Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Whitewater» Forums » Rules

Subject: Energy Tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Taraba
United States
Lake in the Hills
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm trying to figure out the point of the energy tokens between the basic game and the advanced game. The rules for picking up a lost paddle in the basic game are this:
Quote:
When you lose a paddle...your Actions[sic] cards "lock." Rotate each card sideways, with the card facedown. If a card is locked, it stays locked (rotated and facedown) until you or your partner spends an Action or Energy point to recover it. When you recover a card, it remains facedown until the beginning of your next turn.


The advanced rules say this:
Quote:
Place a Paddle token on the board in the same hex as the raft. Also, lock an Action card as in the Base game. To recover your paddle, you must spend 1 Action or Energy card to place an Energy token on the locked card, and your raft must be either on or adjacent to your paddle. If you have done this, remove the Paddle token from the board and unlock you Action card.
Special case: If you have lost a paddle, have an Energy token on your locked card but have not yet recovered your paddle, and you roll a lost paddle again, lost the Energy token from your locked card.


I didn't find anything in the game that said you got a certain amount of energy token to start with so it doesn't look like you're spending any, only marking the cards you've spent energy on. The only thing I can think of is that you would be able to spend energy even if you're away from the paddle token and then would just pick it up when you get close. Anyone know for sure?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Yeager
United States
Ypsilanti
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I can try...

Basically, in the Advanced game, something is locked until you COMPLETE paying the Energy to recover. Energy tokens allow you to track your progress towards recovery.

In the Basic game, when you lose a man, both of your cards lock. Should you have an energy remaining, you could unlock one of your cards, using it normally on your next turn. Easy, and no Energy token required.

In the Advanced game, ALL locked cards must be recovered before you get ANY of them back. You could recover one of your cards, placing a token on one. This card, however, remains locked until the second one is recovered (either by you or your partner).

The Energy tokens in the advanced game are simply to mark the partial recovery of cards, until such a time as all cards are recovered.

I hope that helps!

Alex Yeager
Mayfair Games

EDIT: I note that you asked about an oar overboard, which only locks one card. You are correct; the only time you would need to place an Energy for a locked card due to an oar is if you are not on or adjacent to your oar to recover it...
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Taraba
United States
Lake in the Hills
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great. Thanks!
So in the case I pay the energy before I'm near it, I would just pick it up (unlock the card) as soon as I get near the oar or rafter,right? No further action required? Could that happen on someone else's turn? For example, my raft is bumped toward the paddle on an opponents turn. Do I get it immediately or my next turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Yeager
United States
Ypsilanti
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Whitewater » Forums » Rules
Re: Energy Tokens
Correct. Completing the oar/man pickup (removing the token from the board) is free once the Energy has been spent. You can unlock on another player's turn (a good idea, actually, since you would then turn those cards faceup at the beginning of your next turn).

Alex Yeager
Mayfair Games
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.