$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: Exodus Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Drawing Multiple Trauma Tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrey Carvalho
Brazil
flag msg tools
Question: If, for some reason, you have to draw multiple trauma tokens (for example, because of the Opera House benevolent effect, which states that you have to draw 3 trauma tokens and choose another player to draw 3 trauma tokens), do you draw and look at them one at a time, or all at the same time?

It makes a difference, because:

1) Assuming you draw 1 by 1: if you draw the first trauma, look at it and see that it's a disaster, you are executed, discard all traumas, choose a new character, draw 3 more and then resume the Crossroads card effect, drawing the two remaining traumas (total at the end: 5 trauma tokens).

2) If you draw all at the same time: if one of them is a disaster, you are executed right there, discarding every trauma token you have (including the other two you just drew), choose a new character and draw 3 trauma tokens (total at the end: 3 trauma tokens).

So, which way is the right way to deal with trauma token drawing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre
Germany
41472 Neuss
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Afaik 2) is correct. And when the new character is drawn you can ignore disaster token and draw another token instead (so youll always have 3 trauma with a new human char)

For revealed cylons & leaders: set disaster token aside and draw 2 additional trauma. (Return after that the disaster tokens to the pool)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mooseared Ferenczy
United States
Athens
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmb
I've always played with option 2, but I will scour the rules to find some sort of support.
Edit: Exodus rules are vague about this. My gut still goes with the draw all at once, just because that feels more in the spirit of the rules. You decide all of the variable skill draws before drawing cards, you decide the two actions at the basestar bridge before resolving them. I know those aren't quite the same thing, but is as close as you're going to get.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Battlestar Galactica: Exodus Expansion » Forums » Rules
Re: Drawing Multiple Trauma Tokens
BTW, shouldn't this be on the Exodus forum?

AndreyCout wrote:
Question: If, for some reason, you have to draw multiple trauma tokens (for example, because of the Opera House benevolent effect, which states that you have to draw 3 trauma tokens and choose another player to draw 3 trauma tokens), do you draw and look at them one at a time, or all at the same time?

It makes a difference, because:

1) Assuming you draw 1 by 1: if you draw the first trauma, look at it and see that it's a disaster, you are executed, discard all traumas, choose a new character, draw 3 more and then resume the Crossroads card effect, drawing the two remaining traumas (total at the end: 5 trauma tokens).

2) If you draw all at the same time: if one of them is a disaster, you are executed right there, discarding every trauma token you have (including the other two you just drew), choose a new character and draw 3 trauma tokens (total at the end: 3 trauma tokens).

So, which way is the right way to deal with trauma token drawing?


#2

Even if you were to draw trauam tokens 1-by-1, when you see the 1st one is a disaster, you're dead. If you're human, you come back as a new character, but the trauma was meant for the previous character. I can't think of any rules nor thematic reason one character's trauam affects the next character's trauma.

If you turn out to be a cylon, I would say you draw the 2nd and 3rd truama tokens anwyays. If you get a 2nd disaster, I'm gonna say they're part of the same batch as the 3, so follow #2 anyways.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile de Maat
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
admin
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved Thread
Moved this thread from the Battlestar Galactica Rules forum to the Exodus Expansion Rules forum.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.