Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
58 Posts
Prev «  1 , 2 , 3  | 

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Invading multiple planets question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lyn Lee Fox
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
This user will support this website in the future.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Invading multiple planets question.
Although I am curious as to the answer of whether retreats are allowed or not, the only reason I brought that up was in an attempt to illustrate that at the time the Ambush is resolved, the GFs are already committed to the planet. Thus if the space battle fails and the GFs are discarded, it's NOT because they are on the carrier.

In other words, this was mostly in protest of the idea that it "undoes" the invasion. Nothing about how it's worded indicates that. That is entirely people making it up to fit how they envision it thematically. In contrast, the "Settlers" token does "undo" the landing/invasion.

I could see a case being made for distant suns tokens being resolved before all planetary landings are declared however. It does say that distant sun tokens resolve "immediately after a player has landed all his desired Ground Forces there", which could be taken to mean it occurs during the planetary landing step. But that'd also mean that a player could see the results of a token before committing troops to other planets. And that doesn't seem right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex The Great
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Necropost power!

As this thread is the first result of searching "twilight imperium fighter ambush", I've decided to post it here.

Just got reply from Corey from Fantasy Flight Games.

Question was (I copied it from FFG forum to FFG question form):
Quote:
My carrier with 6 ground forces moves to a system with 2 planets.

I choose to invade each planet with 3 ground forces.

I flip a "fighter ambush" distant sun counter on planet A. I lose the outcoming space battle.

Fighter ambush says I lose all invading ground forces. Do this count for both invasions, or just for the invasion on planet A fails and the planetary landing B is unaffected?


And here's the answer:
Quote:
In your example, Fighter Ambush would only make you lose the ground forces from Invasion A. The ground forces landing on the other planet would be unaffected.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Good to know!

There could be some potential complications, though. Let's say Planet A is a Fighter Ambush, and that ambush kills the carrier. Planet B is Settlers; but now you have no carrier to return to. What happens?

- Do the GFs just die (they were on route back to report when the fighters killed them, too?)
- Do the GFs stay and fight like Mechanized Units would in a similar situation?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Armentia
Spain
flag msg tools
sigmazero13 wrote:
Good to know!

There could be some potential complications, though. Let's say Planet A is a Fighter Ambush, and that ambush kills the carrier. Planet B is Settlers; but now you have no carrier to return to. What happens?

- Do the GFs just die (they were on route back to report when the fighters killed them, too?)
- Do the GFs stay and fight like Mechanized Units would in a similar situation?


I think they'd die (like MU's also would) but for another reason. There is this precedent resolved by Corey:

Q: Colonial Redistribution Political Card: “The player with the most Victory Points must choose one of his planets and destroy all Ground Force units on that planet, if any. The player must then choose a player with the fewest Victory Points. The chosen player may immediately place three free Ground Force units on that planet and take control of it.” What happens if a Mechanized Unit is on the planet?
A: Since units of 2 players cannot exist on the same planet, the mechanized units would be destroyed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
That precedent doesn't apply here, but I did find something about the MU's. Here's another thread where Corey answered some questions:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/9651730#9651730

Basically, in that ruling, I was mistaken in my memory - MU's don't stay and fight, they return to the ship (so would be like regular GF's when resolving Settlers).

Thus, I would be inclined to say if the ship was destroyed, the GFs (and MU's if they landed, too, in this case), would be destroyed if Settlers are revealed, since they have nowhere to go. But MU's would NOT be destroyed if the ship was still around; they would return to the ship like the GF's.

However, it would still be nice to get an official answer on this
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lyn Lee Fox
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
This user will support this website in the future.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
ZaRaZa wrote:
And here's the answer:
Quote:
In your example, Fighter Ambush would only make you lose the ground forces from Invasion A. The ground forces landing on the other planet would be unaffected.
I suppose it's good to get confirmation that the rules means what they say, especially for those people that for whatever reason are unable to see it.

Anyways, this does inadvertently seem to clarify something that the rules as written are not supper clear on: that you have to commit your landing forces for all planets in the system -before- resolving any of the Distant Suns tokens. The rules as written constantly use language that refers to a single group of GFs that are landing, and not how it fits into the overall order of things. Though honestly, I think most of us figured it be like that anyways.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prev «  1 , 2 , 3  | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.