile with Helicopter Lift there must be at least 2 or more pawns on that tile. For those without the card in front of them it reads: "Move one or more pawns on the same tile to any other tile." So my questions are:

a. Does there have to be more than one pawn on a tile for you to use Helicopter Lift?

b.Does the player who played the Helicopter Lift card have to be on the tile with pawns being moved?

c. Do all moved pawns have to be moved to the same new location or can I place them on different ones?



Sandbag Question:

I have to flood 4 islands - and I have completely resolved two so far. Can I now use a sandbag BEFORE I flip over 3rd card from the flood deck? I believe so since I haven’t flipped the card yet, but thought I ask anyways.



Thanks for any help.



a. I think you are misreading the card. The helicopter cards says you can move 1 or 2 pawns from the same tile to another tile. This means if 2 people are grouped together you can move them let's say to Fool's Landing with he use of the card. The second part: the person playing the card does not have to be on the same tile. I think that is pretty clear from the text on the card. Third part: I think that is also answered right by the text on the card. You can move 1 or 2 pawns from the same tile to another tile (that meaning the same tile).

b. My understanding of the sandbag and helicopter card is that they can be used at any time. It says so on the card. So yes, you can play it before a 3rd card (or any card for that matter) is flipped over from the Flood Deck.



"A" is wrong. The card says you can move one or more, as the OP posted. So you could move 1 to 4 pawns with one card, not just 1 or 2.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Welborn
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Clemson 40 Oklahoma 6
mbmbmbmbmb
Sanders wrote:
Thanks. Apparently, we were playing the right way our first two plays - then played wrong in later plays. So, play it like Pandemic’s airlift card - but with the added bonus that if you have more than 1 person on the tile -you can take them move them too if you want. Got it.


Correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Kunes
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm? This has me thinking... we might have been playing the Sandbag cards wrong.

Do/Can I use it:

1) Before the tile is flooded (as in before a flood card is turned over... like a blind protecting of the tile to be shown)?
2) If the tile is flooded (but before additional flood cards are turned over)? and/or
3) If the tile will sink otherwise (i.e. already flooded and it turns up again and will otherwise be removed from the game)?

Answers to these scenarios significantly changes the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Quinn
United States
Bradley
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bkunes wrote:
Hmm? This has me thinking... we might have been playing the Sandbag cards wrong.

Do/Can I use it:

1) Before the tile is flooded (as in before a flood card is turned over... like a blind protecting of the tile to be shown)?
2) If the tile is flooded (but before additional flood cards are turned over)? and/or
3) If the tile will sink otherwise (i.e. already flooded and it turns up again and will otherwise be removed from the game)?

Answers to these scenarios significantly changes the game.


1) yes
2) yes
3) no

If the card is flipped, the tile goes to the next step before the sandbags can be played. If it is then only flooded, then playing the sandbags on it before flipping another tile will make it unflooded. If it has sunk, the it is gone forever and sandbags will not help that tile... unless you get out yor Cosmic Encounter game and use Chronos' timetravel power. Then maybe... it is ony theoretical and I have never actually tried it.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Martin
United States
Bel Air
Maryland
flag msg tools
mb
This confused me as well at first, but if you think about it in terms of tiles instead of pawns I think it makes more sense. The helicopter will take whomever is on one tile and move them to any other. So if only one pawn is on one tile then you can move just one pawn. If two or more are on one tile then you can move all of them to another tile.

And according to the card's bottom Sandbag and Lift cards can be used at any time during the game. So before or during a Flood stage should be fine I'm guessing.

BTW - I love this game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Bradley
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Scotland
flag msg tools
Just for completeness then....

If 3 pawns are on tile and a Helicopter card is used, can it lift two of them to another tile, leaving one behind?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Welborn
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Clemson 40 Oklahoma 6
mbmbmbmbmb
GaryB wrote:
Just for completeness then....

If 3 pawns are on tile and a Helicopter card is used, can it lift two of them to another tile, leaving one behind?


Yes.

Also note, that the 2 pawns lifted have to be depostied on the same tile.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tofu Emu
United States
New York
flag msg tools
jwquinn wrote:
I would answer your questions this way:
a. no - "one or more" means 1, 2, 3 or 4.
b. no - neither the card nor the rules say so
c. yes - to the same tile

I believe you can sandbag as long as you do so before drawing the tile to be flooded. Once you flip it, that tile is flooded.


This is correct on all counts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Hellyer
United States
Aurora
Illinois
flag msg tools
And, maybe this was answered already, but with the Helicopter card can you move any 1-2 pieces from any tile, or do they have to be on the same tile as your piece?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Stellmach
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PlayMe1 wrote:
And, maybe this was answered already,

Yes, it was.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Hellyer
United States
Aurora
Illinois
flag msg tools
timstellmach wrote:
PlayMe1 wrote:
And, maybe this was answered already,

Yes, it was.


Thank you SO much for your insight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sturv Tafvherd
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
willmar22 wrote:
And according to the card's bottom Sandbag and Lift cards can be used at any time during the game. So before or during a Flood stage should be fine I'm guessing.



I'm hoping someone official will answer.

My guess: once a tile's flood card is revealed, players cannot go ... "wait, wait, I'll sandbag it!"


But honestly, I've allowed that in my games, so if it turns up that the official answer is such, then I've got a house rule for the sake of a friendlier game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stormtower wrote:
My guess: once a tile's flood card is revealed, players cannot go ... "wait, wait, I'll sandbag it!"


That is correct, you cannot do that. Once you draw the card, you have to finish that before "control" returns back to the players and they can start making moves again, playing cards, etc.

I'm not official, but the designer has posted many times on the "can't interrupt the event and the representation of the event" on the Pandemic forums (and probably here too).

In essence, the instant you flipped that card, the tile disappeared. It's gone, being human, you just haven't adjusted your table to represent reality yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Forbidden Island » Forums » Rules
Re: Helicopter Lift and Sandbag Question
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:

In essence, the instant you flipped that card, the tile disappeared. It's gone, being human, you just haven't adjusted your table to represent reality yet.


Maybe YOU haven't...ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.