$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Kingdom Builder» Forums » Rules

Subject: questions on adjacency requirement (building rule #3) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. When "moving" a settlement, is the adjacency requirement considered after the settlement to be moved is removed from its location? For example, after placing three settlements on a large Grassland with my terrain card, I cannot use Barn to move one of them one hex away to make a new settlement "area" (in a hex which is adjacent to the vacated hex but not the two others), correct? And after placing three settlements on a Grassland which is exactly 3 hexes with my terrain card, I cannot use Barn to move one of them away to make a new area (because the vacated hex counts as an eligible adjacent hex), correct?

2. For the purpose of placing a settlement with the Tower, all board edge build-able hex count as the same terrain, correct? So that if any such hex is adjacent to your settlement and unoccupied (regardless of their printed terrain, unless it is non-build-able water or mountain), you cannot use Tower to make a new area, correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald X.
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Kingdom Builder » Forums » Rules
Re: questions on adjacency requirement (building rule #3)
Alan Kwan wrote:
1. When "moving" a settlement, is the adjacency requirement considered after the settlement to be moved is removed from its location? For example, after placing three settlements on a large Grassland with my terrain card, I cannot use Barn to move one of them one hex away to make a new settlement "area" (in a hex which is adjacent to the vacated hex but not the two others), correct? And after placing three settlements on a Grassland which is exactly 3 hexes with my terrain card, I cannot use Barn to move one of them away to make a new area (because the vacated hex counts as an eligible adjacent hex), correct?

2. For the purpose of placing a settlement with the Tower, all board edge build-able hex count as the same terrain, correct? So that if any such hex is adjacent to your settlement and unoccupied (regardless of their printed terrain, unless it is non-build-able water or mountain), you cannot use Tower to make a new area, correct?

Moving a piece means picking it up and then placing it. Adjacency is checked when placing the piece, which is after removing it. So if your terrain is grass and you only have one piece adjacent to grass and you have a Barn, you can pick up that piece and then place it on any grass hex, since you are no longer adjacent to grass. Similarly if you aren't adjacent to grass and pick up a piece on grass for the Barn, you'd have to place it in the same hex you picked it up from, since that's a grass hex you're adjacent to. The rulebook does not spell this out, but that's the way I had it working, and it looks consistent with the rulebook.

"Count as the same terrain" is not the way I'd think of it. If you are adjacent to any hex on the edge of the board that isn't water etc., you will have to take one of those hexes with the Tower if you use it.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer, Donald.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.