$10.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Flash Duel: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Zane, Onimaru and Troq abilities (and FAQ clarification) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bertrand Decoster
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hello,

The preordered games just got in, so expect some questions from the new players!

1 - Onimaru's Clockwork soldier state that the opponent cannot move behind the token. Does it also prevents any retreat? Because the way I see it, your opponent has a "wall" that moves toward him 2 case per turn, but the wording of the card implies something else...

2 - Zane's shoulder ram states that if Zane connect, both player move according to the card number revealed. I have again a question "wording vs what makes sense". If the players are 3 cases apart (2 cases between them), and Zane reveal a 4, what happens between :
- they both move 4 cases (wording)
- zane move 4 cases, his opponent 2 cases only, so that he is still adjacent (makes more sense)
- zane moves 2 cases, his opponent moves back 2 cases (makes also sense)

3 - Troq's Giant growth say that (in this order) you discard cards, then get cards from the discard pile. So, just to be sure, if there is only a 5 in the discard pile, you have the right to discard 2,3,4 and get 3,4,5? (I mean, we could be in some ugly Magic-like game where the act of discarding goes into the pile, and you have to draw from the discard pile before your discarded cards get to the discard pile. I know it's far-fetched, but you're never too sure ^^)

4 - FAQ clarification :
Jaina's push and Degrey's push do not count as main actions? I believe they do not (which makes Jaina quite powerful), am I wrong?

Lum's Raise the Stakes and Gwen's Shadow plague : I fail to see why if Lum uses raise the stakes and win, he wins all three rounds... I mean, if Lum uses Raise the Stake and then we have to check who advances farthest, then yes, it makes sense that Gwen's disadvantage pop up and he loses 3 rounds. But if Gwen loses before the tiebreaker check, his disadvantage still applies? Is there a reason? (playtesting?)

Valerie's Sudden Inspiration and Gloria's Sanctuary : If you draw the last card while being attacked, then you don't need to block. OK. But in the time-over procedure, does the attacker still has the cards he attacked with or were they discarded?

Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uǝsuǝſ ǝᴉɯɐſ
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
mb
fezvez wrote:
Onimaru's Clockwork soldier state that the opponent cannot move behind the token. Does it also prevents any retreat?

My understanding is that if your pawn is in front of the token, you may retreat only back to the token (going further is instead stopped at the space of the token). What I still question is whether, if you already share the space with the token, if you can play a card to retreat, causing you to stay in the same space you're on (like you can when standing on the start space).

My second question regarding this is whether, when the soldier token is supposed to move forward, what happens if it can't move the full 2 spaces? If it could only move 1 space, does it indeed move forward, or does it stay where it is? I'm guessing it moves forward, but as far as I can tell this is not explicitly stated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Decoster
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
My second question regarding this is whether, when the soldier token is supposed to move forward, what happens if it can't move the full 2 spaces? If it could only move 1 space, does it indeed move forward, or does it stay where it is? I'm guessing it moves forward, but as far as I can tell this is not explicitly stated.


Well, it says "it can't move past opponents". It seems, with no possible contradiction, that it can reach the player's token (so in your case it moves forward).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
uǝsuǝſ ǝᴉɯɐſ
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
mb
fezvez wrote:
It seems, with no possible contradiction, that it can reach the player's token
I agree that the token being on the same space as the player does not contradict the restriction of it not being able to move beyond a player, but there still seems to be another ambiguity because other explanations of movement are stated more explicitly, examples being 1) when retreating, if you would move back beyond the start space you instead move to the start space, and 2) when moving forward, if you would move beyond the opponent you instead move directly in front of the opponent. Since I haven't noticed it being stated anywhere what would happen if the Clockwork Soldier token would move beyond a player, both moving as far as it can without exceeding the boundary created by the player pawn (similar to retreating only to the start space boundary in example #1) and staying one space in front of the player pawn (similar to example #2) seem plausible
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Flash Duel: Second Edition » Forums » Rules
Re: Zane, Onimaru and Troq abilities (and FAQ clarification)

Jaina's thing doesn't require them to be adjacent. Here is the FAQ entry from the rulebook:

DeGrey's Spectral Push and Jaina’s Charged Shot
DeGrey and Jaina don’t need to be adjacent to an opponent to use these
abilities. They can use these to push from any distance (as long as the
victim is on the correct color square, in DeGrey’s case).

Gwen's concept is that if she loses the round, she loses twice. If she forfeits the round (in general, like no Lum involved), she has to also lose twice (or else you could forfeit to avoid the penalty). So if she forfeits to Lum, it is consistent that she still loses two rounds (plus another one because of Lum's ability).

The movement rules are the same across the whole game. By "movement," that means "the rules for changing the position of your pawn for any reason, when it would reach an obstacle" are the same across the whole game. It doesn't matter if the "movement" is a move, push, dashing strike, retreat, etc. It doesn't matter if the obstacle is a player pawn, the edge of the board, or a clockwork soldier. In all cases, you go as far as you can, then stop when you reach the obstacle.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
I forgot to answer your question about Troq. First you discard the 3 cards. Then you retrieve cards, where each retrieved one has to be higher than a discarded one. Your example does work, where you discard 2,3,4 and retrieve 3,4,5. You can do that and not have to recover because you did meet the requirement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remigiusz Bajor
Poland
Szczecin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What about Zane's shoulder ram?
If I'm playing Zane and am on 8 space and my opponent is on 10 space and I use shoulder ram - reveal "4", where do I and my opponent end?
a) I on 9 and my opponent on 13
b) I on 9 and my opponent on 14
c) I on 12 and my opponent on 14
d) I on 12 and my opponent on 13
Which is correct mr Sirlin?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
First move forward "that many spaces." That many spaces is 4 spaces. You reach the 9 and can't move forward anymore. Then it says if you'd move into them (true) to push them "that many spaces." That many spaces is still 4, that's the card you revealed in this example. Push the opponent 4 spaces which causes them to go to 14.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remigiusz Bajor
Poland
Szczecin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. That's what I thought seriously!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kweku
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sirlin wrote:

Gwen's concept is that if she loses the round, she loses twice. If she forfeits the round (in general, like no Lum involved), she has to also lose twice (or else you could forfeit to avoid the penalty). So if she forfeits to Lum, it is consistent that she still loses two rounds (plus another one because of Lum's ability).


But this isn't what Gwen's Shadow Plague says. It doesn't say if she loses a round she loses twice, it says "If the round would be decided by who advanced farthest, instead you lose this round and the next." Assuming the card isn't misprinted, there shouldn't really be an interaction with Raise the Stakes and Shadow Plague unless the deck runs out, like the original poster said. The FAQ also doesn't say anything about Gwen forfeiting to Lum, it just says "If Lum wins the rounds..."

I was also confused by this particular FAQ answer
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Maybe I didn't say it right last time. Basically you have to know that her forfeiting must trigger the extra loss, then you just read the cards and do what they say.

If lum asks her to forfeit, she can and then she loses that round plus one more because of shadow plague. The faq entry is trying to say "if it's the case where lum's thing says lum gets an extra win and her thing says she gets an extra loss, in that case do they really stack? Yes."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.