Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rondel question (Investor / Factory) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gabriele Pezzato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, I'm new to this game and have a rather simple question, that seems to find no answer in the rules:

Is a nation allowed to stop on "Investor" when neither its treasury nor its government is able to pay all interests?

The same question applies to "Factory" when there isn't enough money to pay the new factory and neither the player controlling the nation has enough money.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
Yes (and likewise for Import): the controlling player must cover any shortfall from personal cash.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriele Pezzato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
Yes (and likewise for Import): the controlling player must cover any shortfall from personal cash.

Sorry, I'm not sure I understand correctly. You mean, "yes", the nation CANNOT stop on Investor/Factory if the player cannot cover the costs that the national treasury are not able to pay?

You also add Import, but I thought buying military units was optional, whereas by Investor it is compulsory to be able to pay all interests. Not sure about Factory, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
All actions other than Invest & Tax are optional. If the country has insufficient funds for the action, the controlling player may supply their own funds for optional optional actions, and must for required actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriele Pezzato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The question remains: is a nation allowed to stop on the rondel space "Factory" if there is not enough money (neither in the treasury nor in the government) to produce a factory? And what about "Investor" and "Import"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
GabrielGeek wrote:
The question remains: is a nation allowed to stop on the rondel space "Factory" if there is not enough money (neither in the treasury nor in the government) to produce a factory?


Yes, the factory acton is optional. However the controlling player may supply the missing funds in order for the country to purchase a factory.

Quote:
And what about "Investor" and "Import"?


Likewise, except that paying dividends is not optional and thus the controlling player must cover any shortfalls.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurence Koehn
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Imperial » Forums » Rules
Re: Rondel question (Investor / Factory)
So, if neither the nation nor the controlling player (nor the two combined) can cover the interest, they cannot choose investor?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
Correct, withe the caveat that the controlling player is allowed to skimp on paying their own dividends as long as all foreign investors are paid.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Babis Tsimoris
Greece
Salonica
flag msg tools
Be the Miracle!
badge
Knowledge is power!
mbmbmbmbmb
GabrielGeek wrote:
Hi, I'm new to this game and have a rather simple question, that seems to find no answer in the rules:

Is a nation allowed to stop on "Investor" when neither its treasury nor its government is able to pay all interests?

The same question applies to "Factory" when there isn't enough money to pay the new factory and neither the player controlling the nation has enough money.



all of you guys make tired our italian friend. So FOR THE LAST TIME:

Amico Gabriele, you are NOT allowed to stop on investor if the treasury or the controlling player of the nation cannot pay all the interest to all the other players. you CAN stop on factory if you or the nation is unable to pay for the construction. simply nothing happens
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.