Recommend
15 
 Thumb up
 Hide
72 Posts
Prev «  1 , 2 , 3  | 

Julius Caesar» Forums » General

Subject: Julius Caesar! I will answer rules questions here! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grant Dalgliesh
United States
Blaine
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
We intend to post an FAQ first. When its thoroughly thought out and tested, we will use it to update the rules to 1.02.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Ludwig
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi,

since no player seems to want to answer my question over at CSW, I cross-post it here.

Navis to Port - rule 8.2

Rule 8.2 states that all navis have to be moved to a friendly port on the same sea in winter. What about navis already in a port? Can they be moved to a different port in the same sea or does this rule only apply to ships already at sea?

Thanks!

Andreas



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Andreas Ludwig wrote:
Rule 8.2 states that all navis have to be moved to a friendly port on the same sea in winter. What about navis already in a port? Can they be moved to a different port in the same sea or does this rule only apply to ships already at sea?


Allowing a ship in port to move to a different port for wintering would essentially give free movement to that ship - so I can't imagine that this would be allowed.

But hey, you never know. I imagine that someone official will have something to say.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Ludwig
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yes, of course that would allow a tactical repositioning of the ships and that's why I ask. The way the rules are written it is not that clear whether that is indeed allowed or not. Point is the rule doesn't say 'move all navis at sea to a friendly port'. As long as I end in a friendly port in the winter turn it would follow the letter of the rule no matter where the ships actually started. It would also follow the usual movement rule, because ports on the same sea can be reached in two moves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Thompson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Yes, of course that would allow a tactical repositioning of the ships and that's why I ask. The way the rules are written it is not that clear whether that is indeed allowed or not. Point is the rule doesn't say 'move all navis at sea to a friendly port'. As long as I end in a friendly port in the winter turn it would follow the letter of the rule no matter where the ships actually started. It would also follow the usual movement rule, because ports on the same sea can be reached in two moves.


Sorry but all you get to do is move your ship at sea to a port on the same sea zone that it is actually is in at the time of the wintering. If a ship is in a port it dosn't get a free repositioning.

Nice to see your minds working but this one is pretty clear!

Justin Thompson
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Ludwig
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi Justin,

thanks for the reply. We are currently playing your game extensively for a review on our wargame website. Sorry, no the rule is not pretty clear as I said in my previous post. If you want to make it clear than better reword it so that 'navis currently at sea' are actually mentioned. Without a clarification the RAW is open to either interpretation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Thompson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
It is pretty clear to me that we should add this to our FAQ so it is really clear. Do you agree? I wasn't making fun of your question but I haven't had one person playing the game (other than you)come to that same conclusion about the boats. We have had questions about retreating, Levying and many others but this one seemed to me to be a real stretch of the words. I understand that you honestly believe we have a hole here so I will talk to Grant and see what he thinks about adding it to the FAQ!

Enjoy the game!

Justin Thompson
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denny Koch
Germany
Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
RLP
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
During Winter, can Navis on sea return to any friendly port city (=cities located at the coast) in the same sea or can they only return to ports with the ship symbol?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Kaiserslautern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules do say 'any port'. AFAIK the ship symbols only tell you where you can build new ships.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Thompson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
8.2 NAVIS to port
Move all Navis to a Friendly port on the same sea. Navis unable to move to a Friendly port are disbanded, but can be rebuilt in the upcoming Year.


I do see that we should put "at sea" in this sentence. I will send this to Grant and get it into the 1.02 rules.

Nice catch!

No this dosn't mean you can move ships already in port to another port during winter.

Quote:
Navis must be built in Friendly major ports, identified on the map with a Navis symbol.


Quote:
All cities located on a coastline are ports. Some ports have a Navis symbol that designates a major port, which are essential for building Navis.


You can only build ships at the towns where you see the ship symbol. You can levy points on a ship in any port.

Thanks

Justin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I m studying the rules and I am confused by the combat sequence: who rolls first? Attacker or defender? My played only War of 1812 and there are no ABCD units. If both attacker and defender got an A block who goes first?
A blocks fight simultaneously then B blocks just like Nexus Ops?

Can you please make a battle example? The one in the rules seem a little unexplained whereas the War of 1812 rulebook makes a longer and clearer example!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Kaiserslautern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kalevi1999 wrote:
If both attacker and defender got an A block who goes first?


The defender goes first, i.e. the order is defender A, attacker A, defender B, attacker B, etc. This changes only for some of the event cards (Mars and Neptune).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Niko Ruf wrote:
kalevi1999 wrote:
If both attacker and defender got an A block who goes first?


The defender goes first, i.e. the order is defender A, attacker A, defender B, attacker B, etc. This changes only for some of the event cards (Mars and Neptune).



Ok I read in the rules :"All A blocks go first, then all B blocks, then all C blocks. If tied, the Defender has the first battle turn."
So if Caesar is got 2 A blocks and Pompey just 1 A block who goes first, Caesar?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Kaiserslautern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kalevi1999 wrote:
So if Caesar is got 2 A blocks and Pompey just 1 A block who goes first, Caesar?


Who is the defender?

If Caesar is the defender, both of his A blocks fire, than Pompey's A block fires.

If Pompey is the defender, his single A block fires first, followed by Caesar's two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Niko Ruf wrote:
kalevi1999 wrote:
So if Caesar is got 2 A blocks and Pompey just 1 A block who goes first, Caesar?


Who is the defender?

If Caesar is the defender, both of his A blocks fire, than Pompey's A block fires.

If Pompey is the defender, his single A block fires first, followed by Caesar's two.


I thought, since the number of A blocks in my example is not equal, the one with more A blocks goes first but your statement says if both players are got A blocks (as for you their number is not important) defenders goes first. So what does this mean "If tied, the Defender has the first battle turn."?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kalevi1999 wrote:
So what does this mean "If tied, the Defender has the first battle turn."?


To be honest, "tied" is a poor phrasing - since it implies a numerical value.

"Tied" means that, if both the attacker and defender have blocks in the same initiative category (A,B,C,D), then the defender's blocks in that category fire first.

The number of blocks per category (as stated above) has absolutely no bearing on who fires first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Martino
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
wkover wrote:
kalevi1999 wrote:
So what does this mean "If tied, the Defender has the first battle turn."?


To be honest, "tied" is a poor phrasing - since it implies a numerical value.

"Tied" means that, if both the attacker and defender have blocks in the same initiative category (A,B,C,D), then the defender's blocks in that category fire first.

The number of blocks per category (as stated above) has absolutely no bearing on who fires first.


OK it makes sense and matches battle order written in the faq
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pavlos
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a simple question from a newbie in Block games.

After all the movement and reserves and reinforcements etc.etc.

How do you keep track or remember who is the attacker,who is the defender,which roads or seas did anyone used,which are the reserves......you get the point.

I'm waiting for my copy of the game to be delivered but i already have read the rules and i still can't think of a way to remember all these information since battles are resolved after both players have moved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Kaiserslautern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PKOURKOULOP wrote:
How do you keep track or remember who is the attacker,who is the defender,which roads or seas did anyone used,which are the reserves......you get the point.


It's never been a problem for me.

Seriously, you don't have many actions per turn, so it is not hard to remember. A good reminder is to place attacking blocks slightly to the side of the embattled city on the road they used to attack. If things get really confusing, you can also turn the attackers face down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt R
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
It was my life, like all lives, mysterious and irrevocable and sacred. So very close, so very present, so very belonging to me. How wild it was to let it be.
mbmbmbmbmb
As to regrouping -- can my victorious units choose different destinations after the battle (one goes to an adjacent city, one stays in the city where the battle happened, one goes back from the city it came from, etc.) or must they all choose the same destination?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
enzo622 wrote:
As to regrouping -- can my victorious units choose different destinations after the battle (one goes to an adjacent city, one stays in the city where the battle happened, one goes back from the city it came from, etc.) or must they all choose the same destination?


Blocks can regroup to different areas. They do not all have to regroup to the same area. One or more victorious blocks can also stay in the original battle area.

This can be found in the rules clarifications, I think.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joaquin Mejia
Spain
flag msg tools
Julius Caesar » Forums » General
Re: Julius Caesar! I will answer rules questions here!
Hi,

I love most of this game, but something is rotting my mind. What´s the historical reasoning behind 2-3-4 units movement limit per road per turn? (I understand it is basically an abstracted mechanic to reflect supply limitations, but I think it may have gone out of hand here). I guess this is legacy from previous games like Richard III. But is this really needed for a game with a map covering the whole of the Mediterranean with fewer alternatives to choose when going from one place to the next? Besides, in Richard III you can move 2 areas while going into battle (which easily allows to move a big army of 8 or even 12 blocks to use different approaches and attack an enemy 2 areas away), but here in JC you can only move 1 area in that case. That makes impossible to divide your big army and use a different route for each part of it to reach the enemy target area. I find very difficult (=impossible) to duplicate the historical very big battles that the rules commentaries mention...

In the game it seems very easy to mass an army and just wait there, but moving a big army to battle seems impossible. How can we duplicate the size of the battles mentioned in the rulebook timeline, with 8, 10, 13 or 14 legions per side? Am I missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prev «  1 , 2 , 3  | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.