Brian
United States
Oswego
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi folks, rules question here: when playing the law 'fleet restrictions' you are limited by only being able to have 2 ships of the same type in a single hex.

What happens as this card comes out? Are those overage ships scuttled? Returned to an adjascent system?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin DeOlden
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
3D printing available for service at: http://www.3dhubs.com/los-angeles/hubs/martin-chino
mbmbmbmbmb
Immediately scuttled. Any ships over the new LAW fleet supply will return to your reinforcements.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Oswego
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Day

League City
Texas
msg tools
tawnos76 wrote:
Immediately scuttled. Any ships over the new LAW fleet supply will return to your reinforcements.

I wouldn't say scuttled. I'd say destroyed.

Fleet Restrictions is one of my favorite laws in the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Gylthinel wrote:
tawnos76 wrote:
Immediately scuttled. Any ships over the new LAW fleet supply will return to your reinforcements.

I wouldn't say scuttled. I'd say destroyed.

They have the same effect in TI3
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Day

League City
Texas
msg tools
sigmazero13 wrote:
Gylthinel wrote:
tawnos76 wrote:
Immediately scuttled. Any ships over the new LAW fleet supply will return to your reinforcements.

I wouldn't say scuttled. I'd say destroyed.

They have the same effect in TI3

They basically were... until Transfabrication.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Gylthinel wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Gylthinel wrote:
tawnos76 wrote:
Immediately scuttled. Any ships over the new LAW fleet supply will return to your reinforcements.

I wouldn't say scuttled. I'd say destroyed.

They have the same effect in TI3

They basically were... until Transfabrication.

Transfabrication only applies during an activation, though (Specifically, the build step of your own activation). It doesn't apply to units scuttled during the Status Phase, nor would it apply to units destroyed/scuttled because of a law So for the purposes of this thread's question, it doesn't matter which term you use.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Day

League City
Texas
msg tools
sigmazero13 wrote:
Transfabrication only applies during an activation, though (Specifically, the build step of your own activation). It doesn't apply to units scuttled during the Status Phase, nor would it apply to units destroyed/scuttled because of a law So for the purposes of this thread's question, it doesn't matter which term you use.

Guess we’ll just have to agree to disagree. I’ve seen people confuse the term “combat” and “battle,” “ship” and “non-fighter ship,” “conquest” and “Invasion,” and if you ask a player of TI what “adjacent” means you’ll get several exposé on the topic. There’s rife complaining about how FFG uses words inconsistently on their cards, rules and FAQs, especially with the poor quality delivered in Shards. So in my mind, it ALWAYS matters what term you use. Not that I disagree with your assessment, we all know you’ve researched Transfabrication rather thoroughly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Regardless of what you call the loss of ships after this law passes, it doesn't apply to Transfabrication anyway - Transfabrication specifically only applies immediately before the Build Step of an activation, as written on the tech card.

So while there may (or may not) be a "correct" term for that loss of ships, it wouldn't affect gameplay at all either way in regards to this law. Transfabrication has no effect on it no matter how you slice it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Livio D'Alessio

Pennsylvania
msg tools
Does anyone have a ruling on what happens if Fleet Restrictions is not passed as a law. Last game we debated whether you either:

a) Pay 1 TG AT each system, one at a time, and for those which you don't/can't pay, you lose those in excess at EACH unpaid system;

b) OR do you take the total number of systems in which you're in excess and pay the total TGs or lose all excess ships at EVERY system?

In other words, is there an individual price/choice at each system or do you pay a total price or lose all excess at every system?

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Introducing"fleet restrictions" LAW midgame
It says "for each system", so I'm 99% sure that means you do it on a system-by-system basis (IE, your option A).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.