Matthew Hopkins
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation in our current game:


During the current round:
1) Player "A" activates one of his systems, builds a spacedock there.

2) Player "B" plays Production strategy card.

3) Player "A" executes secondary ability of Production card. Can Player "A" build three units at the new spacedock?

Since production strategy card states you can produce in a system that is already activated, we wondered if this would overrule the new spacedock restriction of having to wait until the following round before it could produce.

Thoughts?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ter Ter
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No you can't use Production secondary to produce units in a newly builded space dock. it does not overrule the "the new spacedock restriction of having to wait until the following round before it could produce."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Hopkins
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Ter, that was my conclusion as well, but given the tactical importance of the player's desire to build there immediately, we figured it was worth getting a clarification.

Matt
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gagner
United States
Maple Grove
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have the new expansion the Arborec can get around this limitation.
While they still can't build at the space dock, they could simply build with the ground forces present at the new space dock.
There are also some other interesting tactics that can come up.
I purchased Daxcsive Animators and attacked someone.
After winning the combat and reanimating some of his troops, I built with them.
They hadn't actually moved afterall.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's unclear whether Arborec GF can use production to build, since it specifically notes systems with a Space Dock.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Indeherberge
msg tools
The FAQ states that in case of the old Imperial card's secondary, it is only possible to build from the Space Dock in the system. Considering the wording is similar enough, I assume this goes for the Production card's secondary as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Mitchell
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Production Strategy Card & Newly Constructed Spacedock
Sarcasmorator wrote:
It's unclear whether Arborec GF can use production to build, since it specifically notes systems with a Space Dock.


This point was actually addressed in the most recent FAQ: "Q: Can Arborec Ground Forces be used with the Production Strategy Card?
A: Yes. However, the Ground Forces must be in a system containing one or more friendly Space Docks."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.