James Derbyshire
United Kingdom
Billericay
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Having owned this game since it was first released, I have just got round to playing through a few turns to make sure I understand it. I've set it up a few times and always been a bit daunted - I must admit I find it hard to deal with all the card text etc.

Anyway, a couple of very basic questions if I may:

1. I saw a thread where the number of attacks possible by a single hero is queried. Unfortunately the original question has been deleted but the responses are unanimous that a hero can attack more than once. I want to be sure that the original question in that thread was "can a single hero attack more than one enemy". Well, is that the case? I've read the rules on p.20 numerous times and it's still not 100% clear to me.

Quote:
A player [not hero] has the opportunity to declare 1 attack against each enemy with which he is engaged

Quote:
Once an attack has resolved, the characters are no longer attackers, but they do remain exhausted

Quote:
After a player's first attack is resolved, he can declare another attack against any eligible enemy
i.e. attack a not-yet-attacked enemy with a non-exhausted hero?

2. After attacks have resolved, you continue on with the next steps of the game. Rules state that Shadow cards stay with their respective enemy if they have not yet been defeated. So when you come to the next combat round, does the previously revealed Shadow effect for that enemy reoccur?

3. I think I may have just answered this question by noticing a table at the back of the rule book whilst reading about combat, but... the original question was going to be when are you able to play all the other cards - there is mention of Planning being the only stage when you can play Ally and/or Attachments, but no mention of any of the other cards. Seems this is sort of explained in the table with the red/green colouring?

Thanks and sorry if these are stupid questions!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke of Lizards
United States
College Station
Texas
flag msg tools
I am a breathing time machine
badge
We're all in this together, and we love to take a bath!
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes, each player may attack each enemy he is engaged with only once per round. It gets more confusing with Ranged attacks, but in general, the rule of thumb is one attack per enemy.

2. Shadow cards are discarded at the end of the combat phase.

3. Yes. The green spaces can be interrupted by events. See also the files section here for some more detailed round summaries.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As an addition to Duke of Lizard's answer:

1) Each enemy can only be attacked once, ie have one attack declared against it, but a hero/ally can attack more than once if it is able to, eg through the effect of a card that can ready the hero/ally after making an attack.

2) You will be drawing a new Shadow Effect card each combat round while the enemy is engaged.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Derbyshire
United Kingdom
Billericay
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers guys.

sapper_D wrote:
1) Each enemy can only be attacked once, ie have one attack declared against it, but a hero/ally can attack more than once if it is able to, eg through the effect of a card that can ready the hero/ally after making an attack.


So a Hero can only attack once normally?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Norbert666 wrote:
So a Hero can only attack once normally?


Correct.

Normally you will designate a hero when making an attack and then the hero is 'exhausted,' ie turned on its side indicating that it can make no further attacks this turn. But if you have an attachment (or some other card) such as "Unexpected Courage" that allows you to ready a Hero then the Hero can make another attack against a different enemy this turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Derbyshire
United Kingdom
Billericay
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok that's really helpful. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so can you attack with say took and argaon, then aragon readies can he attack same target again?
does it stack with 1st attack or is it a separate lone attack?
if he can not attack same target can he attack another one in a group combined attack
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
mbmbmbmbmb
Milarky wrote:
so can you attack with say took and argaon, then aragon readies can he attack same target again?
does it stack with 1st attack or is it a separate lone attack?
if he can not attack same target can he attack another one in a group combined attack


Read it carefully. You can only attack a given enemy once per round. But if you ready a character again after it has attacked one enemy, it can attack a different enemy (but not one another of your characters has attacked).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Milarky wrote:
so can you attack with say took and argaon, then aragon readies can he attack same target again?
does it stack with 1st attack or is it a separate lone attack?
if he can not attack same target can he attack another one in a group combined attack

If Aragorn readies after participating in an attack against an enemy, he can't re-attack the same enemy because that would constitute a 2nd attack against that enemy (as pointed out by the previous post).

Also, he doesn't ready until his first attack has been fully resolved, and therefore he can't 'stack' his attacks against a single enemy. For his second attack, he could attack a different enemy, either alone or as part of a 'group' attack. I would just read through page 20 of the rulebook carefully, and I think it will become clear. Good luck!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dougtempel wrote:

Also, he doesn't ready until his first attack has been fully resolved, and therefore he can't 'stack' his attacks against a single enemy.


This isn't quite accurate. Aragorn (with UC, I presume), could ready after he is declared as an attacker, since that is an action window. However, the time for declaring attackers has passed, and *that* is why he couldn't "redeclare" himself.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allan Clements
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
Turns out Esseb did touch the flag. Don't tell him I said so though.
mbmbmbmbmb
Declaring yourself as an attacker twice against the same enemy has no effect anyway.

Much the same as when you declare someone to be questing, ready him, and declare him to be questing again.

He will only add his willpower once during questing because you don't add up as you assign to the quest, you just total all those that are assigned.

This is the same for attacking an enemy. Assigning a character over and over against the same enemy would only add the attack of the character once when you calculate all the attack values of the assigned characters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's sort of what I was clarifying - it's not merely pointless - it's impossible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game » Forums » Rules
Re: Combat basics - number of attacks, Shadow effects and playing events
Kamakaze wrote:
Declaring yourself as an attacker twice against the same enemy has no effect anyway.

Much the same as when you declare someone to be questing, ready him, and declare him to be questing again.

He will only add his willpower once during questing because you don't add up as you assign to the quest, you just total all those that are assigned.

This is the same for attacking an enemy. Assigning a character over and over against the same enemy would only add the attack of the character once when you calculate all the attack values of the assigned characters.

Technically, I think Andy Mills' response is correct. You can't assign a character to quest or attack a specific enemy more than once because there's a specific step during phase resolution that you can assign characters to do this. You can ready them again during the action window after that step of phase resolution, but the step is over and the opportunity to commit characters is over. So it's not that you can assign them repeatedly with their effect only counting once, it's that you can only assign them once.

This is nitpicky, though, and doesn't affect the end result. I'm fairly new to this game, so figuring this stuff out helps me to learn the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.