Recently we've argued about Xxcha resolving Secondary Ability of Diplomacy II. Do they have to pay the CC for using it?
The Xxcha Kingdom Special Ability no. 1:
When executing the Secondary Ability of the Diplomacy Strategy, you may execute the primary ability instead.
Diplomacy II Primary Ability:
Chose either a) or b)
b) Execute the secondary ability of this card without paying a Command Counter or any influence
It is a question of timing and what does "execute" mean. Does "executing" begin the moment you decide to use Secondary Ability or the moment you pay a CC for using it?
With the first, they may use this ability without paying no CC nor influence, but if the latter is correct they should pay a CC from Strategy Allocation and still no influence.
We've decided for the first, basing on Jol-Nar using Secondary Ability of Technology II. By reading their ability to use Primary Ability in addition to Secondary Ability of Technology II I thought they should buy technology in following order:
1. Pay 6$ for 1st technology from Secondary Ability
2. Take free 2nd technology from Primary Ability
3. (if willing) pay 8$ for 3rd technology from Primary Ability
Instead FAQ shows the other order: free, 6$, 8$.
So, we play that Xxcha doesn't have to pay anything if they are willing to use Diplomacy II Primary Ability b) option instead of "normal" Secondary Ability. But is it correct? What do you think?