$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Saboteur 2 (expansion-only editions)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Geologist clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Flawed Hero
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

1) Do geologists count as part of the winning team, say if the diggers get to the gold? I mean, do they count as a dwarf for purposes of determining how much treasure is given out? Technically they are a dwarf, as much as the Boss, Privateer or Saboteur is, right?

2) We've been playing the optional rule that came with Saboteur 1, which is that if you have broken equipment when the gold is found, you do not get any. I see the new rules mention that if you are Trapped in Jail, you don't get gold, but it doesn't mention broken equipment. Is Saboteur 2 meant to include this rule?

3) Does a geologist who has a broken lamp/axe/cart in front of them still collect gold for their crystals?


Looks like this gme needs a FAQ already!! soblue
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cheng
Taiwan
Taipei City
n/a
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim K wrote:

1) Do geologists count as part of the winning team, say if the diggers get to the gold? I mean, do they count as a dwarf for purposes of determining how much treasure is given out? Technically they are a dwarf, as much as the Boss, Privateer or Saboteur is, right?

2) We've been playing the optional rule that came with Saboteur 1, which is that if you have broken equipment when the gold is found, you do not get any. I see the new rules mention that if you are Trapped in Jail, you don't get gold, but it doesn't mention broken equipment. Is Saboteur 2 meant to include this rule?

3) Does a geologist who has a broken lamp/axe/cart in front of them still collect gold for their crystals?


Looks like this gme needs a FAQ already!! soblue


1. NO. Geologists are indifferent to who win or lose. They care only the crystal.

2. Jail card is not the same with the variant 'broken tools' rule in SB1. You can still use it, though.

3. Unless you use the 'broken tools' variant, I don't see why not.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederic Moyersoen
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Saboteur 2 (expansion-only editions) » Forums » Rules
Re: Geologist clarifications
The broken tools variant was introduced to have some competition between the gold-diggers.

The extension provides more chaos and competition. Therefore, this variant rule has been skipped during the design of the game. However, if you wish, you can still use it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.