Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Eminent Domain» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Colonize AND Warfare strategy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A buddy and I were discussing the possibility of going both warfare and colonize in Eminent Domain. I thought it might be possible provided you basically did the following:

1) Ditch your produce/trades as soon as possible
2) Buy an Improved Research tech once you can. From there on out, use the IR to ditch your other Research cards. After they're all gone, you can use IR to get rid of excess role cards in your hand if you're becoming glutted on Survey/Colonize/Warfare cards. You can also use the remaining symbol on the card to boost when appropriate if you can't. You'll probably want the Warfare+Research one if possible.
3) From there on out, you'll be trying to Survey as frequently as possible while following the Colonize and Warfare roles of others, occasionally calling them yourself when it benefits you. Use Warfare and Colonize as actions to colonize/conquer planets. Try to end the game through stack depletion as fast as you can. Don't give the Research or Produce/Trade players time to catch up.

What do you think? Is it possible? I don't really think I'd go out of my way to do it, but it seems like it could work.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kory Stevens
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As I recall, you don't need improved research to remove research from your deck, the basic research cards are able to remove themselves.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
It's certainly possible (I've done it myself on occasion). I don't think I'd go the same way you did though - I'd probably research some Improved Colonize cards so I could flip 2 planets at once, and maybe some Improved Warfare as well so I could collect a couple of fighters.

Survey Team (Level 2 Metallic technology) would be a welcome addition, as it helps you get planets without having to add Survey cards to your deck (and without allowing your opponents to get planets as well). Scorched Earth might not be bad either, as it reduces the number of Fighters needed to flip planets. Obviously planets with Colonize symbols and Warfare symbols would be good, as would planets with +1 Hand Size.

A good target for removal (with Research/Improved Research) would be some of those Survey cards, as eventually you'll have way too many of those and you won't draw enough of anything else.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sabaki wrote:
As I recall, you don't need improved research to remove research from your deck, the basic research cards are able to remove themselves.


It's true, you don't. I was merely thinking that keeping a single Research card in the deck (which is "stuck there" once you use it to remove the other two) is much less useful than an Improved Research, which will at least have another symbol you can use to boost role selections. It's not too tough to get to that first 3-research tech card, and then you can use it to siphon out other cards you don't want much more efficiently than a normal Research card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sedjtroll wrote:
It's certainly possible (I've done it myself on occasion). I don't think I'd go the same way you did though - I'd probably research some Improved Colonize cards so I could flip 2 planets at once, and maybe some Improved Warfare as well so I could collect a couple of fighters.


See my main worry is you're already stuffing your deck with Survey, Colonize, and Warfare cards. Having to take the time out of your schedule to go after Research cards in the long term AND spending the role choices on it or having to "waste" hand space so you can hopefully follow a Research role just seems like you're slowing down your deck for some relatively minor benefits. I don't deny that Improved Warfare and Improved Colonize are helpful, but they seem far more useful in decks devoted to one over the other and I'm not sure the Research-oriented distraction is worth it.

Quote:
Survey Team (Level 2 Metallic technology) would be a welcome addition, as it helps you get planets without having to add Survey cards to your deck (and without allowing your opponents to get planets as well). Scorched Earth might not be bad either, as it reduces the number of Fighters needed to flip planets. Obviously planets with Colonize symbols and Warfare symbols would be good, as would planets with +1 Hand Size.


I agree that all of those would be handy. I'm just not sure the Research detour pays off in the long run. Planets are a set number of points and it seems like the faster you can Colonize/Warfare your way into a large number of planets while running the stack(s) out before Research and Produce/Trade strategies can catch up, the better.

Quote:
A good target for removal (with Research/Improved Research) would be some of those Survey cards, as eventually you'll have way too many of those and you won't draw enough of anything else.


Absolutely! You'll want to Survey fairly regularly, but those Surveys are going to absolutely gunk up your deck in short order. The Improved Research tech can help thin them out to a reasonable level.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Snipafist wrote:
sedjtroll wrote:
It's certainly possible (I've done it myself on occasion). I don't think I'd go the same way you did though - I'd probably research some Improved Colonize cards so I could flip 2 planets at once, and maybe some Improved Warfare as well so I could collect a couple of fighters.


See my main worry is you're already stuffing your deck with Survey, Colonize, and Warfare cards. Having to take the time out of your schedule to go after Research cards in the long term AND spending the role choices on it or having to "waste" hand space so you can hopefully follow a Research role just seems like you're slowing down your deck for some relatively minor benefits. I don't deny that Improved Warfare and Improved Colonize are helpful, but they seem far more useful in decks devoted to one over the other and I'm not sure the Research-oriented distraction is worth it.


*shrug* maybe you're right... I haven't played all that much eminent domain
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sedjtroll wrote:

*shrug* maybe you're right... I haven't played all that much eminent domain


Please don't take it as an "only an idiot would advocate that!" but more of an "I'm unconvinced that the additional effort is a net gain to that strategy" response. I'm happy for people to bounce ideas off of and who can challenge preconceptions of my own, but I will generally fight for them until I'm convinced otherwise .
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Snipafist wrote:
sedjtroll wrote:

*shrug* maybe you're right... I haven't played all that much eminent domain


Please don't take it as an "only an idiot would advocate that!" but more of an "I'm unconvinced that the additional effort is a net gain to that strategy" response. I'm happy for people to bounce ideas off of and who can challenge preconceptions of my own, but I will generally fight for them until I'm convinced otherwise .

Oh, of course! I'm glad to hear you're enjoying the game. I'd be interested to hear your thoughts after you try a few more strategies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malachi Brown
United States
Hermitage
TN
flag msg tools
It's turtles all the way down.
badge
“Questions are a burden to others; answers a prison for oneself.”
mbmbmbmbmb
Snipafist wrote:
I was merely thinking that keeping a single Research card in the deck (which is "stuck there" once you use it to remove the other two) is much less useful than an Improved Research, which will at least have another symbol you can use to boost role selections.

I thought I read somewhere in the clarifications that the Research action can remove the Research card being used to take the action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Malachi wrote:
Snipafist wrote:
I was merely thinking that keeping a single Research card in the deck (which is "stuck there" once you use it to remove the other two) is much less useful than an Improved Research, which will at least have another symbol you can use to boost role selections.

I thought I read somewhere in the clarifications that the Research action can remove the Research card being used to take the action.

Indeed, the Research card (And the Improved Research card) CAN remove itself as one of the 2 cards. There's a special exception/note in the rulebook indicating this, because otherwise it wouldn't be able to do that (it's not "in your hand" anymore).

Edit: the occasion on which you will actually want to do this is very rare, but I thought it was acceptable in those rare instances and so included the rule exception.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malachi Brown
United States
Hermitage
TN
flag msg tools
It's turtles all the way down.
badge
“Questions are a burden to others; answers a prison for oneself.”
mbmbmbmbmb
sedjtroll wrote:
Edit: the occasion on which you will actually want to do this is very rare, but I thought it was acceptable in those rare instances and so included the rule exception.

I have done it at least once, when I had done a bit of research but then wanted to change gears.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Malachi wrote:
sedjtroll wrote:
Edit: the occasion on which you will actually want to do this is very rare, but I thought it was acceptable in those rare instances and so included the rule exception.

I have done it at least once, when I had done a bit of research but then wanted to change gears.

Indeed. I suppose last night I Streamlined out some research cards from my research heavy deck as well, so maybe it's not as rare as all that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenny VenOsdel
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I've done hybrids as well and I usually include the Research role a bit. I also liked grabbing an improved survey tech for better draws at the beginning of a turn as well. I think getting some research done in there is almost necessary to make your deck work as a hybrid. Otherwise it ends up moving so slowly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Wright
United Kingdom
Derby
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yesterday I took the Colonize+warfare route sucessfully - but with a slightly different tactic to the OP.

My first 2 actions were to ditch both my trade/produce and my research cards (with 2 research actions on consecutive turns). I then just used survey/colonise/warfare to expand my empire as much as possible.

No research at all - and it was strong enough becuase of all the symbols I was picking up on conquered planets menat I was leeching follow actions like crazy off my opponents.

Another wrinkle I found with having a survey-heavy hand was that if I took the survey role, but kept a couple of survey cards back in my hand, I could often follow the next opponent who'd take the survey role "becuase everyone has already used their survey cards".

So it worked for me, but like every game of EmDo it does depend on what your opponents do.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Freed
United States
California
flag msg tools
StroppyGnome wrote:
Yesterday I took the Colonize+warfare route sucessfully - but with a slightly different tactic to the OP.

My first 2 actions were to ditch both my trade/produce and my research cards (with 2 research actions on consecutive turns). I then just used survey/colonise/warfare to expand my empire as much as possible.

No research at all - and it was strong enough becuase of all the symbols I was picking up on conquered planets menat I was leeching follow actions like crazy off my opponents.

Another wrinkle I found with having a survey-heavy hand was that if I took the survey role, but kept a couple of survey cards back in my hand, I could often follow the next opponent who'd take the survey role "becuase everyone has already used their survey cards".

So it worked for me, but like every game of EmDo it does depend on what your opponents do.
I think that would work great! I'll try that when I next play. This makes it easy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Eminent Domain » Forums » Strategy
Re: Colonize AND Warfare strategy?
Said buddy actually tried it out. It worked okay, but I hesitate to say it was great. The problem was that due to how colonize stays on planets and warfare keeps rolling through your hand, it ended up quickly derailing into a basic warfare+survey strategy with the occasional colonize thrown in here and there.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Benson
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
StroppyGnome wrote:
My first 2 actions were to ditch both my trade/produce and my research cards (with 2 research actions on consecutive turns). I then just used survey/colonise/warfare to expand my empire as much as possible.


This seems like a good tactic with 3 or 4 people, but I feel like with 2 people, couldn't your opponent overtake you by picking up powerful research cards? I've only played one game, so excuse me if this is a silly question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.