Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Sessions

Subject: First game, first loss rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicola Bocchetta
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Saturday I played my first game of TS.
Actually, I've played twice solo, just to get the rules straight.

I was the USA, while mt friend was the USSR.

I thought I had an edge against him knowing the game better, though of course I explained him all the details of the rules, the fact that the deck get re-shuffled at turn 3 and around turn 7 and so on.

I don't know if I have been rather unlucky or just had a bad plan.

in the first turn I had both Europe and Asia scoring cards. So both ended almost equal (the only difference was due to BG countries controlled).

In the second round I had Middle East scoring, Olympic games, and the rest of the cards were just USSR events.
So I played Olympic games as headline, decided to keep Nasser as the held card, and tried to stave off bad events. Even then Middle East scoring was a tie.

In the meanwhile my friend strenghtened his Russian clench over Europe, while I had to play Warsaw Pact.

In turn 4 he controlled all the BG countries of Europe, and of course I had again Europe Scoring in my hand, and no cards worth over 2.

He played "CIA Created" "Five from Cambridge", saw my scoring card, and put a lot of influence on Euorpe; I had lost west Germany due to Blockade (I hadn't got any card worth 3, and Epuration had been played that turn as headline anyway).

So the game ended at turn 4 with USSR dominating Europe.

I've never seen this game end so early!

Let's hope in the next game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If he played CIA Created as the USSR player, it's his hand that would have to be revealed, not yours, so you may have slipped up on that one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Cirone
United States
Alliance
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
in the first turn I had both Europe and Asia scoring cards. So both ended almost equal (the only difference was due to BG countries controlled).


Sounds like you did this right; in the Early War as the US, I usually try to burn scoring cards for break-even rather than try to win a region for myself, since the USSR is favored in the Early War.

Quote:
In the second round I had Middle East scoring, Olympic games, and the rest of the cards were just USSR events.
So I played Olympic games as headline, decided to keep Nasser as the held card, and tried to stave off bad events. Even then Middle East scoring was a tie.


With such a tough hand, you should have just burned Middle East Scoring as your headline (assuming that you were tied for Presence at the time). Olympic Games is not worth much as an event, and with mostly USSR events it would have been nice to get the 2 Ops.

Quote:
He played "CIA created", saw my scoring card, and putn a lot of influence on Euorpe; I had lost west Germany due to Blockade (I hadn't got any card worth 3, and Epuration had been played that turn as headline anyway).


I think you played this wrong. As the US, you should have been able to look at the USSR hand AND get a free 1 Ops.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Twilight Struggle » Forums » Sessions
Re: First game, first loss
As the US I'm happy for break even or modest loss on scoring cards early in the game. I even play to that usually by getting them out as soon as possible when they are in my hand so there is plenty of time to repair the early USSR advantage. If I get good scores my opponent has usually made a mistake.

Also if an opponents event is triggered it is dealt with as if the person who's event it is played the card. The benefit or detriment is not switched by who actually played the card except they can decide if they use the Ops before or after the event occurs.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicola Bocchetta
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, It was not "CIA created", but "Five from Cambridge".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.