Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dominion: Intrigue» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Shanty Town - confusing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter D
United Kingdom
london
UK
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am very confused with the Shanty Town. I have read various threads from people who share my confusion and the replies are completely contradictory.
My question is: if I play the Shanty Town and have no action cards in my hand I get to draw two cards; if I then draw an action card can I then play it, using the Shanty Town + 2 Actions?

Some people are replying that you can't use these actions after you have drawn cards as you have to follow the instructions of the card in order; whilst others have stated that you always 'bank' your actions and so you can play Shanty Town actions after the draw if you hadn't used them before.

Anyone know the definitive answer?
Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cyrus the Great
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Dominion: Intrigue » Forums » Rules
Re: The Shanty Town - confusing
duckworp wrote:
I am very confused with the Shanty Town. I have read various threads from people who share my confusion and the replies are completely contradictory.
My question is: if I play the Shanty Town and have no action cards in my hand I get to draw two cards; if I then draw an action card can I then play it, using the Shanty Town + 2 Actions?

Some people are replying that you can't use these actions after you have drawn cards as you have to follow the instructions of the card in order; whilst others have stated that you always 'bank' your actions and so you can play Shanty Town actions after the draw if you hadn't used them before.

Anyone know the definitive answer?
Thanks.

Of course you can play them later. Actions can absolutely be banked, you do not need to play actions immediately.
11 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
Some people are wrong. You do not lose the actions if you draw cards. If you did it would make the card rather pointless.
7 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are confused about what "+2 actions" means. It does NOT mean "play 2 actions immediately". It means "add 2 to the number of actions which you are allowed to play this turn".

So, resolving Shanty Town goes like this:

1: +2 actions: add 2 to the number of actions you may play (later) this turn.
2: Reveal your hand.
3: If no Action cards in hand, draw 2 cards.

Then (because you are allowed to play at least 2 more actions), you may play any action cards that you draw.
17 
 Thumb up
1.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter D
United Kingdom
london
UK
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all your speedy replies and all saying the same thing. Most helpful.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo S.
Chile
Valdivia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dcclark wrote:
1: +2 actions: add 2 to the number of actions you may play (later) this turn.
I try to explain it as adding +2(+n) immediatly to your available actions pool (or actions bag). But for newbies it is really hard to get it from my explanation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennison Milenkaya
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I always found it really easy to explain to new players what +x Actions means the first time so as to avoid later confusion.

"Playing an Action card is always optional but earning the ability to do so isn't. Same with +1 Buys. Always finish one card before moving on to the next." And talk 'em through it on their first game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I talk about it like this:


"each turn you do A, B, C, D. A for action, B for buy, C for cleanup, D for draw. You get 1 action and 1 buy a turn. However some actions let you play more actions."


Also I think I tend to think of the actions like branches of a tree or even plug n' play sockets. Some actions provide another socket to plug into if I want, and some don't. And some others provide multiple sockets to plug into like a powerstrip.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.