$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Thunderstone Advance: Towers of Ruin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Magic and Physical Attack question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J.A.H. van de Laak
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi all,

Quick question, when I have a physical fighter and a magical attack + card... can they work together, or can a physical fighter only be boosted by physical attack cards? And a magic user only by magical boosts?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Alameda
California
flag msg tools
designer
QueesteGeest wrote:
Quick question, when I have a physical fighter and a magical attack + card... can they work together, or can a physical fighter only be boosted by physical attack cards? And a magic user only by magical boosts?


If a +Magic Attack action can target a hero, it can target the hero regardless of whether that hero already has Magic Attack or not. For instance, the Glamercast Troubadour could lend Magic Attack +1 to the Criochan Sergeant, even though the Criochan Sergeant normally only has Physical Attack.

The only card I can think of off the top of my head where this doesn't really apply is the Selurin Warlock/Theurge, whose bonus is a multiplier, so it will only benefit those who already have Magic Attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.A.H. van de Laak
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks. So, theme wise, one could imagine that a magical "+ X attack" card will magically enhance the weapon/fighter for that particular attack only.

(I mostly use the same principles/gameplay as Skirim for reference, lol)

Or a magical hero, will grab a physical weapon and use that on top of his magic to attack, like dual wielding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Larsson
United States
Des Moines
Washington
flag msg tools
Thunderstone Advance: Towers of Ruin » Forums » Rules
Re: Magic and Physical Attack question...
Keywords and classes and what not have no effect on the rules by themselves. If a warrior equipts a magic weapon, they deal extra magic damage, and if a wizard has enough strength, than can equipt a big axe.

Keywords only matter when cards refer to specific keywords.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.