Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Snow Tails» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bonus movement and crashing into another sled rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darren Thompson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know you either have to, use all of, or none of your bonus movement. But if another sled would prevent you from using all of your bonus, can you still crash into the back of it and not use your full bonus?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Binning
United States
Rollinsville
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.


Hmmm. It's been awhile since I have played, but I would have expected the opposite answer. I'll be interested to see if anyone chimes in with other interpretations.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Binning
United States
Rollinsville
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
chally wrote:
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.


Hmmm. It's been awhile since I have played, but I would have expected the opposite answer. I'll be interested to see if anyone chimes in with other interpretations.


I'm curious why you'd expect something different. I can't find any exceptions at all to the bonus movement rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conan Meriadoc
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, you have to use up all of your normal movement, but you can still voluntarily use another sled to stop beforehand. I don't see how it would be different for bonus movement.

While I can understand your interpretation based on the rules as written, I'm definitely leaning on the "allowed" side here.

In other words, you *are* using your full bonus of +3 movement, but due to external factors this bonus doesn't convert into as many spaces, same as when you crash against a wall/corner and your turn ends prematurely.
18 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.


Disagree. The "all or nothing" is so that you cannot cheat by speed restrictions. You can't say "I am in third and entitled to 3 bonus spaces but I only want to take 1 extra so my speed stays at 4" (for example).

However, a sled in your way, just like the edge of the course in your way, stops you. So you either add in all the bonus or none of it to come up with your "speed" - but translating that into "movement" you may lose some because of obstacles.
16 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Snow Tails » Forums » Rules
Re: Bonus movement and crashing into another sled
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
I'm curious why you'd expect something different. I can't find any exceptions at all to the bonus movement rule.

I have the Asmodee version but only have access to the Fragor rulebook at the moment. So the below are quoted from that and may vary based on your version.

From the rule summary on p. 20:

Quote:
- The speed is the dogs’ value added together minus the brake value.
...
- If the sled is balanced (both dogs have the same value) the player may take bonus movement.
...
- Bonus is added to the sled’s speed, and counts towards corner safety limits.


As you can see, the above adds to "speed." In addition, dent cards and safety limits on corners are based on "Speed" not movement:

Quote:
- Take a dent card for each point of speed over the safety limit
- Continue with sled’s movement and rest of turn


The above makes a point of distinction between speed and movement.

When you crash - whether into the side or another sled - your "movement" is what ends:

Quote:
-Sled’s movement and player’s turn ends immediately


All of this is mentioned in more detail within the rules but the summary had it nice and concise. In addition, the rules baout crashing on page 5 add this point:

Quote:
A player is not obliged to avoid a crash and may do so for tactical reasons.


Finally, this point about the difference between speed and movement also on Page 5:

Quote:
- The player completes the rest of their movement.
- They then draw 1 dent card for each point of speed they were over the safety speed (e.g. travelling at speed 5 over a speed limit of 3 means you draw 2 dent cards).
- Remember, bonus movement for balanced sleds counts towards the
sled’s speed.
- The safety speed only applies as a sled crosses the line. The corner has no further speed restrictions. Slow in - fast out!
- If the sled has also had a collision later in the turn then this is now resolved. If not, the player moves to step 3 of their turn (return hand size to 5 cards).


Speed is speed and doesn't change. But movement can be affected by crashing. Taking damage for speed is resolved first, then resolve crashes.
14 
 Thumb up
0.31
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.