$10.00
Eelco Eggen
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mb
I couldn't find any answers to the following question:

If Great Cave-troll is engaged with another player, and that player attacks it, can I still participate with a ranged character?

Do I count attack strength on the ranged character up to the Great Cave-troll's defense? Or do I ignore attack strength all together?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allan Clements
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
Turns out Esseb did touch the flag. Don't tell him I said so though.
mbmbmbmbmb
It has not come up for me, but I simply assumed that other players could not join in an attack against a troll engage with another player.

I don't know what the correct interpretation is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You may participate in the attack with your ranged character but you do not add up this characters attack strength.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Corbin
United States
Tallahassee
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose the abilities of Legolas and Brand (or any other card) can still take effect, but they would be contributing 0 to the attack itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daryl Tose
United Kingdom
Winchester
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The term "Immune to ranged damage" is defined in the rules that come with Khazad Dum.

".... characters participating in an attack via the ranged keyword are not able to deal damage to that enemy. (If a ranged character participates in an attack against Great Cave-troll through another means than the ranged keyword, then it is able to damage it and will count its (attack strength icon).)"

So if the cave troll is engaging the player with Legolas then Legolas can participate in the attack without use of the ranged keyword so he will damage it as normal. If the troll is engaged with another player, then the player with Legolas can still join in the attack but will contribute 0 damage, however if the troll is defeated, he can activate the response to place 2 progress.
6 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eelco Eggen
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mb
I don't understand the Khazad-dûm rules, as characters never deal combat damage individually. Damage is determined by substracting the enemy's defense from the combined attack strength of the attacking characters. If one is attacking through the ranged keyword while another isn't, what amount of damage does the ranged character deal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game – Khazad-dûm » Forums » Rules
Re: Great Cave-troll - Immune to ranged damage
"Immune to ranged damage" is just another way of saying don't add the Attack Strength of any character that requires the Ranged keyword to be part of this attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.