$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek Deck Building Game: The Next Generation – The Next Phase» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mercenary Starship rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
angel paredes
Peru
flag msg tools
Star Trek Deck Building Game: The Next Generation – The Next Phase » Forums » Rules
Mercenary Starship
This card says : It gets +6 shields.

What is the difference between this and the card having 7 defense?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Damage absorbed by shields is not put on the ship; so it can take an infinite number of 6 point attacks.

update: Incorrect, as pointed out below.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krista Donnelly
United States
Beltsville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was just re-reading the shield rule yesterday. It says that "Shields prevent the first X damage a starship receives during the turn." Since it says "turn" and not "attack", I think it can only absorb 6 points in one turn, so if it gets attacked twice in a war with two 6 points attacks, the second one will get through.

The difference between this and 7 defense is that as long as it survives the battle, it comes out unscathed and is ready to absorb another 6 points in the next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I stand corrected, you have the right principle though -- it's a way of absorbing damage so you don't have to repair it later.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.