$10.00
Andrew Rintoul
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I lock down (everyone puts in a command counter) a multiplanet system with the primary ability of Diplomacy.

Can someone use the secondary to annex an empty planet in the system?

We ruled yes, after not finding anything specific in the rules or FAQ (may have missed something) but it didn't seem very thematic. Ie you are spending alot of diplomatic effort to protect the system then someone takes it out from under your nose.

Any advice on this would be appreciated.

A
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, someone could do that, since the secondary doesn't require an activation, just an empty planet. I'd say it's even thematic — think of it as a faction doing an end-run around a negotiated demilitarized zone by influencing the inhabitants into switching allegiances on their own.

Also, since the executing player for Diplomacy II primary doesn't have to put their own CC in the system affected, there's nothing to stop you from activating the system yourself to take back the planet that was just annexed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott M.
United States
Winter Springs
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Owch, sneaky. Im gonna have to look at this situation closely in my games.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rintoul
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sarcasmorator wrote:
Also, since the executing player for Diplomacy II primary doesn't have to put their own CC in the system affected, there's nothing to stop you from activating the system yourself to take back the planet that was just annexed.


Just the 6 enemy pds units in range of the system

Thanks for the answer.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Diplomacy II Using the secondary to take a planet in the system where the primary was used
Remember, though, that to annex a planet with the Diplomacy II secondary, you must have complete control of an adjacent system by controlling all planets and having a non-Fighter ship there.

Otherwise, this is indeed legal. Leaving empty planets in border systems can be dangerous.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.