Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shards of the Throne» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Yin + Mecatol + Assembly II rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kalle Palm
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am never more motivated to take Mecatol as when playing Yin, because of their flip ability. Now with Assebly II, this tactic will get even better. Where Assembly I said that you could refresh a combined worth of six (I & R), Assebmly II simply says refresh one. This is much worse for all races except for Yin with a flipped Mecatol. Not easy to pull of, but a great tactic. Also combine with action card "usurper".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
The Winnu also benefit from Assembly II, as theirs is the only race that has a home-system planet that they cannot refresh with Assembly. Once they get more planets there are better options, but in the first round, it can be handy to get those extra resources.

Also, with regards to Usurper, just to make sure, you realize the card only gives you double votes from Mecatol; it doesn't actually give you double the influence, so flipping Mecatol with Yin is still only 6 resources (and makes Usurper only cause Mecatol to give 2 votes).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kalle Palm
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Doesn't Usurper give Yin a planet with 6/1 and 12 votes during voting. As I remember Usurper says nothing about doubling the influence. I belive the wording is that you always have 12 extra votes regardless if Mecatol is exhausted or not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
The_Gorger wrote:
Doesn't Usurper give Yin a planet with 6/1 and 12 votes during voting. As I remember Usurper says nothing about doubling the influence. I belive the wording is that you always have 12 extra votes regardless if Mecatol is exhausted or not.

Usurper says "you gain votes equal to twice the influence value of Mecatol Rex (instead of its normal influence value)".

So if you flip Mecatol with the Yin ability, it's influence value is only 1, which means Usurper doubles it to 2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kalle Palm
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I stand corrected!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sturk
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Flip it after the vote.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tarnis Phoenix
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
add a colony on mec too!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biznits SnipSnap
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Mecatol has always been a great choice for Yin b/c they have the starting fleet and SC flexibility to get out there fast. It's also the ideal staging ground to strike at weakness anywhere on the board. Assembly II has really improved that and so have the buffs to capital ships like Dreadnoughts. Their biggest drawbacks are their speed and price. A 6/1 Mecatol compensates for the price and you don't need to move them anywhere once you've dropped some down on MR.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shards of the Throne » Forums » Strategy
Re: Yin + Mecatol + Assembly II
Since Yin needs 2 techs for XRD or Stasis, they need Warfare in one of the first 2 rounds to get to MR on round 2. Their starting fleet isn't overly capable of taking MR from the custodians. If you don't play with those, though, someone is likely to grab it well before you.

Another nice thing about Assembly II is that its only exclusion is your home planets. Winnu don't benefit from Assembly II by refreshing their home planet. They benefit from everyone else NOT being able to refresh theirs. At any rate, if the person holding Assembly is doing it right, only those with initiative -1,0,1, and 2 are able to benefit from it, and they could just as easily take new planets rather than spend their home. Last time we played with it, I used it to refresh the L1z1x HS after I took it as Naalu. That was a fun game! I retreated a lot, had fighters hitting on 6's, rez'd opposing GFs, and had my fighters participating in invasion.

Yin rule of thumb: always have at least 1 destroyer on major battle-fronts. Take and keep MR if at all possible. If someone else takes it first, debate whether it's worth the 6/7 resources per round when everyone is trying to take it from you. If they take MR, take Mallice or some other influence heavy planet.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.