Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

BattleCON: War of Indines» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hikaru Sorayama rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Francis Bergeron
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Never played the game yet... (just waiting now for my gf to come sit and play, i try to convince her...)

As i read my Hikaru style cards a question about the Sweeping style arise.

It's written:
"If you are hit this turn, you take an additional 2 pts of damage."

From my understanding, when it's written "You", the rule goes toward the player who hold that character card, Hikaru here... (and when written "opponents" it goes against adversary.)

So, playing this sweeping style can be a great disadvantage, so we will try to get high priority and maybe using the base high priority or elemental token with this card... is "Sweeping" a "cursed" card and why(???)

Also, it's surely considered an "on hit" effect even if it's not written "On hit:" on the card, am i right?

Or,i am wrong and it is wanted as a 2 points damage that goes on the opponent teeth??

Thanks for clarifying.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bigney
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if you as Hikaru play Sweeping style and get hit you take an additional 2 points of damage. And no, it's not an "On hit:" effect because you get the additional damage regardless of whether your (sweeping) attack hit the target or not.
And no, it's not a "cursed" card--+3 priority and -1 damage is awesome, even with the risk of additional damage. Stuns are brutal, so high priority is very important.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francis Bergeron
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice, thanks Mark.

Well, i just comrared the sweeping stats with others style cards for Hikaru and the + 3 priority is the strong balance of this card, so using this you try and want to hit... and preferably stun your opponent!

Oh! and you're right for the "on hit", my bad.

Everything is all right!

Thanks for your fast response



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jayson Stevens
Canada
Surrey
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BattleCON: War of Indines » Forums » Rules
Re: Hikaru Sorayama
It's a risk-reward card, like Hepzibah's Dark Pacts.

The reward is high priority, so you'll (hopefully) go first. The idea is that you go first and STUN the opponent, so they can't hit back.

However, if you screw it up somehow, you leave yourself open to taking extra damage, which is the risk.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francis Bergeron
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
palmerkun wrote:
It's a risk-reward card,


Yes, and thinking of it, thats surely what make it interesting and thrilling...

(i think i posted this thread too fast when reading this card since all make sense...)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
mbmbmbmbmb
Every point of priority is exponentially better than the point before it, because it is harder and harder to beat, even if your opponent uses all of their tricks. Sweeping Grasp (Wind) will beat even a Dash, and anything that can punish a dash is serious business that you can't ignore.

Combine Sweeping with fire for the speed and power to break through most stun guards (Sweeping Strike [Fire] is 6 speed (beats a grasp) and 6 power (breaks the stun guard on a strike) and really only loses to a burst or some other Start of Beat retreat)

Of course, with great opportunity comes great risk...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.