$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

RoboRally» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can powered down Robots shoot laser? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cliff Allister McLane
msg tools
?! :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
True Blue Jon
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Johnson
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
But they can still be shot *at* by other robots or lasers on the board. (Unless they have the Power Down Shield option.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
tempus42 wrote:
But they can still be shot *at* by other robots or lasers on the board. (Unless they have the Power Down Shield option.)


They still get shot at if they have power down shields. They just absorb one point of damage per side per phase. If someone shot them with a Big Gun or Double Barrel Laser or the like, or if they powered down in a board-mounted double- or triple-laser, it would still hurt. It would just hurt less.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cliff Allister McLane
msg tools
Thank you all! :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Miceli
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
But, can powered down robots sitting on a wrench be healed at the end of each register phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ax Bits
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
jasonmiceli wrote:
But, can powered down robots sitting on a wrench be healed at the end of each register phase?


Robots never repair at the end of each register phase. But my gut says that wrenches are board elements and board elements affect powered down robots, so it could repair at the end of the turn like any other bot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lori
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, but neither can active robots. Healing happens only at end of turn, not end of phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Miceli
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Interesting - the rulebook seems to indicate otherwise. I know the robot cards list the order out and show that you would only touch repair points after the end of the whole round, but if you look in the rulebook I think it indicates otherwise. Are we certain the cards are correct?

Me
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You touch repair points, for the purpose of updating your archive copy location, at the end of every register phase.

But actually healing at a repair point is something you can only do at the end of a turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jasonmiceli wrote:
Interesting - the rulebook seems to indicate otherwise. I know the robot cards list the order out and show that you would only touch repair points after the end of the whole round, but if you look in the rulebook I think it indicates otherwise. Are we certain the cards are correct?


Not sure what version you are using but the WotC version that is in print says in the rules that every phase, robots on repair spaces update archive location but only after register 5 do they repair:

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Miceli
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess it was the heading of section E that threw me off. If touching a repair site at that point does nothing then why add those words to the title of the section.

I'm with you all - just got a different indication from the title of the section.

Thx!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Miceli
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
OOOOHHHHHHH... that's what I guess I've been missing! I never realized you could update your archive market at a repair site! That's what threw me off. Very cool to know - I have now seen the light!!



me
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Me, sin? Pf! Nah! Chill
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
mbmbmbmbmb
It isn't clear from the dumbed-down, poorly-written Hasborg rule book, but in the original edition, powered-down robots cannot be repaired nor can they receive options.

I would recommend playing that way for any edition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik Halvarsson
Sweden
flag msg tools
On topic. Can any one point out in the rule book that robots does or do not fire laser when power down?
Yes it is logic that it doesn't shoot because no power but the laser can be an different unit. Big argue on this yesterday and we could not find any in the rulebook that said id did not fire laser.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Miceli
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think it says it in the rulebook, so in that case common sense prevails.

Lasers = manifestation of power; power down = no power for the lasers to manifest. That's my logic anyway.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Norwood
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I go the opposite. The rules don't say "Power Down means completely Powered Down all systems". What it does say is "The robot doesn’t receive or execute Program cards and doesn’t move while powered down..."

It also say under Robot Lasers: "Any robot in another robot’s line of sight is automatically damaged by that robot’s main laser and receives 1 Damage token." - again, nothing about Power Down states.

To me it makes sense you can still defend/attack with your personal, forward laser when you are Powered Down because Powered Down explicitly says you do not receive Program Cards nor can you move. Afterall, the purpose of Power Down is to remove Damage Tokens, so you are effecting repairs. There must be *some* juice running through the Robot to do that, so it follows that your targeting/combat system would still be active and 'live'.

I'm sure there is a FAQ somewhere that says differently, however.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
True Blue Jon
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
RoboRally » Forums » Rules
Re: Can powered down Robots shoot laser?
The original rules say:

Quote:
A powered-down robot is completely shut down--it can't fire weapons, tag checkpoints, or update its archive location, nor can it acquire or use option cards. Powered-down robots don't move under their own power (they receive no program cards), but they may be moved by pushers, gears, and conveyor belts. They may also be pushed by other robots and shot at by lasers.


You can read them here:
http://globetrotter-games.com/index.htm?E&game/rules/eRobRal...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Norwood
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, a version thing then. That explains it for me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.