$10.00
Chris Shaffer
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A player has the integrated economy and a scientist. The player activates a system and builds a space dock on a planet in an adjacent system. Must the scientist be on the planet where the new space dock is built to get the discount? Or may it be on a planet in the activated system instead?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't use Integrated Economy to build Space Docks like that. The technology says "When producing units at your Space Docks, you may now place the new units in any activated, adjacent system that is empty or friendly"

Space Docks are not produced at other Space Docks - they are produced on their own accord, independently of Space Docks. As such, they do not qualify for the tech; to build an SD, you must build it in the activated system as normal. Even placing a new SD in a system that has an SD on another planet already isn't building it "at" that Space Dock, as the other Space Dock has no impact or bearing on it's construction.

This is further supported by the fact that the tech talks about putting GFs and PDS on such planets, but does not discuss Space Docks.
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Necessary Evil
United States
Glen Arm
Maryland
flag msg tools
Yes, I play the Bass.
badge
Sweet Holy Moses, Fruit F*cker Prime!
mbmbmbmbmb
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Building a space dock with a scientist and integrated economy
Scott is correct.

They key is:
Space Docks and any facilities are built by the planet they are assigned to at the end of a tactical action. If that planet has a scientist the you get a discount.

Units are built at space docks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.