Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: public objectives question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eldon Lima Da Silva
Brazil
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
i bought the expansion yesterday and one thing got my attention, i see a public objetctive that states i pay 4 trade goods,3 resource and 3 influence. well said i just wondering if we maked all wrong,in the other older cards like i now spend 10 resource we always normaly pay resource(from planets) and use trade goods to complete the ammount too.
so its true like in above example? when objective states i spend 10 influence its only unexausted influence of planet cards?(no trade goods)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
You can ALWAYS spend Trade Goods for Resources or Influence, even in objectives.

With the 4 Trade Good, 3 Resource, 3 Influence objective, you COULD simply spend 10 Trade Goods, just like with a 10 Resource or 10 Influence one. However, unlike with the 10 Resource or 10 Influence one, you MUST spend at least 4 Trade Goods.

They are similar to each other, but a little bit different. But anytime you would spend a resource or influence, you CAN spend a TG instead if you want.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurens Verrelst
Belgium
Lier
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mb
Another question concerning Public Objectives:

Shattered Empires has a Stage II objective that reads:

"I have at least four ships in two different opponent's home systems"

If you meet that requirement, you win the game.
But what does it mean? That you need four ships in each one home system (so a total of eight), or that you need four ships in two home systems (so a total of four)?

I'd say total of eight ships (it makes you win the game, after all).

Any comments?

Thx,
Laurens
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
It requires at least four (non-fighter) ships in each of 2 opponent's HSs, so a minimum of 8, but you'll probably have to bring in 8 into each to win the battle, and still have 4 left after a counter-attack.

For the "Spend 4 TGs, 3 resources, 3 influence" objective, you pay each of those costs individually. So you cannot spend 4 TGs, a 2r1i planet, and a 1r2i planet to score this. You'd need either 2 TGs (one more spent on each) or another planet with either 3 resources, or 3 influence, or another 2 planets that can add up to 3, or at least 1 resource and at least 1 influence.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurens Verrelst
Belgium
Lier
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mb
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: public objectives question
Thank you Brian, this clarifies a lot.

Too bad we couldn't find this ruling sooner. It kind of downgraded our last game to ruleslawyering, which is kind of an anticlimax.

It was between me and a friend: I had Arborec at 6 VP, he had Mentak at 2 VP but a massive army. Last round, he conquered his two neighbours, while I scored 4 VP (Preliminary + more combined influence than both my neighbours). But we ruled victory to Mentak, because of the sheer awesomeness of conquering two neighbours in one round ;-)

Greets,
Laurens
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.