$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Cargo Noir» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions regarding the rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Austin
United Kingdom
Solihull
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi - We've played a few 2 player games and I thought that it was great. However I have a few questions about the rules...

1) On the last turn I assume that you can't do anything special with any coins you have left. You can't suddenly buy any special tokens or cargo with them can you? - I didn't think you could but saw a post that seemed to state otherwise.

2) I'm a little confused by the syndicate cards. - This is the way we were playing last night. Is this right? - If not, please tell me the right way.
> You have 1 card and you pull out of 1 bid. > you win 2 coins (and of course take back the coins you bid with).
> You have 1 card and you pull out of 2 bids > You win 4 coins
> You have 2 cards and you pull out of 1 bid > you win 4 coins
> You have 2 cards and you pull out of 2 bids > you win 8 coins

3) In the same turn could you trade in a few cargo tokens for a syndicate card, and THEN in the same turn, pull out of a bid and win 2 coins as a result of the card you just purchased?

Thanks in advance,





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hautemont
United States
Los Altos
California
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
1) On the last turn (and that one only) you can add any coins you have left to the cargos you trade in to try and purchase a higher cost Victory card. So if you trade in a combination of cargo worth 25 points for instance, and you have 11 coins, you could purchase a Victory card that cost 36.

2) No, the correct payout is:
> You have 1 card and you pull out of 1 bid. > you win 2 coins (and of course take back the coins you bid with).
> You have 1 card and you pull out of 2 bids > You win 2 coins
> You have 2 cards and you pull out of 1 bid > you win 2 coins
> You have 2 cards and you pull out of 2 bids > you win 4 coins

In other words:
- you can only apply a maximum of 1 Syndicate card per port you abandon
- each Syndicate card you have may only be used a maximum of once per turn (and to use it you need to abandon a port, of course)

3) No, because you must respect the turn sequence. First you resolve all your actions (this is when you decide if you pull out of a bid or not); then and only then can you trade in your cargos; then you send your ships out again.

Hope this helps.
Eric @ DoW
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Austin
United Kingdom
Solihull
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Perfect- I had no idea about that 1st rule about using up your coins to buy go towards the purchase of a better card.

Thanks for such a quick response...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
It's not a damn moped!
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes a good use for your coins on your last turn is to outbid someone after you in turn order, so they don't beat you. I've had that done to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Holt
England
Rayleigh
Essex
flag msg tools
This is not the cat you're looking for - some other cat maybe?
badge
tout passe, tout lasse, tout casse
mbmbmbmbmb
Erich wrote:

2) No, the correct payout is:
> You have 1 card and you pull out of 1 bid. > you win 2 coins (and of course take back the coins you bid with).
> You have 1 card and you pull out of 2 bids > You win 2 coins
> You have 2 cards and you pull out of 1 bid > you win 2 coins
> You have 2 cards and you pull out of 2 bids > you win 4 coins

In other words:
- you can only apply a maximum of 1 Syndicate card per port you abandon
- each Syndicate card you have may only be used a maximum of once per turn


Ah, right, I now see that it says that in the rules ... makes it a lot less useful than the way we played it in our first game earlier this week.
It is probably still worthwhile to get one, but a second one doesn't seem cost effective unless you really have to spend something.
(bit like the second warehouse, perhaps)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Austin
United Kingdom
Solihull
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, I think your right. - I always like to get two extra boats but only ever buy a warehouse if I HAVE to trade in some cargo and can't afford anything else.

Since the new news about the syndicate card - I'm not sure if it's worth it....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hautemont
United States
Los Altos
California
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
godthedj wrote:
Yes, I think your right. - I always like to get two extra boats but only ever buy a warehouse if I HAVE to trade in some cargo and can't afford anything else.

Since the new news about the syndicate card - I'm not sure if it's worth it....


The Syndicate card is worth it (and often underestimated in early plays). but like everything else it depends on the situation at hand.

Eric @ DoW
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve T
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oops! We played the Syndicate cards incorrectly, giving ourselves 4 coins per abandoned port (when we owned two syndicate cards). No wonder we almost ran out of coins & were placing bids using a large number of coins.

I know, the rule is clearly stated in the manual. Just missed it when we played for the first time.

Enjoyed the game though, even when playing it incorrectly. Looking forward to playing with the correct rules. Will change things a lot... me thinks!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy W
United States
Kansas City
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question regarding the bidding mechanic:

If player1 decides to bid 2 coins on cargo at a port, he puts two coins down. Then player2 outbids player1 by adding one extra coin on his turn. QUESTION: When does player1 start the outbid process? Immediately? Or on the next resolve phase? And when can they pull out? If it does happen on the resolve phase, and each player outbids one another, when can player1 pull out of the auction?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Players only do anything when their turn arrives.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
It's not a damn moped!
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
Players only do anything when their turn arrives.

Well, I typically taunt the others during their turns... but, rules-wise, yes, I only get a chance to increase my bid or pull out of an auction on my own turn.

The penalty for being out-bid is that your ship essentially did not yield you anything for the previous turn. This is the reason that the Syndicate is a pretty good purchase in competitive games.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy W
United States
Kansas City
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
brokasaphasia wrote:
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
Players only do anything when their turn arrives.

Well, I typically taunt the others during their turns... but, rules-wise, yes, I only get a chance to increase my bid or pull out of an auction on my own turn.


Excellent...thanks for the responses! The first run through of the game felt a little herky-jerky. Now that we understand how the bidding works and such, it makes a lot more sense. My only other question would be if players do all of the phases on their turn, or if it goes in sequence like Agricola does.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Austin
United Kingdom
Solihull
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Cargo Noir » Forums » Rules
Re: A few questions regarding the rules
they do sequences on each or their own turns...

basically take back all of your uncontested boats with their ports cargo, take any new coins from boats left at 'the bank' and then decide on whether you want to re-bid,,,, or pull out of any other competing bids.

Then put your boats back out again,,,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.