Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
25 Posts

Lock 'n Load: Band of Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Basic Infantry Combat Example rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Is the example on page 29 (V3.1 Rules) correct?
Col. Medrow is activating an adjacent (shaken) squad after he is Ops Complete from his spotting attempt.

Do Ops Complete Leaders still have this ability to activate adjacent units?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From rules, 4.1: "A unit under an Ops Complete marker can fire, at FULL Firepower, at a hex it has spotted during the SAME impulse. By the same token, Leaders under an Ops Complete marker can add their Leadership to this fire’s 1d6 roll, but only if directed against a hex that the Leader spotted during the current impulse. In other words, a unit can immediately fire upon any hex it has successfully spotted".

From rule I think the Leader cannot activate adjacent hexes after a successful spotting check. He just can collaborate with his LM to an attack to the hex just spotted, but nothing more. This other interpretation (example interpretation) would be a significant change in the rules:

"A unit under an Ops Complete marker can fire (after being activated his hex), at FULL Firepower, at a hex it has spotted during the SAME impulse. By the same token, Leaders under an Ops Complete (by a successful spotting check) marker can add their Leadership (after being activated his hex, and so the Leader activates his adjacent hexes) to this fire’s 1d6 roll, but only if directed against a hex that the Leader spotted during the current impulse. In other words, a unit can immediately fire upon any hex it has successfully spotted".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It seems a little concerning that the example on page 29 would have remained (uncorrected) for so many years since the system began?

The question is ... does an Ops Complete marker change the status from Good Order to something less?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically an Ops Complete unit is useless (well, if the unit is a MMC they can still Op Fire). I think that's why this rule of "firing the hex just spotted with the Ops Complete unit" was created. This way, the Ops Complete units are not so useless.

Fortunately, an Ops Complete marker is removed on the Admin Phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Then I guess someone should fix that old example of play .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SJBenoist wrote:
Being Ops Complete, however, the Activated Leader could only take Op. Fire, or sit and do nothing ... so some other unit in his hex would have to do something for the Activation to take place.

I think that only MMC can Op Fire being Ops Complete, not SMC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I was referring to Medrow activating the adjacent shaken squad after he became Ops Complete from spotting. If it is not legal, it shouldn't be in the example.

See my first question at top
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stéphane Tanguay
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SJ Benoist

I don't think the example is correct. The first para under 4.0 goes to say that...Except for the instances described below, units beneath Ops Complete markers cannot spot, fire (including sniping), move, or use their Leadership ability...To my understanding, activating an adjacent hex IS a use of a leadership ability.

The only "Instance described below" related to a leader is when said leader successfully spotted an hex and fire at it and/or direct fire from other units stacked with him/her, adding its Leadership modifier.

Of course, if you don't consider activating an adjacent hex as a use of leadership ability (even though it is reduced by one when said leader is wounded), the example of play is right.

BTW, a leader marked OPS complete can never Opportunity fire (OF), as the only time it can fire while it is OPS complete is following a successfull spotting attempt, which can only happens in a friendly impulse and thus, does not involve moving ennemy units allowing OF.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SJBenoist wrote:
MMC's are allowed to Op Fire under a Ops Complete marker per 4.1 (at -2, of course). I'll ask Mark if he intended to omit SMC's (Heroes and/or Leaders with SW's), or if that was just a language issue.

This is an old question: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7430251#7430251
Finally I decided that only MMC can Op Fire.

I think like Steve and Stéphane. For me, the esence of the rule is: the hex of a unit that pass a Spotting Check can be activated, in this case the only thing the spotter can do is to fire against the hex just spotted (if the spotter is a Leader the only thing he can do is to add his LM to an attack to the hex just spotted, nor move, nor fire to other hex, nor activate adjacent hexes...).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
No, I agree with SJ and Mark on this one
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Olivares Pérez
Spain
Vigo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SJBenoist wrote:
OK, from Mark (via email):
SMC's (Heroes & Leaders with a SW) under an Ops Complete marker can Op. Fire at -2 (same as MMC's).

I think you mean "/2" instead "-2".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Everyone is right ...

Half Strength for small arms (DFT) and -2 for Ordnance fire (OFT)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stéphane Tanguay
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SJBenoist wrote:
OK, from Mark (via email):

SMC's (Heroes & Leaders with a SW) under an Ops Complete marker can Op. Fire at -2 (same as MMC's).

Leaders that Spot & Fire in the same Impulse can activate adjacent hexes, as in the book example.


If Mark says so :-). Can a leader under an OPS Complete marker applies it's LM when it OF ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stéphane Tanguay
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lock 'n Load: Band of Heroes » Forums » Rules
Re: Basic Infantry Combat Example
Ops Complete fire was 1/2 right from the start, in FH1. I's the Assault Move Fire that was change from 1/2 to -2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I am looking at my copy of V3 rules (4.1) which says ...

"MMCs under an Ops Complete Marker may opportunity fire, but subtract two (2) from the total firepower of the attacking stack"

V3.1 (4.1) says ...

"MMCs under an Ops Complete marker would opportunity fire, but do so with one-half firepower ..."

...and Ordnance at +2 to-hit..."

I like this update better
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stéphane Tanguay
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is really weird. All my physical copies (FH1, FH2, BoH1, BoH2, HotB and HotG) have the 1/2 ruling. I guess the rules on the website were a beta version and this one never made it in the physical copies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.