Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

War of the Ring (first edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can someone help me with a few details on the rules? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Peoples
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Okay, I have been slowly learning the rules over the past week or so and have set up the game solitaire style a few times and I think I have the rules down for the most part. However, there are a few rules that I need clarification on:

1) I read somewhere that when in certain parts of the board, elite players count as leaders towards the leader re-roll. However, I didn't find that in the rule book (I might not have been looking close enough). Am I correct about this, and if so, which regions does this apply to, and are there any areas that this applies to with the Free Peoples?

2) When a stronghold is under seige, can the defending player add players to the seige box through re-inforcements, or does the 5 army max stay in the seige box until the end of it?

3) Can you cross areas seperated by a river?

4) Is the +1 on the hunt rolls cumulative? For instance, if the FPP moves for the 3rd time in a turn, does the Shadow player then get a +2 to all die rolls?

5) In an attack, can the defending unit retreat before the first attack, or does he have to wait for at least 1 round of attacks before he can?

6) In an attack, does the defending player defend with his full army, before casualties are removed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nachtrab
United States
St. Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kpeoples wrote:
1) I read somewhere that when in certain parts of the board, elite players count as leaders towards the leader re-roll. However, I didn't find that in the rule book (I might not have been looking close enough). Am I correct about this, and if so, which regions does this apply to, and are there any areas that this applies to with the Free Peoples?


Not sure what you mean by "elite players". Do you mean elite units, or Minions/Companions?

Quote:
2) When a stronghold is under seige, can the defending player add players to the seige box through re-inforcements, or does the 5 army max stay in the seige box until the end of it?


Strongholds under siege cannot be reinforced. The besieging army CAN be attacked by a third army from an adjacent territory in an attempt to lift the siege.

Quote:
3) Can you cross areas seperated by a river?


I believe so. The only impassable borders are marked by a thick black line on the map.

Quote:
4) Is the +1 on the hunt rolls cumulative? For instance, if the FPP moves for the 3rd time in a turn, does the Shadow player then get a +2 to all die rolls?


Yes.

Quote:
5) In an attack, can the defending unit retreat before the first attack, or does he have to wait for at least 1 round of attacks before he can?


No, one round of combat occurs EXCEPT if the defending army retreats into a stronghold. Then battle ends immediately without any combat rolls.

Quote:
6) In an attack, does the defending player defend with his full army, before casualties are removed?


Yes, combat rolls are "simultaneous" and all units are counted toward combat strength. Casualties are removed after both sides have rolled.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Peoples
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sorry, I meant to say elite units, not elite players. I had read somewhere on a message board that there is a certain section on the board that elite units for the Shadow players count as leaders in terms of determining the leadership re-roll count. However, I can't find it in the instructions. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything.

Thanks for the help with everything else, can't wait to finally sit down and play this weekend!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Winter
United Kingdom
Hawarden
Deeside
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Saruman has an ability that counts Isenguard elites as Leaders
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Peoples
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Gotcha......thank you SO MUCH for all the help, I really appreciate it, guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu
badge
- This is My Hour!
mbmbmbmbmb
boudreaux00 wrote:
kpeoples wrote:
2) When a stronghold is under seige, can the defending player add players to the seige box through re-inforcements, or does the 5 army max stay in the seige box until the end of it?


Strongholds under siege cannot be reinforced. The besieging army CAN be attacked by a third army from an adjacent territory in an attempt to lift the siege.


Musters coming as a result of an Event card can be mustered inside a besieged Stronghold.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay P

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
kpeoples wrote:

1) I read somewhere that when in certain parts of the board, elite players count as leaders towards the leader re-roll. However, I didn't find that in the rule book (I might not have been looking close enough). Am I correct about this, and if so, which regions does this apply to, and are there any areas that this applies to with the Free Peoples?


There are no "regions" that allow elites to become leaders. Saruman has a special ability "Servants of the White Hand" (it's written on the Saruman card) that makes all Isengard elites (the wolves) act as leaders as well as elites.

Of course, since the Isengard units start in Isengard and often attack Rohan, you will see this ability used mostly in those regions. But it has nothing to do with the region, and everything to do with Saruman. The ability applies everywhere as long as Saruman is in play.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wiet van Bragt
Netherlands
Tilburg
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
boudreaux00 wrote:

Quote:
5) In an attack, can the defending unit retreat before the first attack, or does he have to wait for at least 1 round of attacks before he can?


No, one round of combat occurs EXCEPT if the defending army retreats into a stronghold. Then battle ends immediately without any combat rolls.

Correct. In fact, in a field battle, retreating before the first round of combat is only possible by playing a Combat Card, Scouts, which does make this possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nachtrab
United States
St. Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Veldrin wrote:
Musters coming as a result of an Event card can be mustered inside a besieged Stronghold.


True, thanks. Unless otherwise stated, event cards always break the rules. They think they're so cool.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cathcart
United States
West Conshohocken
US
flag msg tools
kpeoples wrote:
Sorry, I meant to say elite units, not elite players. I had read somewhere on a message board that there is a certain section on the board that elite units for the Shadow players count as leaders in terms of determining the leadership re-roll count. However, I can't find it in the instructions. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything.

Thanks for the help with everything else, can't wait to finally sit down and play this weekend!

In addition to Saruman's ability mentioned above, all elites belonging to S&E or Isengard count as leaders if Saruman is in play during a multiplayer (3 or more players) game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe M
msg tools
mbmbmb
I think a key part of his question is: Can someone use a card to exceed the besieged army stacking limit?

5 units under siege, can one more be added? How is that resolved?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cathcart
United States
West Conshohocken
US
flag msg tools
You can add reinforcements to a besieged stronghold using an event card but you may not exceed the five unit limit. For normal regions the rule is that you remove the excess units at the end of the action that added them (2nd ed. rulebook, page 26), so if the same rule applies for Strongholds I suppose you would add the new units from the card and then immediately remove units until you are back to five. This could be useful if you had five regular units in the stronghold and the card allowed you to add in elites.

Of course, leaders do not count towards the limit, so any leaders added by the card would stay.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu
badge
- This is My Hour!
mbmbmbmbmb
War of the Ring (first edition) » Forums » Rules
Re: Can someone help me with a few details on the rules?
Correct, you add the units mustered from the Event card and then as the stacking limit has been exceeded you have to remove units. This can still be useful if you are able to muster Elites in the besieged Stronghold and remove Regulars.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.