Recommend
31 
 Thumb up
 Hide
63 Posts
Prev «  1 , 2 , 3  | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Design Contests

Subject: [WIP] Solitaire PnP Contest: Raider 16 - Atlantis rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: make [+] [View All]
João Paulo Vilas Boas
Brazil
Palmas
Tocantins
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Bruce Mansfield

First of all, I would like to congratulate you for the excellent game. You've really surprised me not only by the overall very good quality of the rules and materials, but mainly because of extremely creative way that you came up to adress a board game theme (WWII) that I felt practically exhausted, given the huge amount of very similar titles about it. thumbsup

In my opinion, Raider 16 has reached a very good balance between historical accuracy, originality and fun. At first sight, the game isn't very easy to learn, but once the player gets the "feel", the gameplay flows smoothly. thumbsup

I had never heard of VASSAL before, and your game gave me the perfect opportunity to know and test it. It's really fantastic! I've played my first game yesterday and I'm looking forward to print and assemble it ASAP! thumbsup thumbsup


Some questions have emerged during gameplay. Can you please help me?

1 If the Raider defeated an AMC but suffered one point of damage, is this damage automatically restored in the end of the combat? If not, then should I assume that the damaged Raider, from now on, rolls only 1dr in every Hunt roll for the remaining of the game?

2 What happens if the damaged Raider from the previous question has the bad luck to face the other AMC in another hunt action in the same turn?

3 If the Raider captures one ship (which is worth 2 VPs if captured), does the player gets the extra VP even if he/she didn't played the PRIZE CREW ability card?

4 I found four different ways to interpret the NAVAL MINES ability:

Quote:

NAVAL MINES.
- Basic Hunt Action + Night Conditions and the Raider Marker is currently in Zone 7 or Zone 15 (see card): roll 2dr. Each ‘6’ result sinks 1 merchant ship. Draw the top card from the draw pile, score 1 VP for sinking (no capture allowed), and place the ship in the sunk ships pile. Ability does not apply to AMC Combat.


A The Player must perform one full hunt action as usual (the hunt approach and, eventually, the hunt attack phases). Independently of the result of this hunt action, the player can freely roll extra 2dr and, for every 6, he/she can automatically sink one among the contact markers in the sea zone. (Max number of ships sunk: 3).

B The player must perform only the hunt approach phase as usual. If sucessful, he/she ignores the hunt attack phase and, instead, rolls 2dr. If the player got 6, the ship is automatically sunk. If the player got 66, then he/she can automatically sink one extra contact marker in the same sea zone. (Max number of ships sunk: 2).

C The player performs neither the hunt approach nor the hunt attack phases. He/she rolls 2dr. For every 6, he/she can automatically sink one among the avaliable contact markers in the sea zone. (Max number of ships sunk: 2).

D The same as C, with the difference that the ships affected by the naval mines have nothing to do with the contact markers in the sea zone i.e. for every 6, the player only draws one card and automatically sinks that ship. (Max number of ships sunk: 2. The avaliable contact markers in the sea zone remain untouched).


Thanks in advance!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Mansfield
United States
Bellingham
WA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for giving it a play - I appreciate your time and feedback.

1. Damage is automatically repaired at the end of the combat.
2. Run the second AMC combat normally.
3. Yes. Playing PRIZE CREW allows other additional actions and +1 hand size if the appropriate symbol is on the card.
4. D. Mines are handled a little differently. They represent mines left behind by the raider; the rolls abstract the effect of the mines over the course of the game.

- Bruce
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
João Paulo Vilas Boas
Brazil
Palmas
Tocantins
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi again.

Thank you very much for the answers!

Concerning the NAVAL MINES ability, if I understood correctly, when the player discards the card for its ability, then he/she CANNOT perform a normal hunt action with the card. The only possibility to perform a normal hunt action using such card is if the player deliberately chooses to ignore the card ability. Is that so?

Another question: given the following situation:



Is it legal to play SEARCH LIGHTS and choose to automatically capture one contact marker even if a normal hunt action would automatically result in a failure due to BAMS code? (e.g. choose to automatically capture one among the two contact markers in the top right of sea zone 7).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Mansfield
United States
Bellingham
WA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
SEARCH LIGHTS, and other tactical abilities on a card, are only played during a hunt after a contact marker has been revealed as a possible contact and a successful hunt roll has been made (i.e., not until you've drawn the merchant ship card) - and only if, in this case, it's a night turn. It doesn't allow automatic capture. In effect, you follow the standard hunt procedure to located and approach a merchant and find that the conditions are just right to blind their crew with your search lights, leading to an automatic capture.

Bruce
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Mansfield
United States
Bellingham
WA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Oh, forgot to respond to your NAVAL MINES question. Yes, you're correct. NAVAL MINES only allows the naval mines roll. At least, this was my intention. Looking back over the rules, however, I can see the discrepancy you note.

I can see this going either way: you may use the card as a basic Hunt action AND also use the card's tactical ability to lay naval mines (a separate activity from any combat resulting from the Hunt action). This wasn't my intention but is allowable as the rules are written.

Or, the NAVAL MINES card may ONLY be used to lay naval mines and not initiate a basic Hunt Action. This was my intention but didn't explain this clearly in the rules.

I don't see that either makes a huge difference in the play of the game, as the difference is simply an additional hunt action.

Bruce
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
João Paulo Vilas Boas
Brazil
Palmas
Tocantins
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bcmansfield wrote:


I don't see that either makes a huge difference in the play of the game, as the difference is simply an additional hunt action.


I believe the same could be said about the CHANGE DISGUISE ability being used with a normal search action in the same turn. However, given the fact that NAVAL MINES has very specific requirements and that each CHANGE DISGUISE can only be used once per game, the extra actions granted by those cards won't unbalance the game at all.


Concerning the determination of the SEARCH NUMBER in sea-lane zones, I noted a difference between the text from the rulebook and the text from the player aid. In the player aid, the SEARCH NUMBER is determined by counting the number of zones with ?, QQQ and RRR markers. However, in the rulebook, it is written that the player must count only the number of QQQ and RRR markers.

By listening to the demonstration audio again, I noted that around 52-53 min you proceeded as stated in the rulebook. So I assumed that the rulebook is the correct rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris toph
Germany
Mannheim
flag msg tools
Not an actual picture of me!
mbmbmbmbmb
Printed in b/w and smaller size to be tested while traveling.

ps: This really needs a bgg page ;-)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris toph
Germany
Mannheim
flag msg tools
Not an actual picture of me!
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, and a question:
As I might not have the time to read the rules before I go on the plane, is there anything besides the map using color coding?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris toph
Germany
Mannheim
flag msg tools
Not an actual picture of me!
mbmbmbmbmb
Built :-)

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Kennedy
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bcmansfield wrote:
SEARCH LIGHTS, and other tactical abilities on a card, are only played during a hunt after a contact marker has been revealed as a possible contact and a successful hunt roll has been made (i.e., not until you've drawn the merchant ship card) - and only if, in this case, it's a night turn.

This needs to be clarified in the rules. As written, under the Tactical Abilities section, top of page 13:
Quote:
All Action Card abilities must be pre-declared and committed before making any dice rolls.

By your statement above the intent is that you can make the contact roll. I suggest changing the wording to something like:
Additional Hunt Action Card abilities must be declared prior to rolling any Defense Dice.

Even better, why not remove this part altogether and make it an explicit step in the Hunt Procedure, coming after Step 7:
8. You may play any additional Action Cards with Hunt Tactical Abilities from your hand
9. Roll the Defense Dice...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandros Boucharelis
Greece
Drama
flag msg tools
designer
ubi bene ibi patria
mbmbmbmbmb
and when this marvellous game is gonna have its place at the BGG's game list?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hansen
United States
Salt Lake City
UT
flag msg tools
designer
Check out The Print and Play Games News Blog!
badge
Escape from Nooseneck High is Coming Soon!
mbmbmbmbmb
BoardGameGeek » Forums » Board Game Design » Design Contests
Re: [WIP] Solitaire PnP Contest: Raider 16 - Atlantis
kastrologos wrote:
and when this marvellous game is gonna have its place at the BGG's game list?

Raider 16: Atlantis
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cary layton
United States
cape girardeau
Missouri
flag msg tools
laugh Thanks for posting!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prev «  1 , 2 , 3  | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.