$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Warfare 2 question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dmitry Volevodz
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Let's imagine I have a high alert token is system A, with one ship there (that moves for 2) and some ships in system B, that also move for 2.

1.I would like to move to system 3 tiles away from both A and B. I easily do it from system A because token gives +1 movement. I pick up token with me, so destination system has it. Do ships in my tile B get +1 movement? I thought they do because they are moving into system with high alert token. But my partners said that they don't.

2. Imagine token was on destination system all the time. Do all my ships moving there get +1 movement? Or none?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
1. Only the ships leaving the system containing the HAT (System A) gain +1 movement. Maximum movement is calculated from the system you are leaving from.

2. None. When they arrive, they do get +1 on all combat rolls (most likely defensively). If you can manage to play an Unexpected Action to remove the CC, that entire fleet has +1 movement.

EDIT: The High Alert Token works like the old Flank Speed where one fleet gets +1 movement. The new Flank Speed gives all fleets going to the destination +1 movement. I hope that clears things up.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
massimiliano barucca
Italy
flag msg tools
hello,

i've these doubts

1) i attack system A. i put there my CC and move there my fleets. 2 ships from one of my generic system, 2 ships from my system with the red alert token. the red token follow these 2 ships.

now, in system A, all my 4 ships have the +1 on combat roll? or only the 2 ships with the red token?

2) the +1 combat roll is applied only to the ships or also to the ground forces?

3) i move 2 ships from a system with the alert token. the token follow these 2 ships. the other ships remained in the system still have the +1 movement and the +1 combat roll?

thanks!
massimiliano
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Nicewander
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I will attempt to answer without my rulebook in front of me, but I am quite sure these are correct:

1. All ships have the +1 to combat roll

2. +1 to combat roll is space combat only (iirc)

3. No combat or movement bonus for the units "left behind."

Hope that helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RoC Commander
msg tools
As I was reading this I thought about this question:

Setup: Standart 6 Player map. In a Homesystem is a Mov 2 Ship. (Destroyer or Cruser), adjecient and towards Mecatol to that is Mov 1 Ship (Carrier w/o XRD, or Dread w/o Type IV). Can both "fleets" get to mecatol if I put the high alert token into the Home System?

The question boils down to, can you "pick up" ships on the mov to give them the bonus? (Here it would be the mov 1 ship)

Same thing can happen with mov 3 and mov 1 or 2 ships. (Like Type IV Cruiser or Muuat War Sun).

I think the answer is yes, you can. But I'm not 100% sure and don't have a rulebook at hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire » Forums » Rules
Re: Warfare 2 question
RoCCommander wrote:
As I was reading this I thought about this question:

Setup: Standart 6 Player map. In a Homesystem is a Mov 2 Ship. (Destroyer or Cruser), adjecient and towards Mecatol to that is Mov 1 Ship (Carrier w/o XRD, or Dread w/o Type IV). Can both "fleets" get to mecatol if I put the high alert token into the Home System?

The question boils down to, can you "pick up" ships on the mov to give them the bonus? (Here it would be the mov 1 ship)

Same thing can happen with mov 3 and mov 1 or 2 ships. (Like Type IV Cruiser or Muuat War Sun).

I think the answer is yes, you can. But I'm not 100% sure and don't have a rulebook at hand.

No. When the token moves with the ships, it doesn't boost other ships that it passes through. This is based on what the FAQ says on page 9:

FAQ 2.5 wrote:
Q: With the Warfare II High alert token, do ships which start in the system of the token, but do not move with the token, get the +1 movement bonus?
A: Yes. At the start of an activation, all ships in a system with the high alert token gain +1 movement for that activation. This bonus is regardless of whether or not you decide to move the token with the ships.


Thus, while the question was more addressing "does the token have to move with you", the part I put in bold above indicates that the High Alert token only affects ships who begin their activation there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.