$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Action Card: Courageous to the End rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hem Hemux
Japan
Kawasaki
Kanagawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone, quick question that arose on yesterday's game:

Action Card Courageous to the End: I have a system with no ships, no ground force, but a PDS on the only planet present there. On an adjacent system, ennemy ships and planets full of PDS and ground forces. I have Deep Space Cannon, so I activate this ennemy system, and fire at it with my PDS: I destroy one ship there. The player can't return fire, I suppose, but played this Courageous to the End card, and destroyed my PDS (kamikaze long-range-flying-fighter, sort of). We ruled it "wild" but were sure we were wrong. What do you think?

(while typing this question, I suddenly realized maybe there was a mistake in the first place, letting a PDS on its own on my planet... or am I overthinking?)

And will now go posting another question on the original game! ^^
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hemu wrote:
Hi everyone, quick question that arose on yesterday's game:

Action Card Courageous to the End: I have a system with no ships, no ground force, but a PDS on the only planet present there. Adjacent systems, ennemy ships and planets full of PDS and ground forces. I have Deep Space Cannon, so I activate this ennemy system, and fire at it with my PDS: I destroy one ship there. The player can't return fire, I suppose, but played this Courageous to the End card, and destroyed my PDS (kamikaze long-range-flying-fighter, sort of). We ruled it "wild" but were sure we were wrong. What do you think?

(while typing this question, I suddenly realized maybe there was a mistake in the first place, letting a PDS on its own on my planet... or am I overthinking?)

And will now go posting another question on the original game! ^^


You were right, PDS are not valid targets for ship fire. The only (non-AC) way to destroy PDS is if the owner loses control of the planet.

That answers your second question too: As long as you still control the planet, you can leave your PDS there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hem Hemux
Japan
Kawasaki
Kanagawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Simon!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
In addition, Courageous to the End can only be played during a Space Battle. It cannot be used if the ship is destroyed by PDS fire, Space Mines, non-combat AC/PCs (such as Lucky Shot), and anything else that isn't during combat.

PDSs can go alone on planets, but the AC Local Unrest exists, so you should always have 2 GFs accompany PDS/Space Docks outside your Home System.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
TomBoombs wrote:
In addition, Courageous to the End can only be played during a Space Battle. It cannot be used if the ship is destroyed by PDS fire, Space Mines, non-combat AC/PCs (such as Lucky Shot), and anything else that isn't during combat.

To be fair, the card doesn't say that - it says you can play it any time your ship is destroyed. But unless it's during combat, there won't be anything it can shoot back against.

Quote:
PDSs can go alone on planets, but the AC Local Unrest exists, so you should always have 2 GFs accompany PDS/Space Docks outside your Home System.

Or a single MU will protect your planet as well
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hem Hemux
Japan
Kawasaki
Kanagawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, Scott is right, Brian, the card doesn't mention any Space Battle, if I remember well, does it? It is true we kind of looked for such a sentence on the card when we re-read it in the first place, because it would have then answered our question. So why do you say it is only Space Battle, was there any FAQ point regarding that? That would help! (I must admit the updated FAQ is soooo big I never read it fully...).

TomBoombs wrote:
PDSs can go alone on planets, but the AC Local Unrest exists, so you should always have 2 GFs accompany PDS/Space Docks outside your Home System.

Now that is something more than true and I will remember that advice for my next game: I felt the harshness of such an event by too much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TomBoombs wrote:
PDSs can go alone on planets, but the AC Local Unrest exists, so you should always have 2 GFs accompany PDS/Space Docks outside your Home System.


"Always" is a strong word. With the thinness of the AC deck after two expansions, taking a chance to expand faster in the early game can be a reasonable gamble.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sturk
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
TomBoombs wrote:

PDSs can go alone on planets, but the AC Local Unrest exists, so you should always have 2 GFs accompany PDS/Space Docks outside your Home System.


Unless of course you are Winnu or have a Sabotage Card (or Xxcha with the racial tech "Instinct Training."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Action Card: Courageous to the End
I was going off memory. My mistake.

While Local Unrest isn't guaranteed to come out, I would much rather save a Sabotage for something that can't be anticipated (like a Signal Jamming) as opposed to Local Unrest for not having 2 GFs, or In the Silence of Space because I didn't leave a fighter in my HS. 2 GFs is really cheap when not using Distant Suns. I would rather build the SDs 1 at a time without a risk of Local Unrest than build them both and lose 1 of them.

Replacing "2 GF" with "1 MU or 2 GF or 1 GF if Winnu" is accurate though.

I suppose if you've already seen 4 of them played/in hand, then it's a reasonable gamble as well. I know in my game group, people only play Local Unrest when somebody has made the mistake of making an expensive planet, or if it's the last round as a skip/stop that guy from spending 20 X's.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.